Project profile — Resilient and Sustainable Livelihoods Transformation in Northern Ghana

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Resilient and Sustainable Livelihoods Transformation in Northern Ghana - Overview
CA-3-A035430001
$8,068,018
Canadian Hunger Foundation (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011087)
2012-08-29 - 2015-07-31
Closed
Country / region • Ghana (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (5.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural development (31120) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural inputs (31150) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Food crop production (31161) (30.00%)
• Agriculture
Livestock (31163) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural education/training (31181) (15.00%)
• Fishing
Fishery development (31320) (5.00%)
• General Environmental Protection
Environmental education/training (41081) (5.00%)
• Other Multisector
Rural development (43040) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (significant objective)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project addresses the constraints that prevent smallholder farmers in Northern Ghana from producing sufficient food to feed themselves and generate revenue and from becoming resilient to unexpected events such as droughts. It offers transformative and sustainable solutions that address the root causes behind the lack of access to sufficient, nutritious food and the vulnerability to food shortages in the northern regions, while also promoting community and household resilience to external shocks and stresses. Expected activities include: practical training for 21,000 smallholder farmers and service providers in sustainable cropping practices, livestock production, aquaculture, and water management; provision of tools and services, including technical assistance in climate change adaptation and disaster risk management practices, to 150 communities to improve productivity; strengthening and promoting gender-responsive systems of agricultural extension and support; training for 21,000 women and men in income generating activities; and strengthening access for 21,000 smallholder famers to high-value markets in selected agricultural and non-agricultural sub-sectors.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: Increased, diversified, and more equitable agricultural production for male and female smallholder farmers and their households; increased, diversified, and more equitable incomes and assets for rural, food insecure men, women and their household in the Northern and Upper East regions of Ghana.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of project (March 2015) include : (1) 3,795 animal farmers (68% women) and 300 fish farmers (60% women) were trained on appropriate and sustainable crop, animal and aquaculture management practices; (2) more than 7,000 farmers (about 70% women) received inputs, such as seeds and equipment; (3) 121 income generation groups (between 10 and 30 members) were formed from the income generating beneficiaries. 64 village savings and loans associations have been formed from these income generation groups; (4) 1,561 beneficiaries (86% women) were trained and supervised with support from Community savings and loans facilitators by RESULT; (5) a local information and communication service for agricultural markets, ESOKO, was selected after a competitive process to provide market information and messaging services including weather forecasts; (6) 301 farmers (29% women) are currently registered on the ESOKO RESULT platform and have access to market information and the farmer helpline; and (7) nutrition training with cooking demonstrations has been provided in all of the 83 initial communities to 6,134 community members. These have contributed to enhanced food security and resilience for poor men and women smallholder farmers and their households in Northern and Upper East Ghana.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Resilient and Sustainable Livelihoods Transformation in Northern Ghana - Related information
Related activities
Resilient and Sustainable Livelihoods Transformation in Northern Ghana
Related links
Partner website — Canadian Hunger Foundation
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Transformation vers des moyens de subsistance durables et résilients au nord du Ghana

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Transformation vers des moyens de subsistance durables et résilients au nord du Ghana - Aperçu
CA-3-A035430001
8 068 018 $
Fondation canadienne contre la faim (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011087)
2012-08-29 - 2015-07-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Ghana (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (5,00%)
• Agriculture
Développement agricole (31120) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Produits à usage agricole (31150) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Production agricole (31161) (30,00%)
• Agriculture
Bétail (31163) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Éducation et formation dans le domaine agricole (31181) (15,00%)
• Pêche
Développement de la pêche (31320) (5,00%)
• Protection de l'environnement, général
Éducation et formation environnementales (41081) (5,00%)
• Autres multisecteurs
Développement rural (43040) (10,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet apporte une solution aux contraintes qui empêchent les petits exploitants agricoles dans le nord du Ghana à produire des aliments en quantité suffisante pour se nourrir et générer des revenus et à devenir résilients à des événements imprévus comme des sécheresses. Il propose des solutions transformatrices et durables qui s'attaquent aux causes profondes du manque d’accès à des réserves suffisantes d’aliments nutritifs et de la vulnérabilité aux pénuries alimentaires dans les régions du nord du Ghana, et qui promeuvent également la résilience des ménages et des communautés aux chocs contraintes externes. Les activités prévues incluent : la formation pratique pour 21 000 petits exploitants et les fournisseurs de services sur les méthodes culturales durables, l'élevage, l'aquaculture et la gestion de l'eau; la fourniture d'outils et de services y compris l'assistance technique pour l'adaptation aux changements climatiques et pour la gestion des risques de catastrophe, à au moins 150 collectivités pour améliorer la productivité; le renforcement et la promotion des systèmes de vulgarisation agricole et de soutien sensibles au genre; la formation en faveur de 21 000 femmes et hommes sur les activités génératrices de revenus; le renforcement de l’accessibilité pour 21 000 ménages de petits fermiers aux grands marchés des secteurs agricoles et non agricoles.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés pour ce projet comprennent: l’augmentation et la diversification de la production agricole plus équitable pour les petites familles d’agriculteurs ; l’augmentation et la diversification de revenus et ressources pour les petites familles d’agriculteurs ruraux dans les régions du Nord et de Nord-Est du Ghana.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (mars 2015) : 1) 3 795 éleveurs (dont 68 % étaient des femmes) et 300 pisciculteurs (60 % étaient des femmes) ont reçu de la formation sur les pratiques de gestion appropriée et durable des cultures, d’élevage d’animaux et de production aquacole; 2) plus de 7 000 exploitants agricoles (dont environ 70 % étaient des femmes) ont reçu des intrants, tels que des graines et du matériel; 3) 121 groupes de production de revenus (comptant entre 10 et 30 membres) ont reçu de la formation de bénéficiaires générant des revenus. En tout, 64 associations villageoises d’épargne et de crédit ont été formées par ces groupes; 4) 1 561 bénéficiaires (86 % étaient des femmes) ont été formés et supervisés grâce à l’appui des facilitateurs communautaires d’épargne et de crédit par RESULT; 5) ESOKO, un service d’information et de communication local destiné aux marchés agricoles, a été retenu à la suite d’un concours. Il sera chargé de fournir des services de messagerie et d’information sur les marchés, y compris des prévisions météorologiques; 6) 301 exploitants agricoles (29 % étaient des femmes) sont actuellement inscrites à la plateforme ESOKO RESULT et ont accès à l’information sur les marchés et à la ligne d’aide aux exploitants agricoles; 7) une formation sur la nutrition comprenant des démonstrations culinaires a été donnée à 6 134 membres de la collectivité dans les 83 premières collectivités ciblées. Ces résultats ont contribué à améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et la résilience des petits exploitants agricoles (hommes et femmes) ainsi que de leur ménage dans le Nord et le Nord-Est du Ghana.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Transformation vers des moyens de subsistance durables et résilients au nord du Ghana - Information reliée
Activités reliées
Transformation vers des moyens de subsistance durables et résilients au nord du Ghana
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: