Project profile — Evidence and Data for Gender Equality

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Evidence and Data for Gender Equality - Overview
CA-3-A035460001
$1,000,000
UN Women (XM-DAC-41146)
2012-03-28 - 2013-09-30
Closed
Country / region • Africa, regional (33.33%)
• America, regional (33.34%)
• Asia, regional (33.33%)
Sector • Education, Level Unspecified
Education policy and administrative management (11110) (10.00%)
• Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (10.00%)
• Other Social Infrastructure And Services
Employment policy and administrative management (16020) (10.00%)
• Other Social Infrastructure And Services
Statistical capacity building (16062) (70.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to improve the availability and use of sex-disaggregated data related to health, education, employment, entrepreneurship, and assets. The Evidence and Data for Gender Equality (EDGE) project includes two inter-related components: (1) EDGE develops a global database containing harmonized indicators and sex-disaggregated data related to health, education, employment and entrepreneurship. This data enables countries to diagnose gender gaps in these sectors and to design effective policy and program responses that benefit women and men, girls and boys; and (2) EDGE establishes harmonized gender indicators related to entrepreneurship and asset ownership to guide the collection of sex-disaggregated data. It establishes international standards related to entrepreneurship and asset ownership, including gender indicators, statistical definitions and methods of data collection and data processing. The international standards aim to test in 10 pilot countries, to be determined by members of the EDGE Steering Committee.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) increased access to gender statistics on health, education and employment; (2) increased awareness of sex-disaggregated data in health, education and employment (3) adoption of international standards to collect comparable gender indicators related to entrepreneurship and asset ownership by the UN Statistical Commission; and (4) strengthened capacity of national statistical systems to collect and process data related to entrepreneurship and asset ownership.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of September 2013 : (1) increased access to gender statistics on health, education, and employment through a new online data platform for all Tier I indicators and related metadata; (2) held two Technical Meetings on Measuring Asset Ownership from a Gender Perspective and developed a draft Technical Report on Measuring Individual Level Asset Ownership and Control. At the second Technical Meeting, held in Bangkok, the draft methodology proposed in the Technical Report was discussed and national statistical offices provided feedback on their capacity for implementation of the methodology proposed in the technical Report. Guidelines are to be presented to the UN Statistical Commission for adoption in February-March, 2016. While DFATD funding has been fully disbursed, DFATD continues to actively participate in the EDGE Steering Committee and related activities.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Evidence and Data for Gender Equality - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UN Women
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Faits et données sur l’égalité entre les sexes

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Faits et données sur l’égalité entre les sexes - Aperçu
CA-3-A035460001
1 000 000 $
ONU Femmes des femmes (XM-DAC-41146)
2012-03-28 - 2013-09-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Afrique, régional (33,33%)
• Amérique, régional (33,34%)
• Asie, régional (33,33%)
Secteur • Éducation, niveau non spécifié
Politique de l'éducation et gestion administrative (11110) (10,00%)
• Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (10,00%)
• Infrastructure et services sociaux divers
Politique de l'emploi et gestion administrative (16020) (10,00%)
• Infrastructure et services sociaux divers
Renforcement des capacités statistiques (16062) (70,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à améliorer la disponibilité et l’utilisation des données ventilées par sexe relatives à la santé, à l’éducation, à l’emploi, à l’entrepreneuriat et aux biens. Le projet « Faits et données sur l’égalité entre les sexes (EDGE) » comporte deux volets interdépendants : 1) l’élaboration d’une base de données globale contenant des indicateurs harmonisés et des données ventilées par sexe sur la santé, l’éducation, l’emploi et l’entrepreneuriat. Ces données permettent aux pays de repérer les écarts entre les sexes dans ces domaines et de concevoir des politiques et des programmes efficaces qui profitent aux femmes, aux hommes, aux filles et aux garçons; 2) l’établissement d’indicateurs harmonisés qui tiennent compte des écarts entre les sexes relativement à l’entrepreneuriat et à la propriété de biens pour orienter la collecte de données ventilées par sexe. L’établissement de normes internationales relatives à l’entrepreneuriat et à la propriété de biens, y compris d’indicateurs qui tiennent compte des écarts entre les sexes, de définitions statistiques et de méthodes de collecte et de traitement des données. Les normes internationales seront mises à l’essai dans dix pays pilotes qui seront sélectionnés par les membres du comité directeur du projet EDGE.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent: 1) un accès accru aux statistiques qui tiennent compte des écarts entre les sexes relatives à la santé, à l’éducation et à l’emploi; 2) une plus grande sensibilisation aux données ventilées par sexe relatives à la santé, à l’éducation et à l’emploi; 3) l’adoption, par la Commission de statistique des Nations Unies, de normes internationales pour la collecte d’indicateurs qui tiennent compte des écarts entre les sexes et permettent d’effectuer des comparaisons relatives à l’entrepreneuriat et à la propriété de biens; 4) une capacité renforcée des systèmes statistiques nationaux à recueillir et à traiter des données relatives à l’entrepreneuriat et à la propriété de biens.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en Septembre 2013 : (1) accès accru aux statistiques sexospécifiques relatives à la santé, à l’éducation et à l’emploi grâce à une nouvelle plateforme de données en ligne consacrée à l’ensemble des indicateurs de niveau I et aux métadonnées connexes; (2) les responsables du projet EDGE avaient tenu deux réunions techniques au sujet de la mesure de la propriété des biens dans une perspective sexospécifique; ils avaient aussi élaboré la version provisoire d’un rapport technique sur la mesure de la propriété et du contrôle des biens à un niveau individuel. Lors de la deuxième réunion technique, qui a eu lieu à Bangkok, la méthodologie proposée dans le rapport technique provisoire a fait l’objet de discussions, et les bureaux nationaux de la statistique ont formulé une rétroaction sur leur capacité à la mettre en œuvre. Lignes directrices seront présentées à la Commission de statistique des Nations Unies en février ou en mars 2016. Bien que le financement d’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada ait été complètement décaissé, le ministère continue de participer activement au comité directeur du projet EDGE et aux activités connexes.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Faits et données sur l’égalité entre les sexes - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — ONU Femmes des femmes
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: