Project profile — Piloting a Purchase for Progress Approach in Cuba

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Piloting a Purchase for Progress Approach in Cuba - Overview
CA-3-D000005001
$3,000,000
WFP - World Food Programme (XM-DAC-41140)
2014-03-20 - 2019-08-20
Closed
Country / region • Cuba (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (20.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural development (31120) (30.00%)
• Agriculture
Food crop production (31161) (30.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural co-operatives (31194) (20.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to increase food security for women, men and children, especially of vulnerable groups in Cuba. Its goal is to strengthen the sustainable production of nutritious food, particularly beans and bio-fortified beans, which contributes to increased consumption of these products by vulnerable groups who are targeted in government-subsidized food programs. Project activities include: (1) providing technical assistance and sharing best practices with small-scale farmers on crop management and technologies in order to increase quality and quantity of yields; (2) training local bean producers, especially women producers, in improved, environmentally sustainable agricultural production and management techniques, gender equality, and cooperative governance and leadership; (3) procuring and providing modern agricultural tools, materials and equipment to strengthen the production capacity of local women and men farmers; and (4) purchasing beans to be supplied to the most vulnerable, including beneficiaries of health institutions, the elderly, pregnant women and children under 5 years of age.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased capacity of local bean producers, including women producers, in selected municipalities in Matanzas and Guantánamo provinces, to apply sustainable agricultural practices in the production of beans and bio-fortified beans; (2) increased access by vulnerable groups to nutritious foods (bio-fortified beans) through the regular government distribution system; and (3) increased equitable access to beans for boys and girls in primary schools and health institution recipients.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (August 2019) include: Overall, a strengthened sustainable production of beans and bio-fortified beans by producers of the municipalities of El Salvador and Niceto Pérez in Guantánamo province, and Union de Reyes in Matanzas province was noted, more specifically: (1) beneficiary cooperatives increased their production by 128%; improved yield per hectares by 37%; decreased production costs by 12%; and reduced post-harvest loss to 8% of total production; (2) 1,935 (of which 661 women) farmers and service and input providers were trained in subjects such as: seeds selection and multiplication; cooperative management and leadership; sustainable production of beans; marketing for service providers; responsible use of agricultural machinery; and best practices to face drought; (3) 2,335 farmers benefited from the distribution of: tractors and their appliances; irrigation systems; grain dryers; mobile repair workshops; sewing machines for grain bags and packaging; drying mats; a cool storage plant for seeds conservation; grain humidity gauges; and mechanical scales; (4) 96% of producers involved in the project are using modern agricultural techniques in their productive activities; (5) up to 80% of producers are increasingly using as much as 11 varieties of certified seeds that contribute to the achieved yields; and (6) an estimated increase of 1,663 tons in bean production since the start of the project in 2014 was noted, representing a $1.7 M CAD reduction in imports. Overall, the improvements in productivity and efficiency in bean production had a positive impact on the consumption of beans and bio-fortified beans by recipients of government-subsidized food programs, more specifically: (1) 55,460 women, men and children from the targeted municipalities benefited from access to beans and bio-fortified beans as part of the diet provided in 149 institutions that are part of the government-subsidized social protection programs(such as schools, day cares, maternity homes and health facilities); (2) six tons of bio-fortified beans were produced in the municipalities of Guantánamo province for the first time, and were distributed among school and health facilities representing 1% of the total quantity of beans supplied to these institutions; and (3) the proportion of domestic bean intake over other imported grains incorporated into the supply plans of schools and health institutions increased from 30% at the beginning of the project to 50% by the project’s end.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Piloting a Purchase for Progress Approach in Cuba - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WFP - World Food Programme
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Projet pilote d’appui au programme d’achats au service du progrès à Cuba

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Projet pilote d’appui au programme d’achats au service du progrès à Cuba - Aperçu
CA-3-D000005001
3 000 000 $
PAM - Programme alimentaire mondial (XM-DAC-41140)
2014-03-20 - 2019-08-20
Fermé
Pays / région • Cuba (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (20,00%)
• Agriculture
Développement agricole (31120) (30,00%)
• Agriculture
Production agricole (31161) (30,00%)
• Agriculture
Coopératives agricoles (31194) (20,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à accroître la sécurité alimentaire des femmes, des hommes et des enfants qui sont particulièrement vulnérables à Cuba. Il a pour but de renforcer la production durable d’aliments nutritifs, surtout de fèves et de fèves enrichis biologiquement, pour en favoriser la consommation dans les groupes vulnérables ciblés par les programmes alimentaires subventionnés par le gouvernement. Les initiatives du projet comprennent : (1) fournir aux petits exploitants agricoles une assistance technique en matière de technologies et de gestion des cultures ainsi que leur donner de l’information sur les pratiques exemplaires pour accroître la qualité et la quantité des cultures; (2) donner aux producteurs locaux de fèves (surtout les femmes) de la formation sur les techniques améliorées et écologiquement durables de production et de gestion agricoles, sur l’égalité entre les genres ainsi que sur la gouvernance et le leadership dans les coopératives; (3) obtenir et fournir des outils, du matériel et de l’équipement agricoles modernes afin de renforcer la capacité de production des cultivatrices et cultivateurs locaux; et (4) acheter des fèves pour les groupes les plus vulnérables, y compris les gens dans les établissements de santé, les aînés, les femmes enceintes et les enfants de moins de cinq ans.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats attendus de ce projet comprennent : 1) capacité accrue des producteurs locaux de haricots, y compris les productrices, dans certaines municipalités des provinces de Matanzas et de Guantánamo, d'appliquer des pratiques agricoles durables à la production de haricots et de haricots biofortifiés ; 2) accès accru des groupes vulnérables aux aliments nutritifs (haricots biofortifiés) par le système gouvernemental régulier de distribution ; 3) accès au haricots équitable des garçons et des filles des écoles primaires et des établissements sanitaires.

Résultats atteints

Les résultats obtenus à la fin du projet (en août 2019) sont les suivants : Dans l’ensemble, on a remarqué que les producteurs sont parvenus à renforcer la production durable de haricots et de haricots enrichis biologiquement dans les municipalités d’El Salvador et de Niceto Pérez, situées dans la province de Guantánamo, et dans la municipalité d’Union de Reyes, située dans la province Matanzas, plus particulièrement : 1) les coopératives bénéficiaires ont augmenté leur production de 128 %, ont amélioré le rendement par hectare de 37 %, ont diminué les coûts de production de 12 %, et ont réduit à 8 % de la production totale les pertes après récolte; 2) 1 935 (dont 661 femmes) agriculteurs et fournisseurs de services et d’intrants ont reçu de la formation sur des sujets comme : la sélection et la multiplication de semences, la gestion et la direction de coopératives, la production durable de haricots, le marketing pour les fournisseurs de services, l’utilisation responsable des machines agricoles et les pratiques exemplaires pour composer avec la sécheresse; 3) 2 335 agriculteurs ont profité de la distribution des éléments suivants : tracteurs et appareils connexes, systèmes d’irrigation, séchoirs à grains, ateliers mobiles de réparation, machines à coudre pour les sacs et les emballages à grains, tapis de séchage, installations d’entreposage au frais pour la conservation des semences, indicateurs d’humidité des grains et balances mécaniques; 4) 96 % des producteurs qui ont participé au projet utilisent des techniques de production agricole modernes; 5) jusqu’à 80 % des producteurs utilisent de plus en plus des variétés de semences certifiées (jusqu’à 11 variétés) qui contribuent aux rendements atteints; 6) la production de haricots a connu une augmentation d’environ 1 663 tonnes depuis le début du projet en 2014, ce qui correspond à une réduction des importations représentant 1,7 million de dollars canadiens. De façon générale, l’amélioration du rendement et de l’efficacité de la production de haricots a eu une incidence positive sur la consommation de haricots et de haricots enrichis biologiquement chez les bénéficiaires des programmes alimentaires subventionnés par le gouvernement, plus particulièrement : 1) 55 460 femmes, hommes et enfants vivant dans les municipalités ciblées ont eu accès aux haricots et aux haricots enrichis biologiquement qui font partie du régime alimentaire offert dans 149 établissements participant aux programmes de protection sociale subventionnés par le gouvernement (comme les écoles, les garderies, les maisons maternelles et les établissements de santé); 2) pour la première fois, six tonnes de haricots enrichis biologiquement ont été produites dans les municipalités de la province de Guantánamo et ont été distribuées dans les écoles et les établissements de santé, ce qui représente 1 % de la quantité totale de haricots fournis à ces établissements; 3) la proportion de haricots locaux intégrés dans les plans d’approvisionnement des écoles et des établissements de santé par rapport aux autres grains importés est passée de 30 % au début du projet à 50 % à la fin du projet.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Projet pilote d’appui au programme d’achats au service du progrès à Cuba - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — PAM - Programme alimentaire mondial
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: