Project profile — International AIDS Society Conference on HIV Pathogenesis, Treatment, and Prevention (2015)



Overview 

CA-3-D002162001
$340,000
International AIDS Society
2015-03-30 - 2015-12-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch

Country / region 

• Africa, regional (100.00%)

Sector 

• Health, General: Medical research (12182) (50.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health: STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (50.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

This project supported the 2015 International AIDS Society (IAS) Conference. This conference brings together over 5,000 delegates from across the world for scientific and policy discussion as well as debate, and analysis. In 1996, at the first International AIDS Conference, held in Vancouver, the results of the first trials of HIV triple therapy were discussed, and the beginning of the effective treatment era began. Since that time, new therapies have transformed the lives of millions of people living with HIV worldwide and significant advances have been made in HIV prevention. With GAC’s support, the eighth IAS Conference on HIV Pathogenesis, Treatment, and Prevention was held in Vancouver, from July 19-22, 2015. The two main activities that this project supported are international scholarships for participants from low and middle income countries to attend the conference and program delivery for plenary, symposia and high level sessions.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes of this project include: (1) improved understanding of barriers to scaling up HIV treatment; 2) improved understanding of the increasing challenges of tuberculosis, viral hepatitis and chronic co-morbidities; and (3) improved support for treatment as prevention.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of December 2015 include: (1) improved understanding of the continued success of treatment scale-up for the prevention of mother to child transmission of HIV through oral presentations that highlighted innovations in implementation science; (2) improved understanding of HIV and hepatitis through sessions that highlighted significant advances and challenges in addressing HIV and hepatitis co-infection; and (3) improved awareness of the effectiveness of HIV treatment through the dissemination of compelling evidence of initiating antiretroviral therapy as early as possible.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Other technical assistance
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Conférence de la Société internationale sur le SIDA, la pathogenèse, traitement et prévention - 2015



Aperçu 

CA-3-D002162001
340 000 $
International AIDS Society
2015-03-30 - 2015-12-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement

Pays / région 

• Afrique, régional (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Santé, général : Recherche médicale (12182) (50,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité : Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (50,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Ce projet appuyait l’édition 2015 de la Conférence de la Société internationale sur le SIDA (SIS), qui réunit plus de 5 000 délégués de partout dans le monde pour une discussion scientifique et stratégique ainsi que des débats et des analyses. En 1996, lors de la première édition de la Conférence internationale sur le SIDA, à Vancouver, les résultats des premiers essais de la trithérapie contre le VIH ont été abordés; une ère de traitement efficace a pu alors commencer. Depuis, de nouvelles thérapies ont transformé la vie de millions de personnes vivant avec le VIH à travers le monde, et de nouvelles percées importantes ont été faites dans le domaine de la prévention du VIH. Avec l’aide d’AMC, la huitième conférence de la SIS sur la pathogenèse, les traitements et la prévention du VIH a eu lieu à Vancouver du 19 au 22 juillet 2015. Le projet avait deux objectifs principaux : offrir des bourses internationales permettant aux participants des pays à faible revenu et à revenu intermédiaire de participer à la conférence et assurer l’exécution de programmes pour des séances plénières, des symposiums et des séances de haut niveau.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats attendus de ce projet sont les suivants : 1) compréhension améliorée des obstacles à la généralisation des traitements du VIH, 2) compréhension amélioré des défis croissants liés à la tuberculose, à l’hépatite virale et aux comorbidités chroniques, et 3) soutien amélioré pour le traitement comme moyen de prévention.

Résultats atteints 

Résultats obtenus en date de décembre 2015 : 1) compréhension améliorée du succès continu de la généralisation des traitements pour la prévention de la transmission du VIH de la mère à l’enfant au moyen de présentations orales qui soulignaient les innovations de l’application des connaissances, 2) compréhension améliorée du VIH et de l’hépatite au moyen de séances qui précisaient les percées importantes et les défis concernant la co-infection du VIH et de l’hépatite, et 3) sensibilisation accrue concernant l’efficacité du traitement du VIH par la diffusion de faits convaincants pour l’instauration du traitement antirétroviral le plus rapidement possible.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Autres formes d’assistance technique
Date de modification :