Project profile — Health System Development Support

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Health System Development Support - Overview
CA-3-A032705001
$13,738,709
2006-09-01 - 2013-05-31
Closed
Country / region • Haiti (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (67.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (33.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project provided advice and technical assistance to improve the governance of Haiti's health sector. It focuses on: (i) strengthening the regulatory role of the Ministry of Public Health and Population (MSPP); (ii) developing a shared vision of the health sector among stakeholders; and (iii) strengthening the effectiveness of Canada's aid to Haiti's health sector.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2012 include: The project supported the development of a new Health Policy, improved the collection of health information, enabled the mapping of all health institutions in the ten provinces of the country, and improved the collection of health information. The maps provide basic data on the type of institution and the type of health services offered. With these tools, the Ministry of Health is better able to plan, set priorities, take into account the health needs of the population, and respond to crises such as the cholera outbreak. The project supported five central directorates of the Ministry of Public Health and three provincial health directorates (North-East, South-East and Nippes). It strengthened the Ministry’s overall leadership in all health sector coordination mechanisms, enabling the Ministry to better take on its role as regulator of the health system. The project also supported the implementation of the National Plan for the Fight against Gender-Based Violence. An international conference on this issue was organized successfully by the Haitian government and its civil society partners, with 250 national and international participants. Coordination for the fight against gender-based violence was also strengthened at the local level. For example, 30 religious leaders and 90 community outreach workers were trained, and public awareness campaigns were conducted in the Nippes region. This helped to promote equal access to rights and to health for women and men. These results have contributed to strengthening the Ministry of Health’s leadership role in steering the health system.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Health System Development Support - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Other technical assistance
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui au développement du système de santé

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Appui au développement du système de santé - Aperçu
CA-3-A032705001
13 738 709 $
2006-09-01 - 2013-05-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Haïti (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (67,00%)
• Santé de base
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (33,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet a fourni un appui technique dans le but d'améliorer la gouvernance dans le secteur de la santé en Haïti. Le projet est axé sur : i) le renforcement du rôle régulateur du ministère de la Santé publique et de la Population; ii) le développement d'une vision partagée du secteur de la santé entre les différents intervenants; et iii) l'amélioration de l'efficacité de l'aide fournie par le Canada dans le secteur de la santé en Haïti.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2012 : le projet a appuyé l’élaboration d’une nouvelle politique de la santé, des outils de collecte d’information, et a développé une carte regroupent regroupant toutes les institutions de santé dans les 10 départements du pays. Les cartes identifient toutes les institutions offrant des services de santé en Haïti et fournissent des données essentielles sur le type d’institution et la gamme de services qui y sont offerts. Avec ces outils, le ministère de la Santé peut mieux planifier, prioriser et prendre en considération les besoins réels de la population dans sa gestion du système de santé, ainsi que répondre aux crises telles que le choléra. Le projet a appuyé cinq directions centrales du ministère de la Santé publique et trois directions départementales (Nord-Est, Sud-Est et Nippes). Il a renforcé le leadership global du ministère dans tous les secteurs de la santé à en ce qui trait à la coordination, permettant au ministère de mieux assumer son rôle en tant que régulateur du système de santé. Un plan national de lutte contre la violence faite aux femmes a été mis en œuvre avec l’appui du projet. Un colloque international sur cette thématique a été organisé avec succès par le gouvernement haïtien et ses partenaires de la société civile, avec 250 participants nationaux et internationaux. La coordination au niveau local sur la lutte contre la violence faite aux femmes a aussi été renforcée, par exemple avec des campagnes de sensibilisation et la formation de 30 leaders religieux et 90 animateurs de terrain dans les Nippes. Ceci a contribué à promouvoir un accès équitable des femmes et des hommes à leurs droits et à la santé. Ces résultats ont contribué à renforcer le leadership du ministère de la Santé en matière de pilotage du système de santé.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Appui au développement du système de santé - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Autres formes d’assistance technique
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: