Project profile — Strengthening Health Systems and Services in Bangladesh

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Strengthening Health Systems and Services in Bangladesh - Overview
CA-3-D002111001
$30,000,000
IBRD Trust Funds - World Bank (44001)
2018-07-25 - 2023-07-25
Operational
Country / region • Bangladesh (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (5.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (15.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health infrastructure (12230) (5.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Health education (12261) (12.00%)
• Basic Health
Health personnel development (12281) (5.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (15.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Family planning (13030) (13.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (15.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Ending violence against women and girls (15180) (5.00%)
Policy marker • Disability Issues (significant objective)
• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (principal objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (principal objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
Description and results

Description

This project contributes to reducing maternal and child mortality rates and promoting gender equality through the provision of sexual and reproductive health and rights services. It particularly benefits over 14 million women, adolescents and children in two regions, Sylhet and Chittagong, including Cox’s Bazar district, where unmet needs are most significant. It also supports fiduciary oversight and accountability of the government’s health program, and strengthens financial and procurement management and efficiency of delivery systems. Project activities include: (1) providing maternal health care services, post-partum family planning and emergency obstetric care; (2) provide immunization for children and nutrition for infants and mothers; (3) provide services relateed to school based adolescent health and nutrition, family planning and sexual and reproductive health; and (4) budget planning, asset and procurement management.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) strengthened Ministry of Health and Family Welfare systems that contribute to improving health service delivery; (2) inclusive, efficient and equitable gender-responsive essential health, sexual and reproductive health and nutrition services that meet the needs of girls and boys, women and men; and (3) strengthened and more transparent financial management and audit systems that reduce the financial and fiduciary risks in the health sector program.

Results achieved

Results achieved by the World Bank through the support of the Government of Canada and other international donors as of December 2018 include: (1) 325,890 deliveries were conducted by skilled birth attendants, and 231,215 mothers with non-institutional deliveries received post-natal care from a medically trained provider within 2 days of delivery; (2) 139,665 forms of new Tuberculosis (TB) cases were notified; (3) 99.5% of the annual target was achieved for the immunization of children for measles and rubella in four districts of the Sylhet Division, and 97.8% of the annual target was attained in 11 districts of the Chattogram Division; (4) 20% of hospitals/health facilities were constructed/renovated to make them more gender- and disability-friendly ; and (5) 1,450 family welfare assistants, health assistants and sub-assistant community medical officials completed sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) training.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $7,000,000
Planned Disbursement $7,000,000
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
27-07-2020 Disbursement $7,000,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Strengthening Health Systems and Services in Bangladesh - Related information
Related links
Partner website — IBRD Trust Funds - World Bank
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Asia
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Basket funds/pooled funding
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcement des systèmes et des services de santé au Bangladesh

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Renforcement des systèmes et des services de santé au Bangladesh - Aperçu
CA-3-D002111001
30 000 000 $
Fonds fiduciaires BIRD - Banque mondiale (XM-DAC-44001)
2018-07-25 - 2023-12-31
Actif
Pays / région • Bangladesh (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (5,00%)
• Santé de base
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (15,00%)
• Santé de base
Infrastructure pour la santé de base (12230) (5,00%)
• Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (12,00%)
• Santé de base
Formation de personnel de santé (12281) (5,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (15,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Planification familiale (13030) (13,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (15,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles (15180) (5,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (objectif significatif)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet contribue à réduire les taux de mortalité maternelle et infantile ainsi qu’à promouvoir l’égalité des sexes par la prestation de services de santé et de droits sexuels et génésiques. Il profite particulièrement à plus de 14 millions de femmes, d’adolescents et d’enfants dans deux régions, Sylhet et Chittagong, y compris le district Cox’s Bazar, où les besoins non comblés sont les plus importants. Il soutient également la supervision et la responsabilisation fiduciaires du programme de santé du gouvernement et renforce la gestion financière et des approvisionnement et l'efficacité des systèmes de fourniture. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) fournir des services de soins de santé maternelle, en planification familiale post-partum et des soins obstétricaux d’urgence; 2) fournir des services d'immunisation des enfants et d'alimentation néonatale et maternelle; 3) fournir des services relatifs à l'alimentation saine des adolescents à l’école, de planification familiale et de santé sexuelle et reproductive; 4) planification budgétaire et gestion des biens et des approvisionnements.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés du projet comprennent : 1) ministère de la Santé et du Bien-être de la famille plus solide, qui contribue à l’amélioration de la prestation des services de santé; 2) services essentiels inclusifs, efficaces et équitables de santé, de santé sexuelle et génésique et de nutrition sensibles à l’égalité entre les sexes qui répondent aux besoins des garçons et des filles, des femmes et des hommes; 3) gestion financière plus saine et transparente et systèmes d’audit qui réduisent les risques financiers et fiduciaires du programme du secteur de la santé.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus par la Banque mondiale avec l'appui du gouvernement du Canada et celui d'autres donateurs internationaux en décembre 2018: 1) 325 890 accouchements ont été effectués par des sages-femmes qualifiées et 231 215 mères ayant accouché hors établissement ont reçu des soins postnatals d'un prestataire médicalement qualifié dans les 2 jours suivant l'accouchement ; 2) 139 665 nouveaux cas de tuberculose (TB) ont été déclarés ; 3) 99,5% de la cible annuelle a été atteinte pour la vaccination des enfants contre la rougeole et la rubéole dans quatre districts de la Division Sylhet, et 97.8 % de l'objectif annuel a été atteint dans 11 districts de la Division de Chattogram ; 4) 20 % des hôpitaux/établissements de santé ont été construits/rénovés pour les rendre plus favorables au genre et adaptés pour les personnes handicapées; 5) 1 450 assistants sociaux familiaux, assistants sanitaires et agents médicaux communautaires sous-assistants ont suivi une formation en santé et droits sexuels et reproductifs (SDSR).

Finances

Finances


Budget original 3 590 000 $
Décaissements prévus 3 500 000 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Renforcement des systèmes et des services de santé au Bangladesh - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Fonds fiduciaires BIRD - Banque mondiale
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Fonds communs/financements groupés
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: