Project profile — Solidarité Union Coopération (SUCO) - IYIP Internships 2015-2017



Overview 

CA-3-D001052001
$534,733
SUCO-Solidarité Union Coopération (CA-CRA_ACR-3130650575)
2015-07-28 - 2017-05-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Intl Dev Partnerships & Operations

Country / region 

• Nicaragua (21.00%)
• Peru (20.00%)
• Honduras (20.00%)
• Senegal (21.00%)
• Mali (9.00%)
• Canada (9.00%)

Sector 

• Basic Health: Basic nutrition (12240) (8.67%)
• Government And Civil Society, General: Democratic participation and civil society (15150) (12.54%)
• Agricultural education/training:
Agricultural education/training (31181) (5.94%)
Agricultural services (31191) (63.85%)
• Unallocated/ Unspecified: Promotion of development awareness (99820) (9.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Trade development (significant objective)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

This project is part of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) International Youth Internship Program (IYIP), funded by the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy (YES). The IYIP contributes to the YES by providing a large spectrum of Canadian graduates with valuable international development work experience abroad, needed to launch successful careers. Solidarity Union Cooperation’s (SUCO) initiative provides 30 interns with the opportunity to work in four countries: Senegal, Peru, Honduras and Nicaragua. Interns work directly with 18 local partners through market gardening, marketing, education, business management, nutrition, rural entrepreneurship, social marketing, and organizational development activities.

Expected results 

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) increased access by Canadian interns (young men and women) to Canadian labour market opportunities, including in the field of international development; and (2) increased engagement of Canadian interns (young men and women) as global citizens in supporting international development in Canada and abroad.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2017) include: (1) 30 interns (25 female and 5 male) were recruited and sent abroad for a six-month placement to support SUCO’s local partners through activities in the areas of agricultural production, marketing, knowledge management, economic development, business management, communications, nutrition, rural entrepreneurship, social marketing and organizational development. The interns all received pre departure training, which focused on such things as international cooperation, health and safety, capacity building, and educating the public; (2) the interns carried out various activities to support SUCO’s local partners, including conducting a market study on cheese in four districts of the Ancash region (Peru), delivering training and workshops to develop the marketing abilities and knowledge of farmers, both men and women, in Santa Eulalia and Pachacamac (Peru), and providing training on food and meal preparation in Nicaragua; (3) all of the local partners stated that they had benefited from the interns’ field of expertise; (4) upon their return to Canada, 30 interns took reintegration training, which covered such things as the shock of returning home and readapting, personal and professional learning, career development, and finding a job; (5) outreach activities were conducted by 28 interns (24 female and 4 male) to encourage Canadians to get involved, including publishing articles, testimonials, success stories and photos on SUCO’s website and social networks; and (6) at the end of their placement, 27 interns (22 female and 5 male) indicated that they were more confident in their ability to find employment after the placement. 22 interns (17 female and 5 male) found a job in their field of studies, including 13 (11 female and 2 male) in international development.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Donor country personnel
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Solidarité Union Coopération (SUCO) - Stages PSIJ 2015-2017



Aperçu 

CA-3-D001052001
534 733 $
Dessau-Soprin incorporée (CA-CRA_ACR-3101365039)
- 2015-01-06
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Nicaragua (21,00%)
• Pérou (20,00%)
• Honduras (20,00%)
• Sénégal (21,00%)
• Mali (9,00%)
• Canada (9,00%)

Secteur 

• Santé de base : Nutrition de base (12240) (8,67%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général : Participation démocratique et société civile (15150) (12,54%)
• Éducation et formation dans le domaine agricole :
Éducation et formation dans le domaine agricole (31181) (5,94%)
Services agricoles (31191) (63,85%)
• Non affecté/Non spécifié : Sensibilisation au développement (99820) (9,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Ce projet fait partie du Programme de stages pour les jeunes (PSIJ) du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement (MAECD), financé par la Stratégie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement du Canada, sous le volet Objectif carrière. Le PSIJ vise à offrir aux jeunes Canadiens titulaires d’un diplôme postsecondaire la possibilité d’acquérir une expérience professionnelle en participant au développement international, nécessaire pour amorcer une carrière réussie. L’initiative de Solidarité Union Coopération (SUCO) affecte 30 stagiaires répartis dans quatre pays : Sénégal, Pérou, Honduras et Nicaragua. Les stagiaires travaillent directement auprès de 18 partenaires locaux à travers des activités en production maraîchère, commercialisation, pédagogie, gestion d’entreprise, nutrition, entreprenariat rural, marketing social, développement organisationnel.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) accès accru des stagiaires canadiens (femmes et hommes) aux possibilités qu’offre le marché du travail canadien, y compris dans le domaine du développement international; 2) participation accrue des stagiaires canadiens (femmes et hommes), en tant que citoyens du monde, au soutien des efforts en matière de développement international au Canada et à l’étranger.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (mars 2017): 1) 30 stagiaires (25 femmes et 5 hommes) ont été recrutés et envoyés à l’étranger pour effectuer un stage de six mois en vue d’appuyer les partenaires locaux de SUCO à travers des activités en production agricole, commercialisation, gestion des savoirs, développement économique, gestion d’entreprise, communications, nutrition, entrepreneuriat rural, marketing social et développement organisationnel. Les stagiaires ont tous reçu une formation pré-départ, portant notamment sur les thèmes suivants : la coopération internationale, la santé et la sécurité, le renforcement des capacités et l’éducation du public; 2) les stagiaires ont accompli diverses activités en vue d’appuyer les partenaires locaux de SUCO, dont une étude de marché sur le fromage réalisée dans quatre districts du département d'Ancash (Pérou); des formations et ateliers réalisés afin de développer les connaissances et les capacités en commercialisation des producteurs et productrices agricoles de Santa Eulalia et de Pachacamac (Pérou); et de formations sur l’alimentation et la préparation des repas réalisées au Nicaragua; 3) tous les partenaires locaux ont affirmé avoir bénéficié du champ d’expertise des stagiaires; 4) dès leur retour au Canada, 30 stagiaires ont suivi une séance de réintégration, incluant notamment le choc de retour et réadaptation, les apprentissages personnels et professionnels, le développement de carrière et la recherche d’emplois; 5) 28 stagiaires (24 femmes et 4 hommes) ont réalisé des activités de sensibilisation visant à favoriser la participation du public canadien, dont la publication d’articles, de témoignages, d’histoires à succès et de photos sur le site Web et les réseaux sociaux de SUCO; 6) à la fin de leur stage, 27 stagiaires (22 femmes et 5 hommes) ont indiqué avoir augmenté leur niveau de confiance dans leur capacité à se trouver un emploi après le stage. 22 stagiaires (17 femmes et 5 hommes) se sont trouvé un emploi dans leur domaine d'étude, dont 13 stagiaires (11 femmes et 2 hommes) en développement international.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Personnel du pays donneur
Date de modification :