Project profile — Improving the Lives of Women and Children Through Radio Dramas

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Improving the Lives of Women and Children Through Radio Dramas - Overview
CA-3-D000204001
$1,010,060
Population Media Center
2014-02-14 - 2018-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Congo, Democratic Republic (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Health education (12261) (20.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (20.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Family planning (13030) (20.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Media and free flow of information (15153) (10.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Human rights (15160) (20.00%)
• Other Social Infrastructure And Services
Social mitigation of HIV/AIDS (16064) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (significant objective)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project contributes to improving maternal, newborn and child health, protecting children and preventing sexual and gender-based violence by supporting the production and nationwide broadcast of radio serial dramas. These dramas provide information, tools and resources to stimulate social change, raise the awareness and improve the overall health and well-being of the audience. The dramas use characters and settings that reflect people's daily lives and current impressions of health and social issues. Produced in the most commonly spoken languages in the Democratic Republic of Congo, these dramas use the country’s most economical and far-reaching mass media mechanism. The project promotes positive behavioural changes related to themes such as: immunization for all children and pregnant women; improving child nutrition; the proper use of treated bed nets to prevent malaria; child spacing and delaying marriage and onset of childbearing to promote the health of mothers; birth registration; and positive behaviours for both women and men with regard to gender equality and HIV/AIDS prevention.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) the DRC population acquires knowledge and adopts new positive attitudes towards the issues addressed in the radio dramas; (2) healthy behaviours are adopted; and (3) services are being sought by women, children and youth across the DRC on the issues addressed in the radio dramas.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2017 include: (1) launch of the radio serial drama «Vivra Verra» in French (156 episodes broadcasted); (2) launch of the radio serial drama «Elembo» in Lingala (156 episodes broadcasted); (3) launch of the radio serial drama «Pambazuko» in Swahili (136 episodes produced, 120 episodes broadcasted); and (4) listeners of Vivra Vira and Elembo are two to three times more likely to use family planning methods, consult a health specialist, and be sensitized to a common decision-making process in the household.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $79,935
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
31-03-2018 Disbursement $49,995
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Improving the Lives of Women and Children Through Radio Dramas - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Population Media Center
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Améliorer la vie des femmes et des enfants à l’aide des radio Romans

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Améliorer la vie des femmes et des enfants à l’aide des radio Romans - Aperçu
CA-3-D000204001
1 010 060 $
Population Media Center
2014-02-14 - 2018-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Congo, République démocratique du (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (20,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (20,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Planification familiale (13030) (20,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Médias et liberté de l'information (15153) (10,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Droits de la personne (15160) (20,00%)
• Infrastructure et services sociaux divers
Atténuation de l'impact social du VIH/sida (16064) (10,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (objectif significatif)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet contribue à l’amélioration de la santé maternelle, néonatale et infantile, ainsi qu’à la protection de l’enfance et la prévention des violences sexuelles et basées sur le genre, par son appui à la production et à la diffusion de feuilletons radiophoniques à l’échelle nationale. Ces radioromans fournissent des informations, des outils et des ressources afin d’inciter des changements sociaux, de sensibiliser et d’améliorer la santé et le bien-être des auditeurs. Les radios-romans utilisent des personnages et des situations reflétant la vie quotidienne et l’opinion générale de la population sur les enjeux sociaux et sanitaires. Réalisés dans les langues les plus parlées en République démocratique du Congo, ces radioromans atteignent des millions d’auditeurs par le biais du média le plus économique et de plus grande portée du pays. Le projet favorise les changements de comportement positifs vis-à-vis: de la vaccination des enfants et des femmes enceintes; des meilleures pratiques de nutrition des enfants; de l’utilisation appropriée des moustiquaires imprégnées d’insecticide; de l’espacement des naissances; du recul de l’âge du mariage et de la maternité; de l'enregistrement des naissances; des comportements positifs des femmes et des hommes en matière d'égalité des sexes; et de la prévention du VIH/sida.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) la population de la RDC acquiert des connaissances et adopte de nouvelles attitudes positives vis-à-vis des questions abordées dans les radioromans; 2) des comportements sains sont adoptés; 3) des services sont sollicités par les femmes, les enfants et les jeunes à travers la RDC sur les questions abordées dans les radioromans.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2017: 1) lancement du feuilleton radiophonique «Vivra Verra» en français (156 feuilletons écrits, 156 séries produites, 156 émissions diffusées); 2) lancement du feuilleton radiophonique «Elembo» en Lingala (156 émissions diffusées); 3) lancement du feuilleton radiophonique «Pambazuko» en Swahili (136 émissions produites, 120 émissions diffusées); 4) les auditeurs des séries Roman Vivra Vira et Elembo sont en moyennes deux à trois fois plus susceptibles à utiliser les moyens de planification familiale, à consulter un spécialiste en santé, et d’être sensibilisé à la prise de décision commune dans le foyer familial.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 79 935 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
31-03-2018 Déboursé 49 995 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Améliorer la vie des femmes et des enfants à l’aide des radio Romans - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: