Project profile — UNU - Institute for Water, Environment and Health - Institutional Support 2015-2020

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

UNU - Institute for Water, Environment and Health - Institutional Support 2015-2020 - Overview
CA-3-D000940001
$10,000,000
UNU-INWEH - United Nations University - Institute for Water, Environment and Health (XM-DAC-41134)
2015-05-14 - 2020-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Africa, regional (40.00%)
• America, regional (30.00%)
• Asia, regional (30.00%)
Sector • Water And Sanitation
Water sector policy and administrative management (14010) (15.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Water resources conservation (including data collection) (14015) (20.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Water supply - large systems (14021) (20.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Basic drinking water supply (14031) (25.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
River basins' development (14040) (5.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Education and training in water supply and sanitation (14081) (15.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Desertification (significant objective)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This grant represents Canada's institutional support to the United Nations University Institute for Water, Environment and Health (UNU-INWEH). UNU-INWEH uses these funds, along with other donors funding, to achieve its mandate. UNU-INWEH’s mandate is to contribute, through capacity development and directed research, to efforts to resolve pressing global water problems that are of concern to the United Nations, its member states and their peoples. UNU-INWEH is an international think-tank on water that aims to improve global water governance in developing countries through applied research and delivery of education and training services. Canada’s support to UNU-INWEH contributes to finding durable solutions to global water problems, with positive impacts on health, food security and nutrition.

Expected results

The expected outcomes as stated by UNU-INWEH include: (1) improved access to safe drinking water, hygiene, and adequate sanitation, particularly for women and children, in selected countries in Africa; (2) improved food and water security, more nutrition and economic return per drop, in threatened river basins in Asia and Africa; (3) increased deployment of innovative business models for safe and productive use of wastewater in key countries of Sub-Saharan Africa; (4) enhanced implementation and monitoring of water-related Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and targets by UN member states; (5) enhanced economic engagement of private sector in responding to water and land management through initiatives led by UNU-INWEH; (6) enhanced integrated water and ecosystem resource management, benefitting river basins and coastal areas in Latin America and Caribbean region; and (7) improved resilience of selected developing countries in Asia and Africa to respond to management challenges in dryland and mangrove ecosystems.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of December 2019 by UNU-INWEH through the support of the Government of Canada and other international donors include: (1) increased awareness and improved understanding of water, health and environment issues by policy-makers (especially in developing countries), United Nations entities, and the private sector by publishing over 125 publications and co-organizing 73 scientific events; and (2) improved water governance by responding to over 80 policy and technical advice requests from governments, and the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) Policy Support System in 24 national governments countries. These 24 governments are using this tool to analyze their national water and sanitation context, and improve decision and policy-making to achieve water-related SDGs. Additionally, UNU-INWEH provided leadership to the UN Water Action Decade by being a co-coordinator of the UN-Water Task Force that is guiding the Water Decade.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $2,000,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
11-04-2019 Disbursement $2,000,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

UNU - Institute for Water, Environment and Health - Institutional Support 2015-2020 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNU-INWEH - United Nations University - Institute for Water, Environment and Health
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Multilateral
Core contributions to multilateral institutions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — UNU - Institut pour l’eau, l’environnement et la santé - Appui institutionnel 2015-2020

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

UNU - Institut pour l’eau, l’environnement et la santé - Appui institutionnel 2015-2020 - Aperçu
CA-3-D000940001
10 000 000 $
UNU-INWEH - Université des Nations Unies - Institut pour l’eau, l’environnement et la santé (XM-DAC-41134)
2015-05-14 - 2020-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Afrique, régional (40,00%)
• Amérique, régional (30,00%)
• Asie, régional (30,00%)
Secteur • Eau et assainissement
Politique du secteur de l’eau et gestion administrative (14010) (15,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Préservation des ressources en eau (y compris collecte de données) (14015) (20,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Approvisionnement en eau - systèmes à grande échelle (14021) (20,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Approvisionnement en eau potable - dispositifs de base (14031) (25,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Aménagement de bassins fluviaux (14040) (5,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Éducation/formation dans la distribution d'eau et l'assainissement (14081) (15,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Désertification (objectif significatif)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Cette subvention représente le soutien institutionnel du Canada à l’Institut de l'Université des Nations Unies (UNU) pour l’eau, l’environnement et la santé (UNU-INWEH). L’Institut utilise ces fonds, ainsi que les fonds fournis par d’autres donateurs, pour remplir son mandat. L’Institut a pour mandat de contribuer, par l’intermédiaire du développement des capacités et de la recherche dirigée, aux efforts en vue de résoudre les problèmes pressants liés à l’eau dans le monde qui préoccupent les Nations Unies, ses États membres et leurs populations. L’Institut est un groupe de réflexion international sur l’eau qui cherche à améliorer la gouvernance globale de l’eau dans les pays en développement par le truchement de la recherche appliquée et de la prestation de services de formation et d’éducation. Le soutien du Canada à l’Institut contribue à trouver des solutions durables aux problèmes mondiaux liés à l’eau et il a des répercussions positives sur la santé, la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés (tels qu’énoncés par l’Institut) : 1) meilleur accès à de l’eau potable, à l’hygiène et à un assainissement adéquat, particulièrement pour les femmes et les enfants dans des pays africains sélectionnés; 2) meilleure sécurité alimentaire et sécurité de l’approvisionnement en eau et plus de nutrition et de retombées économiques par goutte d’eau dans les bassins fluviaux menacés en Asie et en Afrique; 3) déploiement accru de modèles d’affaires novateurs pour une utilisation sécuritaire et productive des eaux usées dans des pays clés d’Afrique subsaharienne; 4) amélioration de la mise en œuvre et du suivi des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) liés à l’eau et des cibles par les États membres des Nations Unies; 5) participation économique plus active du secteur privé en réponse à la gestion des terres et de l’eau à travers des initiatives menées par l’Institut; 6) amélioration de la gestion intégrée des ressources en eau et des ressources des écosystèmes au profit des bassins fluviaux et des zones côtières en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes; 7) capacités accrues de pays en développement sélectionnés d’Asie et d’Afrique à faire face aux défis liés à la gestion des écosystèmes des mangroves et des terres arides.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en décembre 2019 par l’UNU-INWEH avec l’aide du gouvernement du Canada et d’autres donateurs internationaux : 1) les décideurs (particulièrement des pays en développement), les organismes des Nations Unies et le secteur privé comprennent mieux les enjeux touchant l’eau, la santé et l’environnement et y sont davantage sensibilisés à la suite de la publication de plus de 125 documents et à l’organisation conjointe de 73 activités scientifiques; 2) une gouvernance de l’eau améliorée par la réponse à plus de 80 demandes de conseils stratégiques et techniques présentées par les gouvernements, et la mise en œuvre du système de soutien de politiques relatives aux objectifs de développement durable (ODD) auprès de 24 gouvernements nationaux. Ces 24 gouvernements utilisent l’outil pour analyser leur contexte national en matière d’eau et d’assainissement, et améliorer leur processus décisionnel et l’établissement de leurs politiques afin d’atteindre les ODD liés à l’eau. En outre, l’UNU-INWEH a fourni le leadership pour la Décennie d’action pour l’eau de l’ONU en agissant comme coordonnateur du groupe de travail d’ONU-Eau qui oriente la Décennie.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 2 000 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
11-04-2019 Déboursé 2 000 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

UNU - Institut pour l’eau, l’environnement et la santé - Appui institutionnel 2015-2020 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNU-INWEH - Université des Nations Unies - Institut pour l’eau, l’environnement et la santé
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Multilatéral
Contributions aux budgets réguliers des institutions multilatérales
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: