Project profile — Support to Sustainable School Feeding Program in Haiti - 2012-2014

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Support to Sustainable School Feeding Program in Haiti - 2012-2014 - Overview
CA-3-A035451001
$15,000,000
WFP - World Food Programme (XM-DAC-41140)
2012-04-02 - 2014-12-31
Closed
Country / region • Haiti (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Education
Primary education (11220) (40.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (25.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural alternative development (31165) (15.00%)
• Developmental Food Aid/Food Security Assistance
Food aid/food security programs (52010) (20.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to improve the learning capacity of 1.1 million Haitian children by providing them with a hot meal every school day during the school year. The project supports the school feeding program to help schoolage children suffering from chronic hunger and an insufficient diet. The program distributes meals to schoolchildren, thus helping to increase attendance at the primary school level and improve children’s learning capacity. The project also aims to strengthen local agricultural production by promoting the purchase of as much as 25 percent of the required rice supply from local producers. The project also helps to strengthen and ensure the sustainability of the National School Feeding Program of Haiti’s Ministry of National Education.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (i) improved academic performance for girls and boys; and (ii) more effective and sustainable school feeding programs.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project include: Canada’s contribution allowed to feed 625,328 children in 919 schools to be fed over a period of 165 days, and to buy 5,958 tonnes of rice, of which 14 percent was purchased from the local market. Eight producers’ associations (each with an average of 2,000 members) responded to the World Food Programme (WFP) tender for food supply in 2012. Support given to Haiti’s National School Feeding Program included : the development of an action plan and a legal framework for the program; and the provision of training for 60 managers from the program and the Ministry of National Education and Vocational Training. With Canada’s contribution and those of other international donors, the WFP achieved its objective for the 2012-2013 school year by providing meals to 1,109,158 children every school day. These results help reduce chronic hunger and malnutrition among schoolchildren, increase attendance at primary schools, and improve children’s learning capacity. Support given to Haiti’s National School Feeding Program included : the development of an action plan and a legal framework for the program; and the provision of training for 60 managers from the program and the Ministry of National Education and Vocational Training. With Canada’s contribution and those of other international donors, the WFP achieved its objective for the 2012-2013 school year by providing meals to 1,109,158 children every school day. These results help reduce chronic hunger and malnutrition among schoolchildren, increase attendance at primary schools, and improve children’s learning capacity.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Support to Sustainable School Feeding Program in Haiti - 2012-2014 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WFP - World Food Programme
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui à un programme de cantines scolaires durable en Haiti - 2012-2014

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Appui à un programme de cantines scolaires durable en Haiti - 2012-2014 - Aperçu
CA-3-A035451001
15 000 000 $
PAM - Programme alimentaire mondial (XM-DAC-41140)
2012-04-02 - 2014-12-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Haïti (100,00%)
Secteur • Éducation de base
Enseignement primaire (11220) (40,00%)
• Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (25,00%)
• Agriculture
Développement agricole alternatif (31165) (15,00%)
• Aide alimentaire à des fins de développement/aide à la sécurité alimentaire
Programmes de sécurité et d'aide alimentaire (52010) (20,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le but du projet est d’améliorer la capacité d’apprendre de 1.1 millions d’écoliers haïtiens en leur fournissant un repas chaud par jour d’école. Le projet appuie le programme de cantines scolaires pour venir en aide aux enfants en âge scolaire qui souffrent de faim chronique et d’une alimentation insuffisante. Le programme distribue des repas aux écoliers, ce qui contribue à augmenter le taux de fréquentation au niveau primaire et à améliorer les capacités d’apprentissage des enfants. Le projet vise également à renforcer la production agricole locale en encourageant l'achat de jusqu'à 25 % des besoins en riz de producteurs locaux. Le projet contribue aussi à renforcer le Programme national de cantines scolaires du ministère haïtien de l'Éducation nationale afin de le rendre durable.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : i) l'amélioration de la performance académique des filles et des garçons ; ii) des programmes d'alimentation scolaire plus efficaces et durables.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus à la fin du projet: La contribution du Canada a permis de nourrir 625 328 enfants dans 919 écoles durant le projet ainsi que d'acheter 5,958 tonnes de riz, dont 14 % provenaient du marché local. Huit associations de producteurs (2 000 membres en moyenne par association) ont participé à l’appel d’offres du Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) au cours de l’année 2012 pour l’approvisionnement en nourriture. Un appui a été fourni au Programme national de cantines scolaires (PNCS), entre autres par : l'élaboration d'un plan d'action et d'un cadre légal pour le PNCS; la formation de 60 cadres provenant du PNCS et du ministère de l'Éducation nationale et de la formation professionnelle. La contribution du Canada, s’ajoutant à celle d’autres donateurs internationaux, a permis au PAM d’atteindre son objectif pour l’année scolaire 2012-2013 et de nourrir 1 109 158 d'enfants, chaque jour d’école. Ces résultats contribuent à réduire la faim chronique et la malnutrition parmi les écoliers, à augmenter la fréquentation scolaire au niveau primaire et à améliorer les capacités d’apprentissage des enfants. Un appui a été fourni au Programme national de cantines scolaires (PNCS), entre autres par : l'élaboration d'un plan d'action et d'un cadre légal pour le PNCS; la formation de 60 cadres provenant du PNCS et du ministère de l'Éducation nationale et de la formation professionnelle. La contribution du Canada, s’ajoutant à celle d’autres donateurs internationaux, a permis au PAM d’atteindre son objectif pour l’année scolaire 2012-2013 et de nourrir 1 109 158 d'enfants, chaque jour d’école. Ces résultats contribuent à réduire la faim chronique et la malnutrition parmi les écoliers, à augmenter la fréquentation scolaire au niveau primaire et à améliorer les capacités d’apprentissage des enfants.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Appui à un programme de cantines scolaires durable en Haiti - 2012-2014 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — PAM - Programme alimentaire mondial
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: