Project profile — Training Midwives in South Sudan

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Training Midwives in South Sudan - Overview
CA-3-A035358001
$19,484,700
UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund (XM-DAC-41119)
2012-03-28 - 2016-03-31
Closed
Country / region • South Sudan (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (7.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (0.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Family planning (13030) (0.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (93.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to reduce the number of mothers and newborn babies who die in South Sudan by providing women with greater access to high-quality midwifery services. The project consists primarily of training midwives, nurses, and other health workers at four National Health Training Institutes across the country. It includes developing a midwifery program at these training institutes, improving the training facilities, obtaining the equipment required, and improving the ability of the faculty members and administrative staff at the training institutes to teach and manage the new midwifery program. The project also works to improve the ability of the Ministry of Health to manage and regulate the education of midwives. A total of 540 health workers are expected to graduate during the project, including 315 midwives. More than 20,000 babies are expected to be born in the hands of a midwife or midwifery student over the course of the project. This project is part of Canada's maternal, newborn, and child health commitment.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: increased number of pregnant women attended by a qualified midwife or other health care professional with midwifery competencies, including emergency obstetric and newborn care; enhanced enabling environment that ensures increased availability, accessibility, and utilzation of quality skilled maternity care, including obstetrical and neonatal care services for pregnant women.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2016) include: (1) 242 health workers (of which 142 are women), including 183 midwives (of which 119 are women), have graduated from the four Health Sciences Institutes/National Health Training Institutes and are now contributing to meeting the vast needs for maternal and newborn health services across South Sudan; (2) an additional 230 midwifery and nursing students (of which 159 are women) are currently enrolled in the four Health Sciences Institutes; (3) scholarships have been provided to 33 doctors and clinical officers (of which 6 are women) for further education in obstetrics and gynecology, including emergency care and anesthesia. Upon completion, these health workers will provide specialized clinic services and quality instruction to clinical officers and medical doctors; (4) a national program for the bachelor’s degree in emergency obstetrics care was developed at the University of Juba, and 26 students (of which 4 are women) started the program in 2016; (5) skilled birth attendants (such as midwives) attended 59.1% of births that took place in health facilities; and (6) all four Health Sciences Institutes were equipped with libraries, laboratories and computer departments, along with accommodations and classrooms. These results have contributed to more pregnant women being attended by a qualified midwife or other health care professional with midwifery competencies, including emergency obstetric and newborn care; and an enabling environment that ensures increased availability, accessibility and utilization of quality skilled maternity care, including obstetrical and neonatal care services, for pregnant women.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Training Midwives in South Sudan - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Formation des sage-femmes au Soudan du Sud

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Formation des sage-femmes au Soudan du Sud - Aperçu
CA-3-A035358001
19 484 700 $
UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population (XM-DAC-41119)
2012-03-28 - 2016-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Soudan du Sud (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (7,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (0,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Planification familiale (13030) (0,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (93,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à réduire le nombre de décès chez les mères et les nouveau-nés au Soudan du Sud en offrant aux femmes un meilleur accès à des services de soins de haute qualité prodigués par des sages-femmes. Le projet consiste principalement à former des sages-femmes, des infirmières et d’autres travailleurs de la santé dans quatre établissements nationaux de formation en santé à travers le pays. Le projet vise également la mise en œuvre d’un programme de formation en sage-femmerie, l’amélioration des installations de formation, l’obtention de l’équipement requis, le renforcement des capacités du corps professoral et de l’administration des institutions pour enseigner et gérer le nouveau programme en sage-femmerie. Il renforce la capacité du ministère de la Santé afin qu’il puisse gérer et réglementer l’éducation des sages-femmes. En tout, il est prévu que 540 travailleurs de la santé, dont 315 sages-femmes, obtiennent un diplôme au cours du projet. Il est attendu également que plus de 20 000 bébés soient mis au monde par une sage-femme ou une étudiante sage-femme au cours du projet. Le projet s’inscrit dans l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de la santé des mères, des nouveau­nés et des enfants.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent: un nombre accru de femmes enceintes accompagnées par un sage-femme qualifiée ou un autre professionnel des soins de santé ayant les compétences nécessaires pour pratiquer des accouchements, y compris des soins obstétricaux; un environnement plus propice assurant une plus grande disponibilité, accessibilité et utilisation des soins de maternité de qualité offerts par du personnel qualifié, y compris des services de soins obstétricaux et néonatals pour les femmes enceintes.

Résultats atteints

Les résultats obtenus à la fin du projet (mars 2016) incluent : 1) 242 agents de santé (dont 142 femmes), y compris 183 sages-femmes (dont 119 femmes), qui ont obtenu leur diplôme des quatre instituts des sciences de la santé/instituts nationaux de formation sanitaire et contribuent désormais à répondre aux besoins considérables en services de santé maternelle et néonatale dans tout le Soudan du Sud; 2) 230 sages-femmes et étudiants en soins infirmiers (dont 159 femmes) sont actuellement inscrits dans les quatre instituts des sciences de la santé; 3) des bourses ont été accordées à 33 médecins et cliniciens (dont 6 femmes) pour poursuivre leur formation en obstétrique et en gynécologie, y compris en soins d’urgence et en anesthésie. Une fois le programme terminé, ces travailleurs de la santé fourniront des services cliniques spécialisés et un enseignement de qualité aux cliniciens et aux médecins; 4) un programme national de baccalauréat en soins obstétricaux d’urgence a été élaboré à l’Université de Juba, et 26 étudiants (dont 4 femmes) ont commencé le programme en 2016; 5) des parturiologues (comme les sages-femmes) ont assisté à 59,1 % des naissances qui se sont produites dans les établissements de santé; 6) les quatre instituts des sciences de la santé étaient équipés de bibliothèques, laboratoires et départements informatiques ainsi que de locaux et de salles de classe. Ces résultats ont permis à plus de femmes enceintes d’être examinées par une sage-femme qualifiée ou un autre professionnel de la santé ayant des compétences de sage-femme, y compris en soins obstétricaux et néonatals d’urgence. Ils ont aussi permis d’offrir un environnement propice qui permet une disponibilité et une utilisation accrues des soins de maternité spécialisés de qualité, y compris des services de soins obstétricaux et néonatals aux femmes enceintes, et un meilleur accès à ceux-ci.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Formation des sage-femmes au Soudan du Sud - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: