Project profile — Aboriginal People to Explore the World!

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Aboriginal People to Explore the World! - Overview
CA-3-D000987001
$231,193
Centre de Solidarité Internationaledu Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011133)
2015-05-22 - 2017-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Ecuador (45.32%)
• Burkina-Faso (53.61%)
• Senegal (1.07%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (37.10%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (12.40%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural extension (31166) (19.00%)
• Other Multisector
Rural development (43040) (31.50%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project is part of DFATD’s International Aboriginal Youth Internships (IAYI) initiative. The internships focus on increasing the awareness, engagement, and participation of Aboriginal youth in international development, while providing them with opportunities to expand their employment skills or further their education. The Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean initiative offers 16 internships for Aboriginals in three countries (Burkina Faso, Senegal and Equator) in the fields targeted by the eight local partners, namely ancestral knowledge, maternal health and nutrition, sustainable agriculture, valorisation and transformation of non-timber forest products, adaptation to climate change, environmental education, HIV/AIDS prevention, family planning and reproductive health. The project contributes to increasing male and female Aboriginal youth’s employability, providing them the skills and knowledge they need to secure employment or pursue their studies.

Expected results

Expected results include: (1) increased access by Canadian interns to Canadian labour market opportunities, including in the field of international development; and (2) increased engagement of Canadian interns as global citizens in supporting international development efforts in Canada and abroad.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2017 include: (1) 15 interns (7 female and 8 male) were recruited and sent abroad, four to Senegal and 11 to Ecuador; (2) the 15 interns stated that they were well trained on development-related issues, including environmental sustainability, governance and gender equality; and (3) 73 % of the interns stated that the skills acquired during the placement would help them enter the labour market.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $11,648
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
31-05-2017 Disbursement $9,881
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Aboriginal People to Explore the World! - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Donor country personnel
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Autochtones à la découverte du monde!

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Autochtones à la découverte du monde! - Aperçu
CA-3-D000987001
231 193 $
Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011133)
2015-05-22 - 2017-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Équateur (45,32%)
• Burkina-Faso (53,61%)
• Sénégal (1,07%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (37,10%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (12,40%)
• Agriculture
Vulgarisation agricole (31166) (19,00%)
• Autres multisecteurs
Développement rural (43040) (31,50%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet fait partie de l’initiative des Stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones (SIJA) du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement (MAECD). Ces stages visent à accroître la sensibilisation, l’engagement et la participation des jeunes Autochtones à l’égard du développement international, tout en leur donnant la chance d’élargir leurs compétences professionnelles. L’initiative du Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean permet l’envoi de 16 stagiaires Autochtones dans trois pays (Burkina Faso, Sénégal et Équateur) dans les domaines ciblés par huit partenaires locaux. Les secteurs d'interventions sont la valorisation des savoirs ancestraux, la santé maternelle et la nutrition, l'agriculture durable, la valorisation et la transformation des produits forestiers non-ligneux, l'adaptation aux changements climatiques, l'éducation relative à l'environnement, la prévention du VIH-Sida, la planification familiale et la santé reproductive. Le projet contribuera à augmenter l’employabilité des jeunes Autochtones femmes et homes, en leur permettant de développer des compétences et des connaissances qui les prépareront à obtenir un emploi ou à poursuivre leurs études.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) les stagiaires Autochtones (femmes et hommes) sont activement à la recherche de possibilités d’emploi ou d’études au Canada, y compris dans des domaines liés au développement international; 2) les stagiaires Autochtones (femmes et hommes), en tant que citoyens du monde, participent au soutien des efforts en matière de développement international au Canada et à l’étranger.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2017 : 1) 15 stagiaires (7 femmes et 8 hommes) ont été recrutés et déployés, quatre au Sénégal et onze en Équateur; 2) les 15 stagiaires affirment avoir bien été formés sur les enjeux liés au développement y compris la viabilité environnementale, la gouvernance et l'égalité entre les sexes; 3) 73 % des stagiaires affirment que les compétences acquises durant le stage favoriseront leur entrée sur le marché du travail.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 11 648 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
31-05-2017 Déboursé 9 881 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Autochtones à la découverte du monde! - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Personnel du pays donneur
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: