Project profile — ACIC International Youth Internship Program



Overview 

CA-3-D001001001
$708,965
Atlantic Council for International Cooperation (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011132)
2015-07-28 - 2017-03-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Intl Dev Partnerships & Operations

Country / region 

• Jamaica (15.00%)
• Uganda (10.00%)
• Gambia (9.00%)
• Bolivia (10.00%)
• Kenya (10.00%)
• Ghana (10.00%)
• Bhutan (14.00%)
• Haiti (11.00%)
• South Africa (11.00%)

Sector 

• Basic Education: Basic life skills for youth and adults (11230) (2.50%)
• Basic Health: Health education (12261) (12.00%)
• Reproductive health care:
Reproductive health care (13020) (7.50%)
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (7.50%)
• Public sector policy and administrative management:
Public sector policy and administrative management (15110) (5.00%)
Human rights (15160) (8.00%)
• Communication: Information and communication technology (ICT) (22040) (5.00%)
• Banking And Financial Services: Education/training in banking and financial services (24081) (7.50%)
• Agricultural development:
Agricultural development (31120) (15.00%)
Agricultural education/training (31181) (15.00%)
Livestock/veterinary services (31195) (5.50%)
• General Environmental Protection: Environmental education/training (41081) (7.00%)
• Developmental Food Aid/Food Security Assistance: Food aid/food security programs (52010) (2.50%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (significant objective)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

This project is part of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) International Youth Internship Program (IYIP), funded by the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy (YES). The IYIP contributes to the YES by providing a large spectrum of Canadian graduates with valuable international development work experience abroad, needed to launch successful careers. The Atlantic Council for International Cooperation offers 40 Canadian interns internships in nine countries: Bhutan, Bolivia, Gambia, Ghana, Haiti, Jamaica, South Africa, Kenya, and Uganda. The internships focus on increasing food security, stimulating sustainable economic growth and capacity-building. Interns assist in preparing educational and communications materials, facilitating and designing workshops, organizing events and managing projects.

Expected results 

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) increased access by Canadian interns (young men and women) to Canadian labour market opportunities, including in the field of international development; and (2) increased engagement of Canadian interns (young men and women) as global citizens in supporting international development in Canada and abroad.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2017) include: (1) 40 interns (31 female and 9 male) have been recruited and sent abroad for a six months internship in the following sectors: gender, food security, democracy, micro-finance and poverty-reduction, health and education. Prior to their departure, interns received training on multiple operational aspects, including health and safety, competencies of inter-culturally effective persons, culture shock and public engagement activities; (2) out of the 40 interns, 38 interns (30 female and 8 male) have successfully completed their internship and have contributed to the international development efforts of local partners; (3) upon their return to Canada, 35 interns (27 female and 8 male) participated in debrief and re-integration sessions. These sessions included how to share the experience with family, professional and community, identify and articulate intercultural competencies, and job search; (4) 38 interns facilitated public engagement activities in Canada, including workshops and talks facilitated with staff and volunteers of the Canadian organization; and presentations in high schools; and (5) at the end of their internship, 36 interns (28 female and 8 male) reported an increased level of confidence in their ability to secure employment post-internship. 21 interns have found a job, including 12 interns in the field of international development.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Donor country personnel
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes ACIC



Aperçu 

CA-3-D001001001
708 965 $
Conseil atlantique pour la coopération internationale (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011132)
2015-07-28 - 2017-03-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Jamaïque (15,00%)
• Ouganda (10,00%)
• Gambie (9,00%)
• Bolivie (10,00%)
• Kenya (10,00%)
• Ghana (10,00%)
• Bhoutan (14,00%)
• Haïti (11,00%)
• Afrique du Sud (11,00%)

Secteur 

• Éducation de base : Éducation pour une meilleure qualité de vie pour les jeunes et les adultes (11230) (2,50%)
• Santé de base : Éducation sanitaire (12261) (12,00%)
• Soins en matière de fertilité :
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (7,50%)
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (7,50%)
• Politiques publiques et gestion administrative :
Politiques publiques et gestion administrative (15110) (5,00%)
Droits de la personne (15160) (8,00%)
• Communications : Technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) (22040) (5,00%)
• Banques et services financiers : Éducation/formation, banque et services financiers (24081) (7,50%)
• Développement agricole :
Développement agricole (31120) (15,00%)
Éducation et formation dans le domaine agricole (31181) (15,00%)
Services vétérinaires (bétail) (31195) (5,50%)
• Protection de l'environnement, général : Éducation et formation environnementales (41081) (7,00%)
• Aide alimentaire à des fins de développement/aide à la sécurité alimentaire : Programmes de sécurité et d'aide alimentaire (52010) (2,50%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (objectif significatif)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Ce projet fait partie du Programme de stages pour les jeunes (PSIJ) du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement (MAECD), financé par la Stratégie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement du Canada, sous le volet Objectif carrière. Le PSIJ vise à offrir aux jeunes Canadiens titulaires d’un diplôme postsecondaire la possibilité d’acquérir une expérience professionnelle en participant au développement international, nécessaire pour amorcer une carrière réussie. Le Conseil atlantique pour la coopération internationale permet à 40 stagiaires canadiens d’intervenir dans neuf pays, soit au Bhutan, en Bolivie, en Gambie, au Ghana, en Haïti, en Jamaïque, en Afrique du Sud, au Kenya et en Ouganda. Les stages visent à augmenter la sécurité alimentaire, à stimuler la croissance économique de manière durable et à renforcer les capacités. Les stagiaires appuient la préparation de matériel éducatif et de communication, conçoivent et animent des ateliers, organisent des événements et gèrent des projets.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) Accès accru des stagiaires canadiens (femmes et hommes) aux possibilités qu’offre le marché du travail canadien, y compris dans le domaine du développement international. 2) Participation accrue des stagiaires canadiens (femmes et hommes), en tant que citoyens du monde, au soutien des efforts en matière de développement international au Canada et à l’étranger.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (mars 2017): 1) 40 stagiaires (31 femmes et 9 hommes) ont été recrutés et envoyés à l’étranger pour un stage de six mois dans les domaines suivants : égalité entre les sexes, sécurité alimentaire, démocratie, microfinance et réduction de la pauvreté, santé et éducation. Avant leur départ, les stagiaires ont reçu une formation sur divers aspects opérationnels, notamment la santé et la sécurité, les compétences caractérisant les personnes efficaces sur le plan interculturel, le choc culturel et les activités de sensibilisation du public; 2) des 40 stagiaires recrutés, 38 stagiaires (30 femmes et 8 hommes) ont complété leur stage et ont contribué aux efforts de développement international des partenaires locaux; 3) à leur retour au Canada, 35 stagiaires (27 femmes et 8 hommes) ont participé à des séances de débreffage et de réintégration. Ces séances traitaient, entre autres, des sujets suivants : comment parler de son expérience avec sa famille, les professionnels et la collectivité, cerner et définir les compétences interculturelles, recherche d’emploi; 4) 38 stagiaires ont organisé des activités de sensibilisation du public au Canada, y compris des ateliers et des discussions avec le personnel et les bénévoles de l’organisation canadienne, et des présentations dans des écoles secondaires; 5) à la fin de leur stage, 36 stagiaires (28 femmes et 8 hommes) ont dit avoir gagné de l’assurance quant à leur capacité à se trouver un emploi après le stage. 21 stagiaires se sont trouvé un emploi, dont 12 stagiaires en développement international.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Personnel du pays donneur
Date de modification :