Project profile — Budgetary Support to the Plan for an Emerging Senegal

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Budgetary Support to the Plan for an Emerging Senegal - Overview
CA-3-D001661001
$49,212,659
Government of Senegal - Ministry of Economy and Finance
2016-02-11 - 2022-08-18
Closed
Country / region • Senegal (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (20.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Public finance management (15111) (30.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural policy and administrative management (31110) (45.00%)
• Mineral Resources And Mining
Mineral/mining policy and administrative management (32210) (5.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (principal objective)
• Trade development (significant objective)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The goal of the project is to support the Government of Senegal in carrying out the Plan Sénégal Émergent, the national social and economic development strategy, which aims to make Senegal an emerging country by 2035. In accordance with the Plan Sénégal Émergent, Canada supports Senegal’s reform efforts, which will improve government performance, specifically, financial administration and the governance of various sectors that are vital to the country’s growth, including agriculture, nutrition, and gender equality. Activities under the project include (1) support for the Senegalese government to develop and implement public policies, streamlined processes and tax incentives to stimulate growth in the agricultural and extractive sectors; (2) development and implementation of a national strategy to promote food security and nutrition; (3) development of instruments to effectively manage public spending; and (4) technical assistance in the form of advice, training and equipment for government employees. As with all budget support initiatives, Canada works in close cooperation with other donors and the Senegalese government to promote the accountability, transparency and effectiveness of national systems, to increase donor coordination and harmonization and to strengthen mutual accountability. This type of support also favours greater policy dialogue among donors, the government and partners, which in turn strengthens efforts to provide focused and effective aid, and to obtain long-term development results. Continuous monitoring and evaluation of this project is undertaken together with other donors.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include (1) the institutional framework that fosters a business environment favourable to private investment in the Plan Sénégal Émergent’s key economic sectors is strengthened and incorporates gender equality considerations and respect for the environment; (2) the institutional framework that supports food security and nutrition is strengthened and incorporates gender equality and environmental issues; (3) capabilities are strengthened in public policy planning, monitoring, implementation and evaluation, including in terms of gender equality and the environment, and in external government auditing.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2020) include: (1) publication and dissemination of the sixth report on the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative; (2) a draft finance bill submitted to the Senegalese National Assembly. This draft bill meets the standards applicable to public financial management reforms; (3) the increase in the number of audit staff at the Court of Accounts (magistrates and audit assistants) and the regular publication of annual public reports on the audits carried out by the Court of Accounts. In addition, the recruitment of women for magistrate positions by the Court of Accounts has been promoted and institutionalized; (4) initiated the implementation of the nutrition action plan of the Ministry of National Education. The solutions adopted have ensured transparency, equity and traceability in the process of transferring agricultural inputs subsidized by the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Equipment; (5) taking gender into account in the implementation of the PES by strengthening the capacity of the gender units of the sectoral ministries (e.g., budget allocation, support for the development of budgeted work plans, training on the collection and processing of gender-sensitive data) and the production of an annual report on gender-related PES results; and (6) supported the implementation of the Government of Senegal's Economic and Social Resilience Plan to mitigate the negative impacts of the health crisis caused by COVID-19 on the populations. This plan has strengthened food security for the most vulnerable populations, particularly women (1,097,800 households of which more than 50 percent are headed by women), and has supported Senegalese businesses impacted by COVID-19, including 711 economic units headed by women in the informal sector.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Budgetary Support to the Plan for an Emerging Senegal - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
General budget support
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui budgétaire au Plan Sénégal Émergent

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Appui budgétaire au Plan Sénégal Émergent - Aperçu
CA-3-D001661001
49 212 659 $
Gouvernement du Sénégal - Ministère de l'Économie et des Finances
2016-02-11 - 2022-08-18
Fermé
Pays / région • Sénégal (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (20,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Gestion des finances publiques (15111) (30,00%)
• Agriculture
Politique agricole et gestion administrative (31110) (45,00%)
• Industries extractives
Politique de l'industrie extractive et gestion administrative (32210) (5,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif principal)
• Développement du commerce (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à appuyer le gouvernement du Sénégal dans la réalisation du Plan Sénégal Émergent, la stratégie nationale de développement social et économique, qui vise à faire du Sénégal un pays émergent d’ici 2035. Conformément aux priorités du Plan Sénégal Émergent, le Canada soutient les efforts de réformes au Sénégal qui permettront d’améliorer la performance de l’administration publique, en particulier en matière de gestion des finances publiques, et la gouvernance des secteurs déterminants pour la croissance du pays, dont l’agriculture, la nutrition, et l'égalité entre les sexes. Parmi les activités du projet : 1) appuyer le gouvernement du Senegal dans l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre des politiques publiques, des processus simplifiés et des incitatifs fiscaux pour stimuler la croissance dans le secteur agricole; 2) élaborer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie nationale pour favoriser la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition; 3) développer des instruments pour effectuer une gestion efficace des dépenses publiques; 4) offrir une assistance technique afin de fournir des conseils, de la formation et du matériel aux employés des administrations publiques. Comme c’est le cas pour tous les projets d’appui budgétaire, le Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec d’autres bailleurs de fonds et le gouvernement du Sénégal pour favoriser la responsabilisation, la transparence et l’efficacité des systèmes nationaux; accroitre la coordination et l’harmonisation entre les donateurs et renforcer la responsabilité mutuelle. Il favorise également un plus grand dialogue sur les politiques parmi les donateurs, le gouvernement et les partenaires, ce qui contribue à renforcer les efforts déployés pour fournir une aide ciblée et efficace et obtenir des résultats de développement à long terme. Le suivi et l’évaluation continus de ce projet sont réalisés de concert avec d’autres donateurs.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) le cadre institutionnel qui favorise un environnement des affaires propice aux investissements privés dans les secteurs économiques clés du Plan Sénégal Émergent est renforcé et intègre les considérations d’égalité entre les sexes et le respect de l'environnement; 2) le cadre institutionnel favorisant la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition est renforcé et intègre les questions d'égalité entre les sexes et d'environnement; 3) les capacités de planification, de suivi, d'exécution et d'évaluation des politiques publiques, incluant en matière d'égalité entre les sexes et d'environnement, ainsi que de vérification externe du gouvernement sont renforcées.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (mars 2020) : 1) la publication et la dissémination du sixième rapport sur l’Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives; 2) projet de loi de finances soumis à l’Assemblée nationale du Sénégal. Ce projet de loi répond aux normes applicables aux réformes en matière de gestion des finances publiques; 3) l’augmentation des effectifs du personnel de contrôle de la Cour des comptes (magistrats et assistants de vérification) et la publication régulière des rapports annuels publics sur les vérifications faites par la Cour des comptes. Par ailleurs, le recrutement de femmes aux postes de magistrats par la Cour des comptes a été promu et institutionnalisé; 4) entamé la mise en exécution du plan d’action en nutrition du ministère de l’Éducation nationale. Les solutions retenues ont assuré la transparence, l’équité et la traçabilité du processus de transfert des intrants agricoles subventionnés par le ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Équipement rural; 5) la prise en compte du genre dans la mise en œuvre du PSE en renforçant la capacité des cellules genre des ministères sectoriels (par ex : dotation budgétaire, appui à l’élaboration de plans de travail budgétisés, formation sur la collecte et le traitement des données sensibles au genre) et la production d’un rapport annuel des résultats du PSE reliés au genre; 6) soutenu la mise en œuvre du Plan de résilience économique et sociale du gouvernement du Sénégal pour amoindrir les impacts négatifs de la crise sanitaire causée par la COVID-19 sur les populations. Ce plan a renforcé la sécurité alimentaire des populations les plus vulnérables en particulier les femmes (1 097 800 ménages dont plus de 50 % sont dirigés par des femmes) et a soutenu les entreprises sénégalaises impactées par la COVID-19, incluant 711 unités économiques dirigées par des femmes dans le secteur informel.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Appui budgétaire au Plan Sénégal Émergent - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Gouvernement du Sénégal - Ministère de l'Économie et des Finances
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Soutien budgétaire général
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: