Project profile — Polio Eradication Through Strengthened Routine Polio Immunization



Overview 

CA-3-D000149003
$19,944,800
WHO - World Health Organization (41143)
2016-03-29 - 2021-03-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa

Country / region 

• Nigeria (100.00%)

Sector 

• Health, General: Medical education/training (12181) (10.00%)
• Basic health care:
Basic health care (12220) (20.00%)
Infectious disease control (12250) (50.00%)
Health education (12261) (20.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

This project aims to maintain the gains made towards polio eradication in Nigeria while strengthening the routine immunization system. The project ultimately seeks to eradicate polio in Nigeria. Project activities include: (1) develop village-level micro-plans (vaccination plans detailed down to the household level) to immunize every child against polio (approximately 6.6 million girls and 6.9 million boys); (2) provide training for, and support deployment of, 154,000 vaccination team members (male and female); (3) conduct training for up to 8000 health workers to improve capacity for routine immunization; and (4) conduct intensified routine immunization activities to protect up to 250,000 children from vaccine preventable diseases.

Expected results 

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) increased and sustained herd immunity (when the vaccination of a significant portion of a population provides a measure of protection) against polio virus in polio priority states; and (2) increased protection against common vaccine preventable diseases (VPDs) in select local government areas (LGAs).

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of the end of the project (January 2021) include: (1) reached over 40 million children (boys and girls) between the age of zero to five years with oral poliovirus vaccines (OPV) and more than 38 million children (boys and girls) under the age of one through routine immunization activities. These achievements contributed to the country being certified as wild polio virus-free following three years without a case; (2) conducted 6,658,923 vaccination sessions in all 36 states within Nigeria; (3) strengthened vaccination capacities by training 449,814 vaccination team members (of whom 81% are women; and (4) strengthened Nigeria’s vaccination strategies through (i) the use of women vaccinators to reach children in households, (ii) the support of the military to position vaccination teams at military screening points and (iii) using the house-to-house approach that allowed teams to go from house to house to vaccinate children.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Date modified:

Profil de projet — L’éradication de la polio par l’entremise du renforcement de vaccination de routine



Aperçu 

CA-3-D000149003
19 944 800 $
OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé (41143)
2016-03-29 - 2021-03-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Nigéria (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Santé, général : Éducation et formation médicales (12181) (10,00%)
• Soins et services de santé de base :
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (20,00%)
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (50,00%)
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (20,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet a pour but de renforcer le système de vaccination de routine au Nigéria et d’augmenter à l’échelle communautaire l’immunité face à la poliomyélite. Le projet vise ultimement à éradiquer la poliomyélite au Nigéria. Les activités de ce projet comprennent : 1) l’implémentation de micro-plans de vaccination pour chaque ménage afin de vacciner tous les enfants contre la poliomyélite (environ 6.6 millions de filles et 6.9 millions de garçons); 2) fournir à 154 000 membres d’équipes de vaccination (hommes et femmes) des formations et du support pour leur déploiement; 3) former jusqu’à 8 000 travailleurs de la santé afin d’améliorer les capacités de vaccination de routine; 4) mener des activités intensives de vaccination de routine afin de protéger jusqu’à 250 000 enfants contre les maladies évitables.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) une immunité accrue et soutenue des groupes cibles (garçons et filles) contre la transmission du poliovirus sauvage dans les communautés locales des états prioritaires; et 2) une augmentation de la protection des Nigérians et Nigérianes contre les principales maladies évitables grâce à la vaccination de routine dans les collectivités locales ciblées.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (janvier 2021) : 1) atteinte de plus de 40 millions d’enfants (garçons et filles) âgés de 0 à 5 ans dans le cadre d’une campagne d’administration de vaccins antipoliomyélitiques oraux (VPO), et de plus de 38 millions d’enfants (garçons et filles) âgés de moins d’un an grâce à des activités de vaccination de routine. Ces réalisations ont contribué à faire en sorte que le pays soit certifié d’avoir éradiquer le poliovirus sauvage après 3 années sans cas; 2) l’organisation de 6 658 923 séances de vaccination dans les 36 États du Nigéria; 3) le renforcement des capacités de vaccination grâce à la formation de 449 814 membres d’équipes de vaccination (dont 81 % sont des femmes); 4) le renforcement des stratégies de vaccination du Nigéria grâce (i) au recours à des vaccinatrices pour atteindre les enfants dans les foyers, (ii) du soutien de l’armée pour positionner des équipes de vaccination aux points de dépistage militaires, et (iii) à l’utilisation de l’approche de porte à porte, qui permet aux équipes d’aller de maison en maison pour vacciner les enfants.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Date de modification :