Project profile — Polio Eradication Program

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Polio Eradication Program - Overview
CA-3-A035485001
$18,000,000
WHO - World Health Organization (XM-DAC-41143)
2012-12-24 - 2015-03-30
Closed
Country / region • Nigeria (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The goal of this project is to establish a more effective system for providing vaccinations in Nigeria and to increase the number of children under five who receive the polio vaccine. Nigeria is one of three countries in the world where children can still contract polio. Children under the age of five are the most at risk for polio infections and the risk is highest in northern Nigeria. It is estimated that 600,000 Nigerian children under five have never received a single dose of the polio vaccine. This project contributes to increasing the percentage of children under five who receive a full complement of vaccinations, including the polio vaccine, from 23% to 85% by 2015. This project supports the polio immunization activities of the Global Polio Eradication Initiative in Nigeria. Polio vaccination campaigns occur regularly throughout Nigeria both at the national level and at the state level, in areas where there is a higher rate of polio infections. The polio vaccination campaigns are also used as a platform for delivering other essential health services, such as routine vaccinations against common preventable diseases and health education. In addition, the project works with political, traditional, and religious leaders in Nigeria to build momentum toward greater community acceptance of polio immunization. The WHO is responsible for technical assistance, training, post-immunization campaign assessment surveys, data analysis, and report writing. The WHO also coordinates research, provides technical and operational support to the Federal and State Ministries of Health, and coordinates the training and deployment of human resources.

Expected results

The expected intermediate results for this project include: (1) increased detection of polio cases and response to common communicable diseases; (2) increased and sustained immunity of target groups against wild polio transmission in all districts of the twelve highest risk states; and (3) increased protection of Nigerians with routine immunization against common preventable diseases, including polio.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2015) include: (1) Nigeria has made tremendous progress towards the interruption of wild poliovirus during this past year; (2) the percentage of 0-59 month-old children reached by oral polio vaccine (OPV) during supplemental immunization activities (SIAs) has increased from 81% in January 2014 to 96% by February 2015; (3) Global Affairs Canada contributed, along with other development partners, in reaching 6,226,104 children (about 91% of the target population) with polio vaccination in 12 states. This in turn has contributed to the reduction of the number of wild polio virus cases reported in Nigeria from 37 cases in 2013-2014 to five cases in 2014-15; (4) improving results from Lot Quality Assurance Sampling (LQAS) processes was demonstrated. Following the completion of the Immunization Plus Days (IPDs), the LQAS demonstrated that Nigeria’s quality assurance targets were exceeded in every IPD since January 2014; and (5) through ongoing data analysis in the Emergency Operations Centres (state and national), the program has developed strategic plans to address the identified challenges that prevent children from receiving oral polio vaccine (OPV). Canada has played a unique role in the coordination of the donor group for polio, which assists in ensuring policy coherence and the communication of program and funding issues.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $2,000,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
24-09-2014 Disbursement $2,000,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Polio Eradication Program - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WHO - World Health Organization
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Programme d'éradication de la poliomyélite

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Programme d'éradication de la poliomyélite - Aperçu
CA-3-A035485001
18 000 000 $
OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé (XM-DAC-41143)
2012-12-24 - 2015-03-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Nigéria (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet a pour but d’établir un système de vaccination plus efficace au Nigéria et d’augmenter le nombre d’enfants de moins de cinq ans qui reçoivent le vaccin contre la poliomyélite. Le Nigéria est l'un des trois pays au monde où les enfants peuvent encore contracter la poliomyélite. Les enfants de moins de cinq ans sont les plus à risque d'être infectés par la maladie et le risque est plus élevé dans le nord du Nigéria. On estime que 600,000 enfants de moins de cinq ans n’ont jamais reçu une dose du vaccin contre la poliomyélite. Ce projet contribue à augmenter de 23 % à 85 % d’ici 2015 le pourcentage des enfants de moins de cinq ans recevant un complément de vaccins, notamment celui contre la poliomyélite. Ce projet appuie les activités de vaccination de l'Initiative mondiale pour l'éradication de la poliomyélite au Nigéria. Des campagnes de vaccination contre la poliomyélite sont menées régulièrement au Nigéria à l'échelle nationale et au niveau des États, dans les régions avec un taux d'incidence plus élevé de la maladie. Les campagnes d'immunisation contre la poliomyélite sont également utilisées pour fournir d'autres services essentiels de santé, tels que la vaccination de routine contre les principales maladies évitables et l’éducation en matière de santé. De plus, le projet collabore avec les dirigeants politiques, traditionnels et religieux du Nigéria afin d'amener les communautés à accepter davantage la vaccination contre la poliomyélite. L'OMS est responsable de l'assistance technique, de la formation, des études d'évaluation post-campagne de vaccination, de l'analyse des données et de la rédaction des rapports. L'OMS coordonne également la recherche, fournit un appui technique et opérationnel aux ministères de la santé fédéral et des états, et coordonne la formation et le déploiement des ressources humaines.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) une augmentation de la détection des cas de poliomyélite et du temps de réponse pour les maladies transmissibles courantes; 2) une immunité accrue et soutenue des groupes cibles contre la transmission du poliovirus sauvage dans tous les districts des douze états les plus à risque et 3) une augmentation de la protection des Nigérians grâce à la vaccination de routine contre les principales maladies évitables, dont la poliomyélite.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’à la fin du projet (mars 2015) : 1) le Nigéria a fait d’énormes progrès afin de contrer le poliovirus sauvage au cours de la dernière année; 2) le pourcentage d’enfants âgées entre 0 et 59 mois ayant reçu le vaccin contre la polio par voie orale au cours des activités de vaccination supplémentaires (AVS) est passé de 81% en janvier 2014 à 96% en février 2015; 3) de pair avec les autres partenaires de développement, la contribution d’Affaires mondiales Canada a réussi à atteindre 6 226 104 enfants (soit environ 91% de la population) avec la vaccination contre la polio dans 12 États. Ceci a contribué à la réduction du nombre de cas de poliomyélite de souche sauvage rapportés au Nigéria de 37 cas en 2013-2014 à 5 cas en 2014-15; 4) l’amélioration des résultats à partir de l’échantillonnage par lots pour l’assurance de la qualité (LQAS) a été démontrée. Lorsque les journées à vaccination supplémentaires (JVS) ont été complétées, le processus LQAS a démontré que les cibles d’assurance de la qualité du Nigéria avaient été surpassées lors de chaque journée d’AVS depuis janvier 2014; 5) à travers d’une analyse constante des données des Centres d’opérations d’urgences (au niveau national et de l’État) le programme a développé des plans stratégiques afin de faire face aux défis identifiés qui préviennent les enfants de recevoir le vaccin oral contre la poliomyélite (VPO). Le Canada a joué un rôle unique dans la coordination du groupe de bailleurs contre la polio, qui fournis un soutient afin d’assurer la cohérence des politiques, la communication des programmes et les défis liés au financement.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 2 000 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
24-09-2014 Déboursé 2 000 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Programme d'éradication de la poliomyélite - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: