Project profile — Improving Market Opportunities for Women Agricultural Producers

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Improving Market Opportunities for Women Agricultural Producers - Overview
CA-3-D001110001
$15,329,083
MEDA - Mennonite Economic Development Associates (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011098)
2015-03-20 - 2021-06-30
Closed
Country / region • Myanmar (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Public sector policy and administrative management (15110) (15.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Democratic participation and civil society (15150) (10.00%)
• Banking And Financial Services
Education/training in banking and financial services (24081) (30.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural inputs (31150) (5.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural education/training (31181) (10.00%)
• Industry
Small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) development (32130) (30.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Trade development (significant objective)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to increase women agricultural producer’s contribution to Myanmar’s economic growth. It works with local non-governmental organizations (NGOs), small and medium-sized enterprises, central and state governments, and financial institutions to increase access to credit, inputs, market linkages, and new technologies for women. The project also works directly with 25,000 women in Shan and Karen states to increase their income and status as economic actors and leaders in their communities. Project activities include: (1) providing training to women and men on gender equality and women in leadership principles; (2) linking women producers to savings groups; (3) mentoring women in leadership positions; (4) creating a capacity building program for local NGOs, enabling them to deliver market services to women producers; (5) providing matching grants to small and medium-sized enterprises for technology upgrades; and (6) designing new and improved financial products for women producers in partnership with financial institutions.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased income and status of women small producers as economic actors and leaders in their communities; and (2) strengthened provision of goods and services to women small producers by Myanmar public and private actors.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of September 2021 include: (1) benefited a total of 52,896 women clients through increased access to finance and markets, improved agricultural techniques and technology, new income opportunities and/or enhanced capacity to participate in decision-making ; (2) created 24,711 jobs for women in agriculture; (3) connected 6,186 women to village savings and loan associations or self-reliance groups, forming/strengthening a total of 339 groups and cumulatively mobilizing over $1.7 million in savings with over 20,000 loans; (4) increased market access for 6,644 women small producers, by connecting them with market actors and private sector partners such as lead firms, micro-, small- and medium-sized enterprises and rice millers; (5) provided sustainable agriculture training to more than 760 women lead farmers on topics such as seeds and seedlings, soil and land preparation, integrated pest management, post-harvest management, climate change adaption, water saving technologies, good agriculture practices and growing technologies; and (6) provided 14,145 women small producers with supports to improve agriculture practices through knowledge-sharing activities.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
12-08-2021 Disbursement -$101,671
12-08-2021 Disbursement $101,671
12-08-2021 Disbursement $161,671
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Improving Market Opportunities for Women Agricultural Producers - Related information
Related links
Partner website — MEDA - Mennonite Economic Development Associates
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Indo-Pacific
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Amélioration des possibilités commerciales pour les productrices agricoles

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Amélioration des possibilités commerciales pour les productrices agricoles - Aperçu
CA-3-D001110001
15 329 083 $
MEDA - Mennonite Economic Development Associates (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011098)
2015-03-20 - 2021-06-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Myanmar (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Politiques publiques et gestion administrative (15110) (15,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Participation démocratique et société civile (15150) (10,00%)
• Banques et services financiers
Éducation/formation, banque et services financiers (24081) (30,00%)
• Agriculture
Produits à usage agricole (31150) (5,00%)
• Agriculture
Éducation et formation dans le domaine agricole (31181) (10,00%)
• Industries manufacturières
Développement des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) (32130) (30,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (objectif significatif)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à faire en sorte que les productrices agricoles contribuent davantage à la croissance économique du Myanmar. Le projet est mis en œuvre en collaboration avec des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG), des petites et moyennes entreprises, des gouvernements central et d’états et des institutions financières, à l’échelle locale, dans le but d’aider les femmes à avoir un meilleur accès au crédit, aux facteurs de production, aux marchés et aux nouvelles technologies. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on travaille aussi directement avec 25 000 femmes dans les États de Shan et de Karen, en vue d’améliorer leur revenu et leur position en tant qu’agentes économiques et chefs de file dans leurs collectivités. Parmi les activités du projet, mentionnons les suivantes : 1) offrir de la formation à des femmes et à des hommes sur les principes associés à l’égalité entre les sexes et au leadership exercé par les femmes; 2) établir une liaison entre les productrices et des groupes d’épargne; 3) offrir des services de mentorat à des femmes ayant un rôle de direction; 4) mettre sur pied un programme de renforcement des capacités à l’intention des ONG locales, pour leur permettre d’offrir aux productrices des services relatifs au marché; 5) accorder des subventions de contrepartie à des petites et moyennes entreprises pour la mise à niveau des outils technologiques; 6) concevoir des produits financiers nouveaux ou améliorés à l’intention des productrices, en partenariat avec des institutions financières.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) meilleur revenu des petites productrices agricoles et position améliorée de ces dernières en tant qu’agentes économiques et chefs de file dans leurs collectivités; 2) fourniture améliorée de biens et de services aux petites productrices agricoles par les intervenants myanmarais des secteurs public et privé.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en septembre 2021 : 1) un total de 52 896 femmes clientes ont bénéficié d’un meilleur accès aux financements et aux marchés, de techniques et technologies agricoles améliorées, de nouvelles possibilités de revenus ou d’une capacité accrue à participer à la prise de décision; 2) 24 711 emplois ont été créés pour les femmes dans le secteur agricole; 3) 6 186 femmes ont été mises en relation avec des associations villageoises d’épargne et de crédit ou à des groupes d’aide à l’autosuffisance, ce qui a permis de formé/renforcé un total de 339 groupes et de mobiliser cumulativement plus de 1,7 million de dollars d’épargne grâce à plus de 20 000 prêts; 4) le projet a permis d’améliorer l’accès au marché pour 6 644 petites productrices, en les mettant en relation avec des acteurs du marché et des partenaires du secteur privé tels que des entreprises chefs de file, des micro-entreprises, des petites et moyennes entreprises et des préparateurs de riz; 5) fourni une formation en agriculture durable à plus de 760 agricultrices chefs de file sur des sujets tels que les semences et les semis, la préparation du sol et de la terre, la lutte antiparasitaire intégrée, la gestion après récolte, l’adaptation aux changements climatiques, les technologies d’économie d’eau, les bonnes pratiques agricoles et les technologies de culture; 6) fourni à 14 145 petites productrices un soutien pour améliorer les pratiques agricoles par l’intermédiaire d’activités de partage des connaissances.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
12-08-2021 Déboursé (101 671 $)
12-08-2021 Déboursé 101 671 $
12-08-2021 Déboursé 161 671 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Amélioration des possibilités commerciales pour les productrices agricoles - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Site web du partenaire — MEDA - Mennonite Economic Development Associates
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: