Project profile — Preventing Child, Early and Forced Marriage through Open, Distance, and Technology-based Education

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Preventing Child, Early and Forced Marriage through Open, Distance, and Technology-based Education - Overview
CA-3-D002474001
$2,373,000
COL - Commonwealth of Learning (XM-DAC-47025)
2015-10-19 - 2020-03-06
Closed
Country / region • Bangladesh (20.00%)
• Mozambique (20.00%)
• Ghana (20.00%)
• Pakistan (20.00%)
• Tanzania (20.00%)
Sector • Secondary Education
Secondary education (11320) (20.00%)
• Secondary Education
Vocational training (11330) (25.00%)
• Post-Secondary Education
Higher education (11420) (20.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Human rights (15160) (10.00%)
• Communication
Information and communication technology (ICT) (22040) (20.00%)
• Banking And Financial Services
Informal/semi-formal financial intermediaries (24040) (5.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (significant objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project builds on Canada’s advocacy and awareness-raising efforts to prevent child, early and forced marriage (CEFM) and support already married girls in the selected Commonwealth countries. COL proposes to scale up its work to increase access to secondary education and skills training for girls/women in resource-poor contexts through open, distance and technology-based learning (ODL), which helps create enabling conditions for their sustainable livelihoods. The project focuses its work in up to four Commonwealth countries (Bangladesh, Mozambique, Tanzania and Pakistan) which were selected based on the high percentage of women who were first married before the age of 18. Working with existing partners, COL identifies priority communities with a high prevalence of CEFM and the skills needed to equip girls/women with education and skills training to enhance their livelihoods. Training is provided to partner institutions/organizations to strengthen systems, identify appropriate technologies, build staff capacity, and provide quality content such as Open Education Resources (OER) to support the development of appropriate education and training courses. Simultaneously, the process of sensitizing the community and recruiting girls/women to be educated or trained is completed. Girls/women enroll in two streams: a medium-term secondary schooling, and short-term skills training.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased access to safe, quality, gender sensitive open, distance and technology-based learning (ODL) opportunities for girls/women in rural areas in selected countries; (2) increased equitable participation in quality ODL by disadvantaged girls/women in rural areas of selected countries; and (3) enhanced economic leadership and family decision-making for disadvantaged girls/women in rural areas of selected countries.

Results achieved

Results achieved until the end of the project (March 2019) include: (1) 1,181 child, early and forced marriages were actively prevented; (2) 654 staff members were trained and have the capacity to develop gender-sensitive learning resources for open, distance, and technology-enabled learning; (3) 1,176 community events for raising awareness on the negative consequences of child, early and forced marriage were held across 258 communities, reaching 378,072 community members; (4) 244 safe learning environments were established for women’s and girls’ teaching and learning; (5) 29,848 women and girls successfully completed life skills courses; (6) 29,801 women and girls completed vocational skills training; (7) 4,934 women attended employment awareness and placement camps; and (8) 6,899 women and girls applied for employment, and 6,645 were successful.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Preventing Child, Early and Forced Marriage through Open, Distance, and Technology-based Education - Related information
Related links
Partner website — COL - Commonwealth of Learning
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Prévenir les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés au moyen de l’apprentissage ouvert

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Prévenir les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés au moyen de l’apprentissage ouvert - Aperçu
CA-3-D002474001
2 373 000 $
COL - Commonwealth of Learning (XM-DAC-47025)
2015-10-19 - 2020-03-06
Fermé
Pays / région • Bangladesh (20,00%)
• Mozambique (20,00%)
• Ghana (20,00%)
• Pakistan (20,00%)
• Tanzanie (20,00%)
Secteur • Éducation secondaire
Enseignement secondaire (11320) (20,00%)
• Éducation secondaire
Formation professionnelle (11330) (25,00%)
• Éducation post-secondaire
Enseignement supérieur (11420) (20,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Droits de la personne (15160) (10,00%)
• Communications
Technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) (22040) (20,00%)
• Banques et services financiers
Intermédiaires financiers du secteur informel et semi-formel (24040) (5,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (objectif significatif)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet prend appui sur les efforts de défense des intérêts et de sensibilisation du Canada pour prévenir les mariages d’enfants, les mariages précoces et les mariages forcés (MEPF) et soutenir les filles déjà mariées dans les pays du Commonwealth sélectionnés. L’Agence du Commonwealth pour l'enseignement (COL) propose d’intensifier son travail pour accroître l’accès des filles et des femmes qui ont peu de moyens à l’éducation secondaire et à la formation axée sur des compétences par l’intermédiaire de l’éducation ouverte et à distance (EOD), ce qui aide à créer des conditions favorables à des moyens de subsistance durables. Le projet propose d’axer son travail sur quatre pays du Commonwealth (Bangladesh, Mozambique, Tanzanie et Pakistan) qui ont été sélectionnés en fonction du pourcentage élevé de femmes qui se marient pour la première fois avant l’âge de 18 ans. En travaillant avec des partenaires existants, le COL cerne des communautés prioritaires où l’on trouve une prévalence élevée de MEPF et les compétences requises pour fournir aux filles/femmes l’éducation et la formation axée sur les compétences nécessaires pour améliorer leurs moyens de subsistance. De la formation est fournie aux institutions/organisations partenaires pour renforcer les systèmes, cerner des technologies appropriées, renforcer la capacité du personnel et fournir du contenu de qualité comme des Ressources éducatives libres (REL) pour appuyer la conception de cours d’éducation et de formation. Simultanément, on mène à bien le processus de sensibilisation et de recrutement des filles/femmes pour leur donner de l'éducation ou de la formation. Les filles/femmes s'inscrivent dans deux filières : des études secondaires à moyen terme et une formation à court terme axée sur les compétences.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) accès accru à des possibilités d’éducation ouverte, à distance et axée sur les technologies qui sont sûres, de qualité et qui tiennent compte des différences entre les sexes pour les filles/femmes des régions rurales dans les pays sélectionnés; 2) une participation plus équitable des filles/femmes désavantagées des régions rurales des pays sélectionnés à l’éducation ouverte et à distance de qualité; 3) un leadership économique accru et une meilleure prise de décisions familiales pour les filles/femmes désavantagées des régions rurales des pays sélectionnés.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’à la fin du projet (mars 2019) : 1) 1 181 mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés ont été activement empêchés; 2) 654 membres du personnel ont reçu une formation et ont la capacité d’élaborer des ressources d’apprentissage qui tiennent compte de la différence entre les sexes pour un apprentissage ouvert, à distance et axé sur les technologies; 3) 1 176 activités communautaires de sensibilisation sur les conséquences négatives des mariages d’enfants, des mariages précoces et des mariages forcés ont eu lieu dans 258 communautés; ces activités ont permis de joindre 378 072 membres des collectivités; 4) 244 milieux d’apprentissage sécuritaires ont été créés pour permettre aux femmes et aux filles d’enseigner et d’apprendre; 5) 29 848 femmes et filles ont suivi avec succès des cours sur les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne; 6) 29 801 femmes et filles ont réussi une formation sur les compétences professionnelles; 7) 4 934 femmes ont assisté à des camps d’information sur l’emploi et le placement; 8) 6 899 femmes et filles ont fait des demandes d’emploi et 6 645 ont réussi à en obtenir un.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Prévenir les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés au moyen de l’apprentissage ouvert - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: