Project profile — Immunization Strengthening Project - CIII

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Immunization Strengthening Project - CIII - Overview
CA-3-A035191001
$11,850,000
UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund (XM-DAC-41122)
2011-01-14 - 2015-06-30
Terminating
Country / region • Bangladesh (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Medical services (12191) (0.00%)
• Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to reduce the deaths of children under the age of five in Bangladesh. Its purpose is to improve the provision of vaccines and to reach children who live in underserved areas. The project is expected to increase the percentage of children who receive all vaccines with the right antigens, at the right time, from 79% to 85%. Specific project activities include: the procurement of approximately 10 million doses of oral polio vaccine and approximately 17 million doses of measles vaccine - enough for a second dose for those children who need it; the procurement, installation and commission of new equipment to ensure the proper handling of vaccines from the point of manufacture to the point of use; training for about 2,500 health workers; and communication campaigns that encourage vaccination of previously excluded children. The project is part of the Canadian International Immunization Initiative (CIII). The goal of the CIII is to increase and intensify immunization services for children at risk of contracting preventable and often fatal illnesses in low- and middle-income countries.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2014 include: (i) procuring and installing ten customized cold rooms, nearly doubling the capacity to safely store vaccines, ensure their efficacy and facilitate the introduction of new vaccines; (ii) training 8,338 health workers on cold chain management to ensure that vaccines are always kept at the temperature required to maintain their efficacy; (iii) providing 10 million doses of oral polio vaccine and 13 million doses of measles vaccine to 5.3 million children at the right time and interval; and (iv) increasing the knowledge of caregivers regarding the number of visits required for full immunization, from 29% in 2011 to 53% in 2013. These results are contributing to improving immunization coverage for children in hard-to-reach areas of Bangladesh and to introducing new vaccines to prevent childhood illness and death. Source: Progress Report: Immunization Strengthening Project UNICEF Bangladesh March 2014.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $150,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Immunization Strengthening Project - CIII - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Asia
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Projet de renforcement de vaccination - ICII

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Projet de renforcement de vaccination - ICII - Aperçu
CA-3-A035191001
11 850 000 $
UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (XM-DAC-41122)
2011-01-14 - 2015-06-30
Finalisation
Pays / région • Bangladesh (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Services médicaux (12191) (0,00%)
• Santé de base
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à réduire le nombre de décès chez les enfants de moins de cinq ans au Bangladesh. Il a pour but d’améliorer la fourniture de vaccins et à atteindre les enfants qui vivent dans les régions mal desservies. Grâce à ce projet, on s’attend à ce que le pourcentage d’enfants qui reçoivent tous les vaccins avec les bons antigènes, au moment opportun, passe de 79 % à 85 %. Les activités spécifiques comprennent : l’achat d’environ 10 million de doses de vaccin oral contre la poliomyélite et d’environ 17 millions de doses de vaccin contre la rougeole - assez pour l’administration d’une seconde dose aux enfants qui en ont besoin; l’achat, l’installation et la mise en service de matériel nouveau pour garantir la manutention adéquate des vaccins de leur fabrication à l’utilisation; la formation de quelque 2 500 travailleurs de la santé; la réalisation de campagnes de communication pour encourager la vaccination des enfants exclus auparavant. Le projet s’inscrit dans l’Initiative canadienne d’immunisation internationale (ICII). Cette dernière a pour objectif d’augmenter les services d’immunisation pour les enfants à risque de contracter des maladies évitables, et souvent mortelles, dans les pays à revenu faible ou moyen.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2014 : i) achat et installation de dix chambres froides adaptées, ce qui a permis de presque doubler la capacité d’entreposage des vaccins de façon sécuritaire afin d’assurer leur efficacité et de faciliter l’introduction de nouveaux vaccins; ii) formation de 8 338 travailleurs de la santé sur la gestion de la chaîne du froid afin que les vaccins soient toujours conservés à la température requise pour assurer leur efficacité; iii) fourniture de 10 millions de doses de vaccin oral contre la poliomyélite et de 13 millions de doses de vaccin contre la rougeole à 5,3 millions d’enfants au moment où ils en ont besoin; iv) enrichissement des connaissances des soignants en ce qui concerne le nombre de visites nécessaires pour une vaccination complète, de 29 % en 2011 à 53 % en 2013. Ces résultats contribuent à améliorer la couverture vaccinale pour les enfants et à offrir de nouveaux vaccins afin de prévenir des maladies et des décès infantiles dans les régions difficilement atteignables du Bangladesh. Source : Progress Report: Immunization Strengthening Project, UNICEF Bangladesh, mars 2014.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 150 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Projet de renforcement de vaccination - ICII - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: