Project profile — Support for School Feeding in the Sahel Region of Burkina Faso

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Support for School Feeding in the Sahel Region of Burkina Faso - Overview
CA-3-D000338001
$10,000,000
WFP - World Food Programme (XM-DAC-41140)
2014-04-21 - 2015-04-30
Closed
Country / region • Burkina-Faso (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Education
Primary education (11220) (50.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (50.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to increase access to primary education for 100,000 girls and boys per school year in primary schools in the Sahel region of Burkina Faso. The Sahel region is affected by recurrent malnutrition leading to high dropout rates. This region shows one of the lowest primary enrollment rates in Burkina Faso. The project aims to increase enrollment and retention of girls and boys in school by improving their nutritional health. The project also aims to strengthen the management capacity of the government and teachers to better support the National School Feeding Program. The main project activities include: i) distribute food rations (two meals per day) to students in targeted primary schools students in the Sahel region (to improve the nutritional health of students and allow them to be able to assimilate education and be more motivated to attend school); ii) increase the number of primary schools participating in the school feeding program; iii) develop a strategy to transfer the responsibility of the school feeding program to the Ministry of National Education and Literacy (MENA); iv) strengthen the technical knowledge of MENA in procurement, transportation, inventory management, ration calculation and monitoring and evaluation by training 200 staff members. This program is jointly implemented by the World Food Program and the MENA.

Expected results

Intermediate outcomes of this project include: i) the attendance and retention of girls and boys increase in primary schools of the Sahel region; ii) the education system in Burkina Faso provides a better access to universal primary education in the Sahel region.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of June 30th 2016 included: i) 4 466 tons of food were delivered for canteens in 955 schools of the Sahel region; ii) 126 100 primary students, among which 62 900 girls and 63 200 boys, received a breakfast and lunch every school day. Also, to encourage girl’s school attendance, 11 035 girls received monthly food rations to bring to their families. By doing so, in 2016 the project contributed to the significant increase in the percentage of girls enrolled and succeeding in primary school. Technical training was given to Burkinabe public servants to strengthen their capacities to manage school canteens.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Support for School Feeding in the Sahel Region of Burkina Faso - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WFP - World Food Programme
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui aux cantines scolaires dans la région du Sahel au Burkina Faso



Aperçu 

CA-3-D000338001
10 000 000 $
PAM - Programme alimentaire mondial (41140)
2014-04-21 - 2015-04-30
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Burkina Faso (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Éducation de base : Enseignement primaire (11220) (50,00%)
• Santé de base : Nutrition de base (12240) (50,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet vise à accroître l'accès à une éducation primaire pour 100 000 filles et garçons par année scolaire dans les écoles primaires de la région du Sahel au Burkina Faso. La région du Sahel est affectée par la malnutrition récurrente qui se traduit par de hauts taux d'abandon scolaire. Cette région rapporte ainsi l'un des plus bas taux de scolarisation primaire au Burkina Faso. Le projet vise à augmenter la fréquentation et la rétention des filles et des garçons à l'école en améliorant leur santé nutritionnelle. Le projet vise aussi à renforcer les capacités de gestion du gouvernement et des enseignants pour permettre une meilleure prise en charge du Programme national de cantines scolaires. Les principales activités du projet comprennent : i) distribuer des rations alimentaires (deux repas par jour) aux élèves des écoles primaires ciblées dans la région du Sahel (afin d'améliorer la santé nutritionnelle des élèves et leur permettre d'être capables d'assimiler l'enseignement et d’être plus motivés à fréquenter l'école); ii) élargir le nombre d'écoles primaires qui participent au programme de cantines scolaires; iii) développer une stratégie de transfert de responsabilité du programme de cantines scolaires au Ministère de l'Éducation nationale et de l'alphabétisation (MENA); iv) renforcer les connaissances techniques du MENA en achats, transport, gestion des stocks, calcul des rations et suivi et évaluation en formant 200 membres du personnel. Ce programme est mis en œuvre conjointement par le Programme alimentaire mondial et le MENA.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : i) la fréquentation et la rétention des filles et des garçons dans les écoles primaires sont accrues dans la région du Sahel; ii) le système éducatif du Burkina Faso offre un accès accru à l'éducation primaire universelle dans la région du Sahel.

Résultats atteints 

Entre autres progrès réalisés au 30 juin 2016: i) le projet a permis la livraison de 4 466 tonnes de vivre pour les cantines scolaires de 955 écoles de la région du Sahel; ii) 126 100 élèves du primaire, dont 62 900 filles et 63 200 garcons, ont reçu un petit déjeuner et un repas du midi à tous les jours d’école. Aussi, pour encourager leur présence à l’école, 11 035 filles ont reçu de façon mensuelle des rations alimentaires à apporter dans leurs familles. Ce faisant, en 2016, le projet a participé à l’augmentation significative du taux d’inscription et de réussite des filles à l’école primaire. Des formations ont renforcé les capacités des services publiques burkinabè en matière de gestion de cantines scolaires.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Date de modification :