Project profile — Promoting Economic Competitiveness and Diversification in Extractive Regions of Peru



Overview 

CA-3-A035352001
$17,204,263
SOCODEVI - Canadian Cooperation Society for International Development (CA-CRA_ACR-3104918610)
2013-03-27 - 2021-01-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas

Country / region 

• Peru (100.00%)

Sector 

• Agricultural development:
Agricultural development (31120) (25.00%)
Food crop production (31161) (25.00%)
Agricultural co-operatives (31194) (25.00%)
• Mineral Resources And Mining: Mineral/mining policy and administrative management (32210) (25.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

This project aims to improve the economic and social conditions of the men and women living in the mining regions of Peru. It directly supports 3,000 family farms regrouped in 30 cooperatives, mostly in the agriculture and forestry sectors. More specifically, the project ensures that local cooperatives build the necessary capacities to increase the quantity and quality of their production, to increase their sales and to generate more revenues. By doing so, the project is supporting the Government of Peru's economic diversification efforts in rural mining communities.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved competitiveness of cooperatives in extractive regions, making sure that women have better access and control over resources; (2i) enhanced access to local, regional and international markets for cooperatives; and (3) improved business environment for cooperatives.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of the end of the project (January 2021) include: (1) the human development index of the targeted areas increased by 0.0692; (2) 24 associative businesses (including 19 cooperatives) were created or supported in three rural regions of Peru, comprising 4,528 members (including 1,498 women); (3) 2,234 jobs have been created (of which women occupy 1,017), and 769 jobs have been protected (of which women occupy 270); (4) 7,229 producers (including 2,386 women) received support to strengthen their family farms; (5) amongst these family farms, 4,100 are now using improved production techniques, which has allowed 20 of the associative businesses to increase their economic activities; (6) the net average annual agricultural income of the supported family farms increased by 3,267 soles per family; and (7) after a series of technical training sessions and capacity-building workshops, 88% of project beneficiaries (i.e. 2,100 women) now actively participate in decision-making regarding the use of economic resources within their families.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $363,910
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
16-11-2020 Disbursement $180,407
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Project-type interventions
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Promouvoir la diversification et la compétitivité économiques dans les régions extractives du Pérou



Aperçu 

CA-3-A035352001
17 204 263 $
SOCODEVI - Société de coopération pour le développement international (CA-CRA_ACR-3104918610)
2013-03-27 - 2021-01-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques

Pays / région 

• Pérou (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Développement agricole :
Développement agricole (31120) (25,00%)
Production agricole (31161) (25,00%)
Coopératives agricoles (31194) (25,00%)
• Industries extractives : Politique de l'industrie extractive et gestion administrative (32210) (25,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet vis à améliorer les conditions de vie économique et sociale des femmes et des hommes vivant dans les régions minières au Pérou. Il supporte directement 3000 fermes familiales regroupées au sein de 30 coopératives travaillant majoritairement dans les secteurs agricole et forestier. De façon spécifique, le projet appuie ces coopératives locales afin qu'elles puissent améliorer la quantité et la qualité de leur production, augmenter leurs ventes et accroître leurs revenus. Ce faisant, le projet appuie les efforts du gouvernementn du Pérou dans la diversification économique de ses zones rurales d'activités minières.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) compétitivité améliorée des coopératives dans les zones minières, au sein desquelles les femmes ont un meilleur accès et contrôle sur les ressources; 2) meilleur accès des coopératives aux marchés locaux, nationaux et internationaux; 3) amélioration de l'environnement d'affaires pour les coopératives.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (janvier 2021) : 1) l'indice de développement humain des zones ciblées a augmenté de 0. 0692; 2) 24 entreprises associatives (dont 19 coopératives) ont été créées ou soutenues dans trois régions rurales du Pérou, comprenant 4 528 membres (dont 1 498 femmes); 3) 2 234 emplois ont été créés (dont 1 017 occupés par des femmes), et 769 emplois ont été protégés (dont 270 occupés par des femmes); 4) 7 229 producteurs (dont 2 386 femmes) ont reçu un soutien pour renforcer leurs exploitations familiales; 5) parmi ces exploitations familiales, 4 100 utilisent désormais des techniques de production améliorées, ce qui a permis à 20 des entreprises associatives d'accroître leurs activités économiques; 6) le revenu agricole annuel moyen net des exploitations familiales soutenues a augmenté de 3 267 soles par famille; 7) après une série de sessions de formation technique et d'ateliers de renforcement des capacités, 88 % des bénéficiaires du projet (soit 2 100 femmes) participent désormais activement à la prise de décision concernant l'utilisation des ressources économiques au sein de leur famille.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 363 910 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
16-11-2020 Déboursé 180 407 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :