Project profile — Support to Prosaude to Achieve Millennium Development Goals 4 and 5

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Support to Prosaude to Achieve Millennium Development Goals 4 and 5 - Overview
CA-3-A033033007
$125,000,000
Government of Mozambique - Ministry of Health
2011-02-28 - 2015-12-31
Closed
Country / region • Mozambique (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (40.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health infrastructure (12230) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Malaria control (12262) (10.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (20.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This contribution to Mozambique's health sector common fund (known in Portuguese as Prosaude) helps the Government of Mozambique achieve the goals and objectives of its Health Sector Strategic Plan and Integrated Plan to Achieve the Millennium Development Goals 4 & 5 (Reduction of child mortality and Improvement of maternal health). CIDA is contributing to the improvement of delivery and management of the National Health Service in order to provide integrated local health services to mothers and children where they live. Through this project, CIDA works in close collaboration with other donors and the Government of Mozambique on building effective, transparent, and accountable country systems; increasing coordination and harmonization among donors; and reinforcing mutual accountability. Sector support projects such as this one also help foster greater policy dialogue between CIDA, government, and partners, which helps to reinforce efforts for effective, focused aid and long-term development results. Continuous monitoring and evaluation of this project is undertaken in coordination with other donors. The project aims to achieve nation-wide progress in the health sector as well as improvements in the Government’s ability to manage and administer its health sector, thereby ensuring that the Government of Mozambique can maintain the progress achieved through this project. Expected results from Prosaude include: 17% increase in the number of women delivering in health institutions, 36% increase in the number of children less than one year old with full immunization, 11% increase in the number of women receiving at least two doses of preventive malaria treatment during prenatal visits, and antiretroviral medication distributed to 38,057 children and 94,151 pregnant women. Project activities also include: construction and/or upgrade of 40 health centres, installation of 450 water points at health centres, construction, expansion or rehabilitation of 250 maternity rooms at health centres, 98% of health units using integrated management of childhood diseases, and training for an additional 1700 health workers. This project is part of Canada's Maternal, Newborn and Child Health commitment.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of January 2013 include: (i) the number of HIV positive adults receiving antiretroviral therapy increased from 156,688 (106,892 women) in 2009 to 297,801 (190,686 women) by the end of 2012; (ii) the number of children on antiretroviral therapy rose from 13,510 in 2009 to 25,597 in 2012; (iii) the number of new graduates in health-specific careers increased from 1,525 in 2009 to 2,389 in 2012; (iv) the number of maternal and child health workers went from 61 per 100,000 inhabitants in 2009 to 68.2 per 100,000 by the end of 2012; (v) the percentage of health facilities with a maternity waiting home for pregnant women increased from 40.8% in 2009 to 50% in 2012; (vi) the percentage of women giving birth in a health facility increased from 55% in 2009 to 63.8% in 2012; (vii) the use of child health services increased, with nearly 80% of children under the age of one being completely vaccinated in 2012; and (viii) chronic malnutrition was reduced by 5%. These results have contributed to increasing the number of women, youth and children who use of maternal health services.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Support to Prosaude to Achieve Millennium Development Goals 4 and 5 - Related information
Related activities
Canada's Assistance to Education in Mozambique IV (FASE)
Food Production Action Plan Support
General Budget Support to the Government of Mozambique (GBS)
PROSAUDE II
Technical Assistance
Understanding Causes of High Rates of Absenteeism and Drop-Outs in Primary Schools
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Sector budget support
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Soutien à Prosaude afin d'atteindre les 4e et 5e Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Soutien à Prosaude afin d'atteindre les 4e et 5e Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement - Aperçu
CA-3-A033033007
125 000 000 $
Gouvernement du Mozambique - Ministère de la Santé
2011-02-28 - 2015-12-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Mozambique (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (40,00%)
• Santé de base
Infrastructure pour la santé de base (12230) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Lutte contre le paludisme (12262) (10,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (20,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Cette contribution au fonds commun pour le secteur de la santé au Mozambique (connu sous le nom portugais Prosaúde) aide le gouvernement du Mozambique à atteindre les buts et les objectifs énoncés dans son plan stratégique pour le secteur de la santé et son plan intégré pour réaliser les quatrième et cinquième Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (réduction de la mortalité infantile et l'amélioration de la santé maternelle). L'ACDI contribue à l'amélioration de la prestation et de la gestion du service national de santé de manière à fournir des services de santé intégrés localement aux femmes et aux enfants dans leur milieu. Dans le cadre de ce projet, l’ACDI collabore étroitement avec d’autres donateurs et le gouvernement du Mozambique afin d'établir des systèmes efficaces, transparents et responsables dans le pays, d'intensifier la coordination et l’harmonisation entre les donateurs et de renforcer la responsabilisation mutuelle. Le soutien sectoriel accordé à des projets comme celui-ci aide à favoriser un meilleur dialogue sur les politiques entre l’ACDI, le gouvernement et les partenaires, ce qui permet de consolider les efforts en vue de fournir une aide ciblée et efficace, de même qu’à obtenir des résultats de développement à long terme. Le suivi et l’évaluation continus de ce projet sont effectués en collaboration avec d’autres donateurs. Le projet vise à réaliser des progrès à l’échelle du pays non seulement dans le secteur de la santé, mais aussi dans la capacité du gouvernement du Mozambique de gérer et d’administrer le secteur de la santé, dans le but qu'il puisse maintenir les progrès réalisés grâce au projet. Les résultats escomptés du Pro Saúde comprennent : une augmentation de 17 % du nombre de femmes qui accouchent dans des établissements de santé, une augmentation de 36 % du nombre d’enfants de moins d'un an qui ont reçu une immunisation complète; une augmentation de 11 % du nombre de femmes qui ont reçu au moins deux doses de traitement préventif du paludisme pendant les visites prénatales; et la distribution de médicaments antirétroviraux à 38 057 enfants et 94 151 femmes enceintes. Les activités du projet comprennent également : la construction ou la rénovation de 40 centres de soins, l'installation de 450 points d'eau dans les centres de soins, la construction, l'agrandissement ou la remise en état de 250 salles de maternité dans les centres de soins, l'utilisation de la gestion intégrée des maladies en bas âge par 98 % des unités de soins, et la formation de 1 700 travailleurs de la santé additionnels. Ce projet fait partie de l'engagement du Canada à l'égard de la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en janvier 2013 : i) le nombre d’adultes séropositifs recevant un traitement antirétroviral est passé de 156 688 (106 892 femmes) en 2009 à 297 801 (190 686 femmes) à la fin de 2012; ii) le nombre d’enfants recevant un traitement antirétroviral est passé de 13 510 en 2009 à 25 597 en 2012; iii) le nombre de nouveaux diplômés dans certaines professions de la santé est passé de 1 525 en 2009 à 2 389 en 2012; iv) le nombre de travailleurs en santé des mères et des nouveau-nés est passé de 61 pour 100 000 habitants en 2009 à 68,2 par 100 000 habitants à la fin de 2012; v) le pourcentage d’établissements de santé dotés pour les futures mamans est passé de 40,8 % en 2009 à 50 % en 2012; vi) le pourcentage de femmes qui accouchent dans un établissement de santé est passé de 55 % en 2009 à 63,8 % en 2012; vii) l’utilisation des services de santé destinés aux enfants a augmenté (en effet, près de 80 % des enfants de moins d’un an ont reçu tous les vaccins en 2012); viii) la malnutrition chronique a diminué de 5 %. Ces résultats ont permis d’accroître le nombre de femmes, de jeunes et d’enfants qui ont recours aux services de santé maternelle.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Soutien à Prosaude afin d'atteindre les 4e et 5e Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement - Information reliée
Activités reliées
Appui au Plan d'action pour la production alimentaire
Appui budgétaire général au gouvernement du Mozambique (ABG)
Appui du Canada à l'éducation au Mozambique IV (FASE)
Assistance technique
Comprendre les causes des taux élevés d'absentéisme et d'abandon scolaire dans les écoles primaires
PROSAUDE II
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Soutien budgétaire sectoriel
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: