Project profile — Analysis of the Impact of Tuberculosis in Mine-Workers' Communities of Origin

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Analysis of the Impact of Tuberculosis in Mine-Workers' Communities of Origin - Overview
CA-3-D000357001
$460,589
Clinton Health Access Initiative
2014-01-30 - 2015-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Swaziland (25.00%)
• Lesotho (25.00%)
• South Africa (25.00%)
• Zimbabwe (25.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Tuberculosis control (12263) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to increase knowledge on the impact of tuberculosis in mine-workers' communities of origin to ultimately reduce the spread of the disease. Given that rates of tuberculosis among miners are 20 to 30 times that of the average population (as of 2010), and given that miners are often migrant labourers, understanding the linkages between tuberculosis and the mining sector is key to stemming the spread of the disease overall. The project undertakes an analysis of the burden of tuberculosis in mine-workers' communities of origin, based on in-country data collection. This high-level, policy relevant analysis is key to making informed programming decisions and to mobilizing global resources. The analysis also outlines public-private partnership interventions which may be taken on by global health actors to address the challenge of tuberculosis in mining communities in a comprehensive fashion. The project has two phases: (1) consolidating available evidence and high-level analysis, and mapping ongoing efforts, identifying potential interventions; and (2) filling gaps with primary data, broadening the list of interventions, capturing best practices and estimating their potential costs.

Expected results

The expected immediate outcomes for this project include: (1) improved understanding of the impact of tuberculosis in the mining sector on communities in Southern Africa (Lesotho, South Africa, Swaziland and Zimbabwe); and (2) improved knowledge, which includes identifying and costing, of interventions to address the challenge of tuberculosis in affected communities.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of project (December 2014) include: (1) prepared analyses on the size, distribution and demographic profiles of the mining population in Lesotho, South Africa, Swaziland, and Zimbabwe, focusing on miners that have worked in South Africa over the past 40 years, the disease risks and burden in this population and key challenges and opportunities; (2) identified opportunities for intervention, designed, and in some cases piloted to improve management of tuberculosis in both domestic and migrant miners and a potential model for establishing a one-stop shop integrated with a public health facility was designed and costed; (3) identified key sub-populations that warrant particular attention and programming in the response to TB and mining, including ex-miners, undocumented workers, and women and children. These have contributed to increased knowledge on the impact of tuberculosis in mine-workers communities of origin to ultimately reduce the spread of the disease.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Analysis of the Impact of Tuberculosis in Mine-Workers' Communities of Origin - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Clinton Health Access Initiative
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Analyse de l'impact de la tuberculose sur les communautés d'origine de mineurs

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Analyse de l'impact de la tuberculose sur les communautés d'origine de mineurs - Aperçu
CA-3-D000357001
460 589 $
Clinton Health Access Initiative
2014-01-30 - 2015-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Swaziland (25,00%)
• Lesotho (25,00%)
• Afrique Du Sud (25,00%)
• Zimbabwe (25,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Lutte contre la tuberculose (12263) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à accroître les connaissances sur l'impact de la tuberculose dans les communautés d’origine des travailleurs miniers afin de réduire la propagation de la maladie. Étant donné que les taux de tuberculose chez les mineurs sont de 20 à 30 fois celui de la population en général (en date de 2010), et puisque les mineurs sont souvent des travailleurs migrants, la compréhension des liens entre la tuberculose et le secteur minier est essentielle pour enrayer la propagation globale de la maladie. Le projet procède à une analyse de l’incidence de la tuberculose dans les communautés d'origine des travailleurs miniers, à partir de collecte de données disponibles dans les pays ciblés. Cette analyse est fondamentale pour la prise de décision éclairée et la programmation pour la mobilisation des ressources mondiales. L'analyse identifie également des interventions de partenariat public-privé qui peuvent être prises par les acteurs mondiaux de la santé pour relever le défi de la tuberculose dans les communautés minières. Le projet comporte deux phases : 1) la consolidation de données disponibles et l'analyse de haut niveau, la cartographie des efforts en cours ainsi que l’identification des interventions possibles; 2) l’enrichissement des lacunes avec des données primaires, l'élargissement de la liste des interventions , capturant les meilleures pratiques et l'estimation de leurs coûts potentiels .

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats immédiats attendus de ce projet comprennent: 1) une meilleure compréhension de l'impact de la tuberculose dans le secteur de l'exploitation minière sur les communautés en Afrique australe (Afrique du Sud, Lesotho, Swaziland et Zimbabwe; 2) l'amélioration des connaissances, qui comprend l'identification et évaluation des coûts, des interventions pour relever le défi de la tuberculose dans les communautés touchées.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus au terme du projet (décembre 2014) : 1) des analyses ont été réalisées sur la taille, la distribution et le profil démographique de la population minière au Lesotho, en Afrique du Sud, au Swaziland et au Zimbabwe, avec un accent sur les mineurs ayant travaillé en Afrique du Sud ces 40 dernières années, sur les risques de maladie et la charge de morbidité parmi cette population ainsi que sur les enjeux clés et les principaux débouchés; 2) des possibilités d’intervention ont été trouvées, définies et, dans certains cas, ont fait l’objet de projets pilotes visant à mieux maîtriser la tuberculose parmi les mineurs de ces pays et les mineurs migrants, et un modèle possible pour la création d’un guichet unique, rattaché à un établissement de santé publique, a été conçu et les coûts y afférents ont été calculés; 3) d’importantes sous-populations qui nécessitent une attention particulière ont été identifiées et des programmes ont été élaborés pour lutter contre la tuberculose parmi la population minière, y compris les anciens mineurs, les travailleurs en situation irrégulière de même que les femmes et les enfants. Ces efforts ont permis de mieux comprendre les répercussions de la tuberculose sur les collectivités minières d’origine, de manière à réduire à terme la propagation de cette maladie.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Analyse de l'impact de la tuberculose sur les communautés d'origine de mineurs - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: