Project profile — Joint Government of Bangladesh-UN Maternal and Neonatal Health Project

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Joint Government of Bangladesh-UN Maternal and Neonatal Health Project - Overview
CA-3-A035190001
$19,750,000
UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund (XM-DAC-41119)
2011-01-14 - 2018-01-10
Closed
Country / region • Bangladesh (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (30.00%)
• Health, General
Medical services (12191) (29.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (4.00%)
• Basic Health
Health education (12261) (2.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Family planning (13030) (5.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (30.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project seeks to increase the quality and quantity of health services for mothers and newborns by supporting the Joint Government of Bangladesh-UN Maternal and Neonatal Health Initiative. The project targets current challenges such as inconsistent quality of services and the fact that mothers, for a variety of reasons, hesitate to use such services even when they do exist. The project takes place at the local level in districts and communities and focuses on poor and marginalized populations. It includes activities such as: (1) providing training and information for mothers about harmful health practices and the need to use and demand better services; (2) providing technical assistance and support to improve local level planning by the government; (3) supporting coordination between non-governmental organizations and the government to develop better services; and (4) providing training to improve the skills of doctors, nurses and other community-based health personnel. Canada’s contribution expands the original initiative to include seven new districts. This project is part of Canada's Maternal, Newborn and Child Health commitment.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of April 2014 include: (1) maternal deaths dropped from 306 in 2011 to 153 in 2013 in four districts (as per a preliminary analysis of the Maternal and Perinatal Death Review, which is examining deaths in the two months before expected birth and up to one month after delivery); (2) the Maternal and Perinatal Death Review was scaled up to cover three new districts, which means that seven districts can use this review to collect and analyze information on the cause, place and time of maternal deaths, still births and newborn deaths in order to inform future policies and programming; (3) the number of women delivering in institutional facilities rose from 24% in 2012 to 29% in 2013 in four districts; (4) 3,809 community health volunteers received five days of training and another 10,523 received refresher training on prenatal, post-natal and essential newborn care and counselling; (5) 20 health service user forums to discuss health service delivery were put in place with 15 to 20 health service users each (at least 40% of whom are women); (6) waiting times to receive maternal and newborn health services were reduced, and 47.5% of clients now receive care within 15 minutes of arriving at a health facility; and (7) the numbers of prenatal visits increased from 204,547 visits of pregnant women in 2012 to 239,497 visits in 2013. This is contributing to improving women and children’s access to quality health care services, including prenatal care. Source: UNFPA Project Annual Report for calendar year 2013.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Joint Government of Bangladesh-UN Maternal and Neonatal Health Project - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Asia
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Projet conjoint du gouvernement du Bangladesh et l'ONU au sujet de santé maternelle et néonatale

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Projet conjoint du gouvernement du Bangladesh et l'ONU au sujet de santé maternelle et néonatale - Aperçu
CA-3-A035190001
19 750 000 $
UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population (XM-DAC-41119)
2011-01-14 - 2018-01-10
Fermé
Pays / région • Bangladesh (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (30,00%)
• Santé, général
Services médicaux (12191) (29,00%)
• Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (4,00%)
• Santé de base
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (2,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Planification familiale (13030) (5,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (30,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à accroître la qualité et la quantité des services de santé offerts aux mères et aux nouveau-nés en appuyant l’initiative conjointe du gouvernement du Bangladesh et de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) en matière de santé des mères et des nouveau-nés. Il s’attaque aux problèmes actuels, comme la qualité inégale des services et l’hésitation des mères, pour diverses raisons, à se prévaloir de ces services même lorsqu’ils existent. Le projet se déroule à l’échelle locale dans les districts et les communautés, et met l’accent sur les populations pauvres et marginalisées. Il comprend des activités comme : 1) l’organisation de séances de formation et d’information pour les mères quant aux pratiques sanitaires néfastes et à la nécessité d’utiliser et d’exiger de meilleurs services; 2) la prestation d’une assistance et d’un soutien techniques pour améliorer la planification à l’échelle locale par le gouvernement; 3) le soutien à la coordination entre les organisations non gouvernementales et le gouvernement pour mettre au point de meilleurs services; 4) l’organisation de formations pour renforcer les compétences des médecins, des infirmières et d'autres travailleurs de la santé en milieu communautaire. La contribution du Canada élargit la portée de l’initiative première et vise désormais sept nouveaux districts. Ce projet fait partie de l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de la santé des mères, des nouveau nés et des enfants.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en avril 2014 : 1) le nombre de décès chez les mères est passé de 306 en 2011 à 153 en 2013 dans quatre districts (c’est ce qui ressort d’une analyse préliminaire de l’examen des décès en matière de soins maternels et périnatals, lequel porte sur les décès survenus deux mois avant la date prévue d’accouchement et jusqu’à un mois après l’accouchement); 2) l’examen des décès en matière de soins maternels et périnatals a été étendu à trois nouveaux districts, ce qui signifie que sept districts peuvent l’utiliser pour recueillir et analyser des données sur la cause, le lieu et l’heure des décès chez les mères et les nouveau-nés et des mortinaissances afin d’orienter les politiques et programmes futurs; 3) le nombre de femmes ayant accouché dans un établissement est passé de 24 % en 2012 à 29 % en 2013 dans quatre districts; 4) 3 809 bénévoles en santé communautaire ont reçu cinq jours de formation et 10 523 autres ont reçu une formation d’appoint sur les soins prénatals, les soins postnatals et les soins essentiels du nouveau-né et les conseils en la matière; 5) 20 forums comptant chacun de 15 à 20 utilisateurs des services de santé (au moins 40 % de femmes) ont été mis sur pied pour discuter de la prestation des services de santé; 6) les temps d’attente avant de recevoir des services de santé pour les mères et les nouveau-nés ont diminué, et 47,5 % des clients reçoivent maintenant des soins dans les 15 minutes suivant leur arrivée dans un établissement de santé; 7) le nombre de visites prénatales chez les femmes enceintes est passé de 204 547 en 2012 à 239 497 en 2013. Ces résultats contribuent à accroître l’accès des femmes et des enfants à des soins de santé de qualité, y compris des soins prénatals. Source : Rapport annuel de projet du FNUAP pour l’année civile 2013.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Projet conjoint du gouvernement du Bangladesh et l'ONU au sujet de santé maternelle et néonatale - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: