Project profile — Support to the National Survey on Maternal and Child Health

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Support to the National Survey on Maternal and Child Health - Overview
CA-3-D000507001
$1,500,000
UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund (XM-DAC-41122)
2014-03-13 - 2016-06-30
Closed
Country / region • Guatemala (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to support the 6th National Survey on Maternal and Child Health in Guatemala, a key tool to influence decision-makers and support the formulation and monitoring of food security policies, programs and budgets by the government and donors. Guatemala's Ministry of Health and the National Statistics Institute lead the survey, with the technical support of UNICEF. Project activities include: (1) sharing information and analysis on food and nutrition security concerning children under five and men and women of reproductive age; (2) gathering information from women, men and households on their health and nutritional status, levels of mortality, fertility and reproductive patterns to highlight inequalities and determining factors, such as sex, age, location, urban-rural settlement, ethnicity, and education levels; and (3) supporting the Government of Guatemala to account to its citizens on the performance of the Zero Hunger Pact.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: improved monitoring and decision making on maternal and child health, food security and nutrition programming by public authorities based on comprehensive and accurate statistics with sex and age disaggregated data.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2016 include: (1) the National Survey on Maternal and Child Health team publicly presented a report on Basic Indicators that analysed 15 indicators directly related to the Millennium Development Goals (MDG) with the support of Canada, UNICEF and other donors (United States Agency for International Development, Sweden and Spain); and (2) the results from the report on Basic Indicators revealed that Guatemala has achieved the MDG goals in the reduction of under-five mortality rate, and showed that the country has made important progress toward the reduction of the under-one mortality rate, as well as important progress toward universal access to reproductive health; (4) the national survey has been important for the newly elected government that took office in January 2016, as it provides reliable and relevant information in order to coordinate and evaluate national policies, plans, budgets and strategies, mainly those related to maternal, newborn and child health, food security and nutrition.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Support to the National Survey on Maternal and Child Health - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui au sondage national sur la santé des mères et des enfants

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Appui au sondage national sur la santé des mères et des enfants - Aperçu
CA-3-D000507001
1 500 000 $
UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (XM-DAC-41122)
2014-03-13 - 2016-06-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Guatemala (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à appuyer la sixième enquête nationale sur la santé des mères et des enfants au Guatemala. Cette enquête est un outil important dans la mesure où ses résultats influent sur les processus décisionnels et sur la formulation et le suivi des politiques et des programmes en matière de sécurité alimentaire et l’établissement des budgets par le gouvernement et les donateurs. Le ministère de la Santé du Guatemala et l’Institut national de la statistique assurent la gestion de l’enquête avec le soutien technique de l’UNICEF. Diverses activités sont prévues dans le cadre de ce projet, notamment : 1) le partage de l’information et l’analyse des données relatives à la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle chez les enfants de moins de cinq ans et chez les hommes et les femmes en âge de procréer; 2) la cueillette d’information sur l’état nutritionnel et de santé des femmes, des hommes et des ménages, les niveaux de mortalité, la fertilité et les habitudes au chapitre de la reproduction en vue de mettre en évidence les inégalités et les facteurs déterminants (comme le sexe, l’âge, le lieu, l’établissement en milieu rural ou urbain, l’ethnicité et les niveaux d’éducation); 3) un appui au gouvernement du Guatemala (qui a conclu un pacte avec ses citoyens, le « Pacte faim zéro ») pour l’aider à remplir ses engagements.

Résultats escomptés

Parmi les résultats intermédiaires escomptés : une amélioration du processus décisionnel et du suivi par les autorités publiques de la programmation relative à la santé des mères et des enfants, à la sécurité alimentaire et à la nutrition (puisque les autorités disposent de statistiques précises et complètes et de données ventilées selon le sexe et l’âge).

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2016 : 1) l’équipe de l’Enquête nationale sur la santé maternelle et infantile a présenté au public un rapport sur les Indicateurs de base qui a analysé 15 indicateurs directement liés aux Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD) avec l'aide du Canada, de l'UNICEF et d'autres donateurs (Agence des États-Unis pour le développement international, la Suède et l'Espagne); 2) les résultats du rapport sur les Indicateurs de base ont révélé que le Guatemala a réalisé les objectifs de l’OMD en matière de réduction du taux de mortalité des moins de cinq ans, ont démontré que le pays a réalisé un progrès important vers la réduction du taux de mortalité des moins d'un an, ainsi qu'un progrès important vers l’accès universel à santé sexuelle; 3) l’enquête nationale a été très importante pour le gouvernement nouvellement élu en janvier 2016, puisqu’elle offre des renseignements fiables et pertinents visant à coordonner et à évaluer les politiques, les plans, les budgets et les stratégies nationaux, principalement ceux liés à la santé maternelle, la santé infantile et la santé des nouveau-nés, à la sécurité alimentaire et à la nutrition.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Appui au sondage national sur la santé des mères et des enfants - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: