Project profile — Youth interns with solidarity



Overview 

CA-3-D001039001
$535,107
Centre de Solidarité Internationaledu Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011133)
2015-07-29 - 2017-03-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Intl Dev Partnerships & Operations

Country / region 

• Senegal (35.00%)
• Burkina Faso (33.00%)
• Ecuador (32.00%)

Sector 

• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health: Family planning (13030) (16.50%)
• Agriculture: Agricultural extension (31166) (30.30%)
• Trade Policy And Regulations And Trade-Related Adjustment: Trade education/training (33181) (9.20%)
• General Environmental Protection: Environmental education/training (41081) (24.00%)
• Other Multisector: Rural development (43040) (20.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

This project is part of DFATD’s International Youth Internship Program (IYIP), which is within the Career Focus stream of the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy (YES). The IYIP is designed to offer young Canadian post-secondary graduates the opportunity to gain professional experience through international development work. The Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean is sending 30 young Canadians in three countries (Equator, Senegal and Burkina Faso) for six months. Fields of intervention are: urban agriculture; sustainable agriculture and animal husbandry; solidarity marketing; community health; school dropout prevention; HIV/AIDS prevention; family planning and reproductive health; rural development; non-timber forest product transformation; nutrition; climate change adaptation; and, sustainable management of natural resources.

Expected results 

Expected results include: 1) Increased access by Canadian interns to Canadian labour market opportunities, including in the field of international development; and, 2) Increased engagement of Canadian interns as global citizens in supporting international development efforts in Canada and abroad.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of March 2017 include: (1) 31 interns (21 female and 10 male) were recruited and sent abroad, 5 to Burkina Faso, 14 to Senegal and 12 to Ecuador; (2) the 31 interns stated that they were well trained on development-related issues, including environmental sustainability, governance and gender equality; (3) 11 local partners, out of 12, stated that they were satisfied with the work done by the interns; and (4) 28 interns are either employed or actively looking for employment, including 15 in the field of international development.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
16-06-2017 Disbursement $5,269
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Donor country personnel
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Jeunes stagiaires solidaires



Aperçu 

CA-3-D001039001
535 107 $
Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011133)
2015-07-29 - 2017-03-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Sénégal (35,00%)
• Burkina Faso (33,00%)
• Équateur (32,00%)

Secteur 

• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité : Planification familiale (13030) (16,50%)
• Agriculture : Vulgarisation agricole (31166) (30,30%)
• Politique commerciale et réglementations et ajustements lié au commerce : Éducation/formation dans le domaine du commerce (33181) (9,20%)
• Protection de l'environnement, général : Éducation et formation environnementales (41081) (24,00%)
• Autres multisecteurs : Développement rural (43040) (20,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Ce projet fait partie du Programme de stages pour les jeunes (PSIJ) du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement (MAECD), qui est lié au programme de Stratégie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement du Canada. Le PSIJ vise à offrir aux jeunes Canadiens, titulaires d’un diplôme postsecondaire, la possibilité d’acquérir une expérience professionnelle en participant au développement international. Le Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean permet l’envoi de 30 jeunes canadiens dans trois pays (Équateur, Sénégal et Burkina Faso) pour une durée de six mois. Les secteurs d'interventions sont l'agriculture urbaine, l'agriculture et l'élevage durable, la commercialisation solidaire, la santé communautaire, la prévention du décrochage scolaire, la prévention du VIH-Sida, la planification familiale et la santé reproductive, le développement rural, la transformation des produits forestiers non-ligneux, la nutrition, l'adaptation aux changements climatiques ainsi que la gestion durable des ressources naturelles.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) accès accru des stagiaires canadiens (femmes et hommes) aux possibilités qu’offre le marché du travail canadien, y compris dans le domaine du développement international; 2) participation accrue des stagiaires canadiens (femmes et hommes), en tant que citoyens du monde, au soutien des efforts en matière de développement international au Canada et à l’étranger.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2017 : 1) 31 stagiaires (21 femmes et 10 hommes) ont été recrutés et déployés, cinq au Burkina Faso, quatorze au Sénégal et douze en Équateur; 2) 31 stagiaires affirment avoir bien été formés sur les enjeux liés au développement y compris la viabilité environnementale, la gouvernance et l'égalité entre les sexes; 3) onze partenaires locaux sur douze affirment être satisfaits du travail réalisé par les stagiaires; 4) 28 stagiaires occupent un emploi ou sont en recherche active d’emploi, dont 15 dans le domaine du développement international.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
16-06-2017 Déboursé 5 269 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Personnel du pays donneur
Date de modification :