Project profile — Health Workforce Initiative

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Health Workforce Initiative - Overview
CA-3-A034782005
$1,024,551
Government of Tanzania - Ministry of Finance
2010-02-23 - 2016-12-01
Closed
Country / region • Tanzania (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (20.00%)
• Health, General
Medical education/training (12181) (75.00%)
• Health, General
Medical research (12182) (5.00%)
Policy marker • Children's issues (principal objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (significant objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project with the Tanzanian Ministry of Health and Social Welfare aims to scale up implementation of the strategic objectives of Tanzania’s Human Resources for Health Strategic Plan. Funds are being targeted at eligible private sector training institutions in the scale-up of mid-level health workers and trainers; and eligible research institutions to undertake priority Human Resources for Health (HRH) operations research informing evidence-based planning and decision-making in HRH. This initiative is a direct response to the HRH crisis in Tanzania and is contributing to the Africa Health Systems Initiative.

Results achieved

Results achieved at the end of project include: (1) an improved working environment through refurbishment of offices, provision of vehicles, equipment and stationery has contributed to the enhanced capacity of the Department of Human Resources for Health Development (DHRH) and the Health Workforce Initiative Coordinating Team (HWI-CT); (2) the development of strategic documents including a Human Resources for Health (HRH) Policy Guideline, Staffing Guidelines, Strategic Plan and Production Plan alongside implementation of a Human Resources for Health Information System and Training Institutions Information System have increased the administrative capacity of the Ministry to guide the production, recruitment, deployment, distribution, utilization and management of HRH; and (3) a National HRH Conference and HRH Stakeholders’ meeting contributed to improved public/private partnerships, sharing of information and consensus-building on national HRH commitments towards the development of a global agenda and strategies for improving the human resources for health to achieve universal health coverage. All of these results contributed to improved research and information in the planning and management of HRH, and increased partnership and collaboration among public and private sectors in the training of health workers.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Health Workforce Initiative - Related information
Related activities
Public Financial Management Reform Program
Strengthening Tanzania's Health System
Strengthening Tanzania's Health System for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health
Support to Tanzania's National Multi-Sectoral Strategic Framework on HIV and AIDS
Tanzania Statistical Master Plan
Technical Assistance Envelope - 1
Technical Assistance Envelope - 2
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Basket funds/pooled funding
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Initiative sur la main-d'oeuvre dans le secteur de la santé

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Initiative sur la main-d'oeuvre dans le secteur de la santé - Aperçu
CA-3-A034782005
1 024 551 $
Gouvernement de la Tanzanie - Ministère des Finances
2010-02-23 - 2016-12-01
Fermé
Pays / région • Tanzanie (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (20,00%)
• Santé, général
Éducation et formation médicales (12181) (75,00%)
• Santé, général
Recherche médicale (12182) (5,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (objectif significatif)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet, en collaboration avec le ministère de la Santé de la Tanzanie, vise à accélérer la mise en œuvre des objectifs stratégiques du plan stratégique du gouvernement de la Tanzanie en matière de ressources humaines en santé. Le financement cible les institutions éligibles du secteur privé qui peuvent offrir de la formation visant l’augmentation du nombre des travailleurs et formateurs en santé, ainsi que les institutions de recherche éligibles à entreprendre de la recherche opérationnelle sur les questions prioritaires en ressources humaines en santé pour informer la planification basée sur les faits et la prise de décision en ressources humaines en santé. Cette initiative répond directement à la pénurie des ressources humaines en santé en Tanzanie et contribue à l’engagement du Canada à l’Initiative sur les systèmes de soins de santé en Afrique.

Résultats atteints

Les résultats obtenus à la fin du projet comprennent: (1) un environnement de travail amélioré grâce à la rénovation des bureaux et l’approvisionnement de véhicules, d’équipement et de fourniture de bureau a contribué à l’accroissement des capacités du ministère des ressources humaines pour le développement sanitaire (DRHS) et de l’équipe de coordination de l’initiative pour le personnel de santé (HWI-CT); (2) l’élaboration de documents stratégiques, y compris une ligne directrice pour les ressources humaines en santé (RHS), des lignes directrices de dotation en personnel, un plan stratégique et de production, ainsi que la mise en œuvre d'un système d’information pour les RHS et un système d'information des établissements de formation ont augmenté la capacité administrative du ministère à guider la production, le recrutement, le déploiement, la distribution, l'utilisation et la gestion des RHS; et (3) une Conférence nationale des RHS et une réunion des parties prenantes ont contribué à l'amélioration de partenariats publics/privés, le partage d’information et la concertation sur les engagements nationaux des RHS en vue de l'élaboration d'un ordre du jour et des stratégies mondiales pour améliorer les RHS et atteindre une couverture de santé universelle. Tous ces résultats ont contribué à l'amélioration de la recherche et de l'information dans la planification et la gestion des RHS, ainsi que l'augmentation de partenariats et de collaboration entre les secteurs public et privé dans la formation de professionnels de la santé.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Initiative sur la main-d'oeuvre dans le secteur de la santé - Information reliée
Activités reliées
Appui au Cadre national stratégique multisectoriel de la Tanzanie pour le VIH/SIDA
Enveloppe d'assistance technique - 1
Enveloppe d'assistance technique - 2
Plan directeur statistique de la Tanzanie
Programme de réforme de la gestion des finances publiques
Renforcement du système de santé de la Tanzanie
Renforcement du système de santé de la Tanzanie en santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Fonds communs/financements groupés
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: