Project profile — Increased Access to Basic Health Services

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Increased Access to Basic Health Services - Overview
CA-3-A035206001
$20,000,000
PAHO - Pan American Health Organization (XM-DAC-47083)
2011-01-11 - 2014-12-31
Closed
Country / region • Haiti (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (20.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (80.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The aim of the project is to increase access to health services for pregnant women, children 0-5 years old and other vulnerable groups. A set of health promotion, prevention and curative intervention is delivered, free-of-charge to the targeted population through a network of 17 hospitals in all 10 departments. The health services being provided include medical examination and consultation, hospitalization fees, medical lab tests, medical prescriptions and medicines. The beneficiaries of the project will be some 3 million indirect beneficiaries of whom half will be pregnant women, newborns and children 0-5 years old. This project is part of Canada's Maternal, Newborn and Child Health commitment.

Results achieved

Results achieved by the end of the project (December 2014) include: (1) free care provided to more than 70,000 pregnant women and 200,000 children under the age of five over a period of 18 months; (2) 71,367 institutional deliveries performed, representing 60% of annual institutional deliveries nationwide; (3) maternal mortality rate reduced to 2.4 deaths per 1,000 deliveries; (4) the majority of institutions have achieved and even surpassed the pre-established targets for obstetric and pediatric care at 103% and 118%; (5) satisfaction regarding the project demonstrated with an overall satisfaction rate of 83.2%, mainly associated with the fact that services were free; (6) innovative project, being the first to use performance-based contracts with a broader approach that not only includes quantitative aspects, but also addresses quality and the strengthening of institutional capacities in hospital settings. These results helped to increase access to health services for pregnant women, children 0–5 years of age and other vulnerable groups.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Increased Access to Basic Health Services - Related information
Related links
Partner website — PAHO - Pan American Health Organization
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Accès accru aux soins de santé de base

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Accès accru aux soins de santé de base - Aperçu
CA-3-A035206001
20 000 000 $
OPS - Organisation panaméricaine de la Santé (XM-DAC-47083)
2011-01-11 - 2014-12-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Haïti (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (20,00%)
• Santé de base
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (80,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le but du projet est d'accroître l'accès aux services de santé pour les femmes enceintes, les enfants de 0 à 5 ans et d'autres groupes vulnérables. Une série de services, incluant la promotion de la santé, de prévention et de soins curatifs sont livré gratuitement à la population ciblée à travers un réseau de 17 hôpitaux dans tous les 10 départements. Les services de santé fournis comprennent les examens médicaux et la consultation, l'hospitalisation, les frais médicaux, prescriptions médicales et des médicaments. Les bénéficiaires indirects du projet seront quelque 3 millions de personnes dont la moitié seront les femmes enceintes, les nouveau-nés et les enfants de 0 à 5 ans. Ce projet fait partie de l'engagement du Canada à l'égard de la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus à la fin du projet (décembre 2014) : 1) soins gratuits offerts à plus de 70 000 femmes enceintes et 200 000 enfants de moins de cinq ans sur une période de 18 mois; 2) 71 367 accouchements institutionnels réalisés qui représentent 60% des accouchements institutionnels annuels à l’échelle nationale; 3) taux de mortalité maternelle réduit à 2.4 décès sur 1 000 accouchements; 4) atteinte et même dépassement dans la majorité des institutions des lignes de base préétablies en matière de soins obstétricaux et pédiatriques de 103% et 118%; 5) taux de satisfaction du projet démontré avec une satisfaction globale de 83.2% liée essentiellement à la gratuité des services; 6) projet innovateur étant le premier à instaurer des contrats basés sur la performance envisageant une approche plus large intégrant non seulement des aspects quantitatifs, mais également abordant la qualité et le renforcement des capacités institutionnelles en milieu hospitalier. Ces résultats ont contribué à accroître l'accès aux services de santé pour les femmes enceintes, les enfants de 0 à 5 ans et d'autres groupes vulnérables.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Accès accru aux soins de santé de base - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: