Project profile — United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) - Institutional Support 2014

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) - Institutional Support 2014 - Overview
CA-3-D000400001
$16,200,000
UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund (XM-DAC-41122)
2014-03-31 - 2015-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Europe, regional (3.00%)
• Africa, regional (70.00%)
• America, regional (3.00%)
• Asia, regional (24.00%)
Sector • Basic Education
Primary education (11220) (5.50%)
• Basic Education
Basic life skills for youth and adults (11230) (5.50%)
• Basic Education
Early childhood education (11240) (5.50%)
• Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (5.75%)
• Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (5.75%)
• Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (5.75%)
• Basic Health
Health education (12261) (5.75%)
• Basic Health
Malaria control (12262) (5.75%)
• Basic Health
Health personnel development (12281) (5.75%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (5.25%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Human rights (15160) (18.75%)
• Emergency Response
Material relief assistance and services (72010) (8.33%)
• Emergency Response
Emergency food aid (72040) (8.34%)
• Emergency Response
Relief co-ordination; protection and support services (72050) (8.33%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Youth Issues (principal objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This grant represents Canada’s institutional support to UNICEF. UNICEF uses these funds, along with other donors’ funding, to achieve its mandate. Guided by the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, UNICEF's mandate is to advocate for the protection of children's rights, to help meet their basic needs and to expand their opportunities to reach their full potential. UNICEF works to improve the social and economic conditions of children by seeking to ensure that all the children in the world have access to health care, clean water, food and education, are protected from violence and abuse, and receive relief in disasters. UNICEF works in over 155 countries and territories where it has acquired the respect and confidence of national authorities and partners. UNICEF's 2014-2017 Strategic Plan focuses on seven key priority areas: health; HIV/AIDS; water, sanitation and hygiene; nutrition; education; child protection; and, social inclusion. Cross-cutting themes include results-based management, gender equality, evaluation, human resources, humanitarian capacities and UN reform. UNICEF is a long-standing and trusted partner of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada and is governed by an Executive Board of 36 member states, of which Canada is a rotational member. UNICEF's global presence and its capacity to provide leadership on child-related priorities, including during the sudden onset of emergencies, largely depends on a strong and reliable core income base.

Expected results

The expected outcomes as stated by UNICEF include: (1) health - improved and equitable use of high-impact maternal and child health interventions from pregnancy to adolescence; (2) HIV and AIDS - improved and equitable use of HIV prevention and treatment interventions by children, pregnant women and adolescents; (3) water, sanitation and hygiene - improved and equitable access to and use of safe drinking water, adequate sanitation and healthy environments, and improved hygiene practices; (4) nutrition - improved and equitable use of nutritional support and nutrition and care practices; (5) education - improved learning outcomes, and equitable and inclusive education; (6) child protection - improved and equitable prevention of, and response to, violence, abuse, exploitation and neglect of children; and (7) social inclusion - improved policy environment and systems for disadvantaged and excluded children.

Results achieved

Results achieved by UNICEF through the support of the Government of Canada and other international donors include: (1) supported measles elimination and rubella control in 15 countries covering more than 160 million children; (2) procured 2.71 billion doses of vaccines for children in 100 countries; (3) supported 26 countries develop high-impact national HIV/AIDS strategies; (4) helped 13.8 million people access improved drinking water; (5) provided 18 million people in humanitarian situations access safe water; (6) helped 10,500 schools get new or upgraded WASH facilities; (7) supported 80 countries’ infant and young child feeding programmes; (8) increased the number of countries committed to the Scaling Up Nutrition movement by 10 countries for a total of 57; (9) helped 89 countries implement child-friendly education quality standards; (10) helped 8.6 million children in humanitarian situations have access to education; (11) supported 100 countries to provide free and universal birth registration services; (12) helped 4.5 million children out of child labour; and (13) assisted 101 countries integrate the recommendations of the Committee on the Rights of the Child into domestic legislation.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) - Institutional Support 2014 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Multilateral
Core contributions to multilateral institutions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (UNICEF) - Appui institutionnel 2014



Aperçu 

CA-3-D000400001
16 200 000 $
UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (41122)
2014-03-31 - 2015-03-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement

Pays / région 

• Afrique, régional (70,00%)
• Amérique, régional (3,00%)
• Asie, régional (24,00%)
• Europe, régional (3,00%)

Secteur 

• Enseignement primaire :
Enseignement primaire (11220) (5,50%)
Éducation pour une meilleure qualité de vie pour les jeunes et les adultes (11230) (5,50%)
Éducation de la petite enfance (11240) (5,50%)
• Soins et services de santé de base :
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (5,75%)
Nutrition de base (12240) (5,75%)
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (5,75%)
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (5,75%)
Lutte contre le paludisme (12262) (5,75%)
Formation de personnel de santé (12281) (5,75%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité : Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (5,25%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général : Droits de la personne (15160) (18,75%)
• Assistance matérielle et services d'urgence :
Assistance matérielle et services d'urgence (72010) (8,33%)
Aide alimentaire d'urgence (72040) (8,34%)
Coordination des secours et services de soutien et de protection (72050) (8,33%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Cette subvention représente le soutien institutionnel du Canada à l’UNICEF. Ce dernier utilise ces fonds ainsi que ceux octroyés par d’autres donateurs pour mener à bien son mandat. Guidé par la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l’enfant, l’UNICEF a pour mandat de défendre les droits des enfants, de contribuer à répondre à leurs besoins essentiels et de leur donner davantage de possibilités de réaliser leur plein potentiel. L’UNICEF œuvre pour améliorer les conditions sociales et économiques des enfants en veillant à ce qu’ils aient tous accès à des soins de santé, à de l’eau potable, à de la nourriture et à une éducation, à ce qu’ils soient protégés de la violence et des mauvais traitements, et à ce qu’ils reçoivent de l’aide en cas de catastrophes. L’UNICEF est présent dans plus de 155 pays et territoires, où il a acquis le respect et la confiance des autorités et des partenaires nationaux. Le Plan stratégique 2014-2017 de l’UNICEF se concentre sur sept grands secteurs prioritaires : la santé; le VIH/sida; l’eau, l’assainissement et l’hygiène; la nutrition; l’éducation; la protection de l’enfance; l’inclusion sociale. Les thèmes transversaux incluent notamment la gestion axée sur les résultats, l'égalite entre les sexes, l’évaluation, les ressources humaines, les capacités humanitaires et la réforme des Nations Unies. L’UNICEF est un partenaire de confiance de longue date d’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada et il est administré par un conseil d’administration de 36 États membres, dont le Canada est membre selon un cycle de rotation. La présence mondiale de l’UNICEF et sa capacité à faire preuve de qualités de chef de file relativement aux priorités liées aux enfants, y compris pendant des urgences soudaines, dépendent en grande partie d’un financement de base solide et fiable.

Résultats escomptés 

Parmi les résultats escomptés décrits par l’UNICEF : 1) santé – utilisation améliorée et équitable d’interventions à fort impact pour les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants de la grossesse à l’adolescence; 2) VIH/sida – utilisation améliorée et équitable d’interventions de prévention et de traitement du VIH chez les enfants, les femmes enceintes et les adolescents; 3) eau, assainissement et hygiène – utilisation améliorée et équitable de l’eau potable, de l’assainissement et des environnements sains ainsi que des pratiques d’hygiène améliorées et accès amélioré et équitable à ces éléments; 4) nutrition – utilisation améliorée et équitable de l’aide alimentaire et amélioration de la nutrition et des pratiques de soins; 5) éducation – résultats d’apprentissage améliorés et éducation équitable et inclusive; 6) protection des enfants – prévention et lutte élargies et équitables contre la violence, les mauvais traitements, l’exploitation et la négligence des enfants; 7) inclusion sociale – contexte et systèmes liés aux politiques améliorés pour les enfants défavorisés et exclus.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus par l’UNICEF grâce au soutien du gouvernement du Canada et d’autres donateurs internationaux, notons les suivants : 1) appui offert pour assurer l’éradication de la rougeole et le contrôle de la rubéole dans 15 pays et visant plus de 160 millions d’enfants; 2) fourniture de 2,71 milliards de doses de vaccins destinées à des enfants dans 100 pays; 3) soutien offert à 26 pays pour élaborer une stratégie nationale de lutte contre le VIH/sida à fort impact; 4) aide offerte à 13,8 millions de personnes pour avoir accès à une eau potable de meilleure qualité; 5) accès offert à de l’eau potable pour 18 millions de personnes dans des situations humanitaires; 6) aide offerte à 10 500 écoles pour obtenir des services d’eau, d’assainissement et d’hygiène nouveaux ou accrus; 7) soutien offert à des programmes d’alimentation des nourrissons et des jeunes enfants dans 80 pays; 8) hausse du nombre de pays (10) participant au Mouvement de renforcement de la nutrition pour rejoindre 57 pays; 9) aide offerte à 89 pays pour la mise en œuvre de normes de qualité favorisant l’éducation des enfants; 10) aide offerte à 8,6 millions d’enfants dans des situations humanitaires pour avoir accès à une éducation; 11) soutien fourni à 100 pays pour offrir des services gratuits et universels d’enregistrement des naissances; 12) aide offerte à 4,5 millions d’enfants pour enrayer le travail forcé chez les enfants; 13) aide offerte à 101 pays pour inscrire les recommandations du Comité sur les droits de l’enfant dans les lois nationales.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Multilatéral
Type d'aide Contributions aux budgets réguliers des institutions multilatérales
Date de modification :