Project profile — Rural Sanitation and Hygiene Market Development in Northern Ghana

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Rural Sanitation and Hygiene Market Development in Northern Ghana - Overview
CA-3-D000797001
$10,675,520
IDE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-3118893130)
2015-09-04 - 2020-10-31
Operational
Country / region • Ghana (100.00%)
Sector • Water And Sanitation
Basic drinking water supply (14031) (10.20%)
• Water And Sanitation
Basic sanitation (14032) (44.90%)
• Water And Sanitation
Waste management/disposal (14050) (7.65%)
• Banking And Financial Services
Education/training in banking and financial services (24081) (12.25%)
• Business And Other Services
Privatization (25020) (25.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to reduce the burden of sanitation-related diseases and improve public health for 300,000 people living in the Upper East, Northern and Upper West Regions of Ghana. The project seeks to improve the availability and sustained use of affordable home sanitation by introducing supply chain innovations in the sanitation and hygiene market. Working across 36 districts, the project aims to improve sanitation and hand hygiene behaviors for rural Ghanaians, who do not have access to improved sanitation in their homes. Project activities include: (1) conducting an initial market assessment in targeted areas, and designing tailor-made and sustainable sanitation solutions and sound sanitation business models; (2) local sanitation entrepreneurs producing and selling over 60,000 improved latrines to rural Ghanaians; (3) developing and delivering outreach and awareness activities to promote improved health through safe sanitation and hygiene practices; (4) providing technical resources and skills training to 150 new and existing sanitation entrepreneurs (small businesses) and government officials in delivering market-based sanitation services; and (5) developing financial mechanisms to facilitate the acquisition of improved latrines for families. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the project added the following activities aimed at limiting the spread of COVID-19: (1) installing 100 hand-washing stations in strategic public spaces; (2) engaging 100 monitors to ensure cleanliness of each station and raise awareness of users on how COVID-19 spreads; and (3) broadcasting of public service announcements on 25 radio stations across project areas.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased adoption of good sanitation and hygiene practices in rural communities in Ghana’s three northern regions to improve health (including maternal, newborn and child health); (2) increased capacity of commercial supply value chains to improve health outcomes through delivery of sanitation services; and (3) increased government capacity to support market-based approaches to sanitation.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2021 include: (1) provided support leading to the sale of 8,221 toilets (including 2,112 to women-led households) in 44 districts by Sama Sama, the brand created within the project to produce and market improved toilets; (2) improved access for 64,349 individuals to better sanitation in their houses; (3) supported Sama Sama in generating over 10 million GHS in incremental revenue for toilet business owners, approximately CAD 2.1 million (of which approximately CAD135,000 went to women); (4) supported Sama Sama’s successful in-house installment payment plan, which has proved critical to 5,028 households (of which 1,683 women-led) purchasing a toilet on installments. The majority of these individuals would have been denied loans through formal institutions; (5) supported women toilet business owners with business training to make them competitive in their businesses; (6) Rolled out COVID-19 Education radio campaign that was translated into six of the most common languages in area of operation; and (7) 63 public handwashing stations were installed to prevent the spreading of COVID-19.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Rural Sanitation and Hygiene Market Development in Northern Ghana - Related information
Related links
Partner website — IDE Canada
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Développement du marché de l’assainissement et de l’hygiène en milieu rural au Nord du Ghana



Aperçu 

CA-3-D000797001
10 675 520 $
IDE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-3118893130)
2015-09-04 - 2020-10-31
Actif
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Ghana (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Approvisionnement en eau potable - dispositifs de base :
Approvisionnement en eau potable - dispositifs de base (14031) (10,20%)
Assainissement - dispositifs de base (14032) (44,90%)
Traitement des déchets (14050) (7,65%)
• Banques et services financiers : Éducation/formation, banque et services financiers (24081) (12,25%)
• Entreprises et autres services : Privatisation (25020) (25,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet vise à réduire le fardeau des maladies liées à l'assainissement ainsi qu'à améliorer la santé de 300,000 habitants dans les régions du Nord-Est, du Nord et du Nord-Ouest du Ghana. Ce projet vise à améliorer la disponibilité et l'utilisation durable d’assainissement domestique abordable en introduisant des innovations dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement du marché de l'assainissement et de l'hygiène. Il cible 36 communautés pour y améliorer l’assainissement et les comportements liés à l’hygiène des mains des Ghanéens vivant en région rurale qui n’ont pas accès à de l’assainissement amélioré dans leurs maisons. Parmi les activités du projet : 1) procéder à une évaluation initiale du marché dans des régions ciblées, et mettre au point des solutions adaptées et durables ainsi que des modèles opérationnels judicieux en matière d’assainissement; 2) favoriser la production et la vente de plus de 60 000 latrines améliorées, par des entrepreneurs locaux dans le domaine de l’assainissement, aux Ghanéens en milieu rural; 3) élaborer et offrir des activités de sensibilisation visant à favoriser une meilleure santé au moyen de pratiques d’hygiène et d’assainissement sûres; 4) donner les ressources techniques et une formation axée sur les compétences à 150 entrepreneurs nouveaux et actuels dans le domaine de l’assainissement (petites entreprises) et fonctionnaires de l’État afin qu’ils puissent offrir des services d’assainissement axés sur le marché; 5) élaborer des mécanismes financiers adéquats visant à faciliter l’acquisition de latrines améliorées pour les familles. En réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19, le projet a ajouté les activités suivantes afin de limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 : (1) installation de 100 stations de lavage des mains dans des espaces publics stratégiques; (2) engager 100 moniteurs afin d’assurer la propreté de chaque station et de sensibiliser les usagers aux moyens de propagation de la COVID-19; et (3) diffusion de messages d’intérêt public sur 25 stations de radio à travers les régions cibles du projet.

Résultats escomptés 

Parmi les résultats escomptés dans le cadre de ce projet : 1) adoption de bonnes pratiques d’hygiène et d’assainissement dans les collectivités rurales de trois régions du Nord du Ghana afin d’améliorer la santé (y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants); 2) capacité accrue des chaînes d’approvisionnement et de valeur commerciales à améliorer les résultats en matière de santé grâce à la prestation de services d’assainissement; 3) capacité accrue du gouvernement de soutenir des approches axées sur le marché à l’égard de l’assainissement.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2021 : 1) soutien à la vente de 8 221 toilettes (dont 2 112 à des ménages dirigés par des femmes) dans 44 districts par Sama, l’entreprise qui produit et vend des toilettes améliorées; 2) amélioration de l’accès pour 64 349 personnes à un meilleur assainissement dans leurs maisons; 3) soutien à Sama pour générer plus de 10 millions de GHS de revenus supplémentaires pour les propriétaires de toilettes, soit environ 2,1 millions $CA (dont environ 135 000 $CA pour les femmes); 4) soutien au plan de paiement échelonné interne de Sama, qui s’est avéré essentiel pour 5 028 ménages (dont 1 683 dirigés par des femmes) achetant des toilettes par versements échelonnés. La majorité de ces personnes se seraient vu refuser des prêts par des établissements classiques; 5) soutien aux femmes propriétaires d’entreprises de toilettes par une formation commerciale visant à les rendre concurrentielles; 6) déploiement de campagnes éducatives sur la COVID-19 radiodiffusées traduites en six des langues les plus communes dans la région d’opération; 7) 63 stations publiques de lavage des mains ont été installées pour prévenir la propagation de la COVID-19.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :