Project profile — Scaling Her Voice on Air in Burkina Faso, Ghana, Mali and Senegal

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Scaling Her Voice on Air in Burkina Faso, Ghana, Mali and Senegal - Overview
CA-3-D001692001
$5,408,854
Farm Radio International (CA-CRA_ACR-3118884808)
2018-03-23 - 2022-09-30
Operational
Country / region • Burkina-Faso (28.10%)
• Mali (28.10%)
• Ghana (10.00%)
• Senegal (28.10%)
• Tanzania (0.90%)
• Kenya (0.90%)
• Nigeria (0.90%)
• Malawi (0.90%)
• Ethiopia (0.90%)
• Uganda (0.90%)
• Africa, regional (0.30%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (18.20%)
• Basic Health
Health education (12261) (18.20%)
• Health
COVID-19 control (12264) (9.20%)
• Agriculture
Food crop production (31161) (27.20%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural extension (31166) (27.20%)
Policy marker • Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (principal objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

A fundamental rural development need in Burkina Faso, Ghana, Mali and Senegal is the lack of relevant, gender-responsive and timely information, communication and extension services for small-scale farmers (women, men and youth). To address this issue, Farm Radio International (FRI) aims to scale up interactive rural radio in 17 regions of Burkina Faso, Mali, Senegal and Ghana, reaching 61 radio stations and engaging at least 70 stakeholder groups including farmer-based and women’s organizations. Project activities include: (1) providing relevant, timely and gender-responsive information on: effective, climate-smart agriculture; climate adaptation; gender-equality; and improved nutritional practices; (2) deepening knowledge exchanges between women, poor, and vulnerable small-scale farmers in rural areas to identify and address their respective needs using mobile tools; and (3) strengthening evidence-based decision at the community level and provide stakeholder groups with access to compiled outcome data on food-security, agriculture and gender-equality. It is expected that this project impacts up to 7.3 million small-scale farmers, including an estimated 2.3 million women small-scale farmers in the four targeted countries. Farm Radio International implements this project in partnership with FRI-Burkina Faso, FRI-Mali, FRI-Senegal, FRI-Ghana and CECI/Uniterra (Senegal).

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased use of interactive radio by radio stations and key stakeholders groups as a sustainable gender-responsive platform for quality information, communication and knowledge; (2) increased application of good agriculture and nutrition practices by small-scale women, men and youth farmers using interactive radio; and (3) increased application of gender transformative practices by rural men, women and youth using interactive radio in relation to family food security.

Results achieved

The results achieved as of March 2021 include: (1) 46 radio stations offer quality Interactive Radio (IR) services (out of 49), compared to a target of 61; (2) an average of 93% of 46 broadcasters and 94% of 353 stakeholders, compared to a target of 80%, consider the platforms to be sustainable and effective; (3) 49 radio stations (12 in Burkina Faso, 17 in Ghana, 14 in Mali and 6 in Senegal) provide quality IR services; (4) 92% of stakeholders believe that the role of IR platforms is important in facilitating the scaling up of improved and gender transformative practices; (5) 43 radio resources, including 22 related to gender equality for the fight and prevention of COVID-19, produced and distributed to 1000 radio stations in 41 countries of sub-Saharan Africa; (6) provision of emergency funds to radio stations in order to continue their work of fact-checking and dissemination of quality information on COVID-19 to 156 radio stations, 67 of which have a gender parity in their staff.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $357,037
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
09-06-2022 Disbursement $48,550
09-06-2022 Disbursement $38,308
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Scaling Her Voice on Air in Burkina Faso, Ghana, Mali and Senegal - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Farm Radio International
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Voix de femmes à grande échelle au Burkina Faso, au Ghana, au Mali et au Sénégal

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Voix de femmes à grande échelle au Burkina Faso, au Ghana, au Mali et au Sénégal - Aperçu
CA-3-D001692001
5 408 854 $
Radios rurales internationales (CA-CRA_ACR-3118884808)
2018-03-23 - 2022-09-30
Actif
Pays / région • Burkina-Faso (28,10%)
• Mali (28,10%)
• Ghana (10,00%)
• Sénégal (28,10%)
• Tanzanie (0,90%)
• Kenya (0,90%)
• Nigéria (0,90%)
• Malawi (0,90%)
• Éthiopie (0,90%)
• Ouganda (0,90%)
• Afrique, régional (0,30%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (18,20%)
• Santé de base
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (18,20%)
• Santé
Contrôle du COVID-19 (12264) (9,20%)
• Agriculture
Production agricole (31161) (27,20%)
• Agriculture
Vulgarisation agricole (31166) (27,20%)
Marqueur politique • Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

L’un des besoins fondamentaux sur le plan du développement rural au Burkina Faso, au Ghana, au Mali et au Sénégal concerne le manque de services d’information, de communication et d’extension pertinents, visant l’égalité entre les sexes et rapides, pour les petits exploitants agricoles femmes, hommes et jeunes. Dans le but de répondre à ce besoin, l’organisme Radios rurales internationales (RRI) entend accroître les services de radio rurale interactive dans 17 régions au Burkina Faso, au Mali, au Sénégal et au Ghana, de façon à joindre 61 stations de radio et à mobiliser au moins 70 groupes d’intervenants, y compris des organisations d’agriculteurs et de femmes. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) fournir en temps opportun de l’information pertinente visant l’égalité entre les sexes sur les pratiques agricoles efficaces en fonction du climat; l’adaptation au climat; l’égalité entre les sexes; les meilleures pratiques nutritionnelles; 2) approfondir le partage des connaissances entre les femmes, les pauvres et les petits exploitants agricoles en zones rurales pour cerner leurs besoins au moyen d’outils mobiles et répondre à ces besoins; 3) renforcer la prise de décisions fondées sur des éléments probants au niveau communautaire et donner accès aux groupes d’intervenants à des données compilées sur la sécurité alimentaire, l’agriculture et l’égalité entre les sexes. Il est attendu que ce projet touche jusqu’à 7,3 millions de petits exploitants agricoles, dont environ 2,3 millions de femmes, dans les quatre pays ciblés. Radios rurales internationales met ce projet en œuvre en partenariat avec RFI-Burkina Faso, RFI-Mali, RFI-Sénégal, FRI-Ghana et le CECI/Uniterra (Sénégal).

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) utilisation accrue de la radio interactive par les stations de radio et les principaux groupes d’intervenants en tant que tribune visant l’égalité entre les sexes pour une information, une communication et des connaissances de qualité; 2) application accrue, grâce à la radio interactive, de bonnes pratiques en matière d’agriculture et de nutrition par des petits exploitants agricoles femmes, hommes et jeunes; 3) application accrue, grâce à la radio interactive, des pratiques sexotransformatrices par les hommes, les femmes et les jeunes en milieu rural en ce qui a trait à la sécurité alimentaire pour la famille.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2021 : 1) 46 stations de radio offrent des services de Radio Interactif (RI) de qualité (cumulatif de 49), comparé à une cible de 61; 2) une moyenne de 93 % de 46 radiodiffuseurs et 94 % de 353 parties prenantes, comparé à une cible de 80%, considèrent que les plateformes sont durables et efficaces; 3) 49 stations de radio (12 au Burkina Faso, 17 au Ghana, 14 au Mali et 6 au Sénégal) offrent des services de RI de qualité; 4) 92 % des parties prenantes estiment que le rôle des plateformes de RI est important pour faciliter la mise à l’échelle de pratiques améliorées et sexotransformatrices; 5) la production de 43 ressources radiophoniques, dont 22 liées à la l’égalité des genres pour la lutte et la prévention de la COVID-19, distribuées à 1000 stations de radios dans 41 pays d’Afrique subsaharienne; 6) la fourniture des fonds d’urgence à des stations de radios afin de continuer leur travail de vérification des faits et de diffusion d’informations de qualité sur la COVID-19 à 156 stations de radio, dont 67 avaient une parité hommes-femmes.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 357 037 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
09-06-2022 Déboursé 48 550 $
09-06-2022 Déboursé 38 308 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Voix de femmes à grande échelle au Burkina Faso, au Ghana, au Mali et au Sénégal - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Radios rurales internationales
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: