Project profile — Building Community Support for Polio Eradication

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Building Community Support for Polio Eradication - Overview
CA-3-D002588001
$20,000,000
UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund (XM-DAC-41122)
2016-02-08 - 2018-12-31
Closed
Country / region • Pakistan (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The overall goal of this project is to stop the spread of polio virus in Pakistan, where the vast majority of the remaining cases of polio occur. It is implemented by the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), which, along with the Government of Pakistan and the World Health Organization, spearheads the Pakistan Polio Eradication Initiative. This initiative supports UNICEF’s activities in communities at risk of contracting polio across Pakistan. The project activities increase the community acceptance of polio vaccination team workers, through local language media campaigns, health information packages, and support to community level workers who engage community members on public health. These activities focus on Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) province and the neighboring Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA). In communities in these areas at highest risk for polio, the initiative hires community vaccinators who work in their own communities to vaccinate children and promote health. This innovative approach is referred to as Continuous Community Protected Vaccination (CCPV).

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) reduced number of girls and boys missed or under-vaccinated by polio vaccination campaigns to zero in communities with the highest prevalence of polio in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas; (2) increased community acceptance of polio vaccinators across Pakistan using social mobilization, with a focus on Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas; and (3) improved depiction of polio vaccination in local language media nationally, with a focus on Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (December 2018) include: (1) sustained high-quality Supplementary Immunization Activity performance in core reservoirs of Pakistan; (2) reduced number of girls and boys missed or under-vaccinated by polio vaccination campaigns in communities with the highest prevalence of polio in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas. The remaining missed children against targeted populations in 2018 ranged between 3.4% to 5.2% after every campaign; and (3) increased community acceptance of polio vaccinators across Pakistan using social mobilization, with a focus on Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas leading to 50% reduction of polio cases.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Building Community Support for Polio Eradication - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Asia
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcement de l’appui communautaire en vue d’éliminer la poliomyélite

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Renforcement de l’appui communautaire en vue d’éliminer la poliomyélite - Aperçu
CA-3-D002588001
20 000 000 $
UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (XM-DAC-41122)
2016-02-08 - 2018-12-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Pakistan (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

L’objectif principale de ce projet est de mettre fin à la propagation du virus de la poliomyélite au Pakistan, où surviennent la grande majorité des cas de polio. Il est mis en œuvre par le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance (UNICEF), qui, avec le gouvernement du Pakistan et avec l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, mène l’initiative mondiale pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite au Pakistan. Cette initiative soutient les activités de l’UNICEF dans les collectivités à risque d’attraper la poliomyélite au Pakistan. Les activités du projet visent à accroître l’accueil par les communautés des agents de l’équipe de vaccination contre la polio, au moyen de campagnes médiatiques qui diffusent en langue locale et de trousses d’information sur la santé. Elles visent également à accroître le soutien offert aux agents de santé qui travaillent dans les collectivités, pour sensibiliser les membres aux questions de santé publique. Ces activités sont concentrées sur certaines régions particulières, comme la province de Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) et les régions tribales avoisinantes administrées par les autorités fédérales (FATA). Dans les collectivités situées dans les zones les plus vulnérables à la polio, les responsables de cette initiative embauchent également des vaccinateurs qui travaillent au sein de leurs propres collectivités pour vacciner les enfants et y faire la promotion de la santé. Cette approche innovatrice est appelée: « L’approche de Vaccination protégée en continu dans la communauté ».

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés pour ce projet comprennent : 1) une réduction à zéro du nombre de filles et de garçons n’ayant pas été vaccinés ou n’ayant pas reçu tous les vaccins dans le cadre des campagnes de vaccination contre la polio dans les collectivités qui présentent le nombre de cas le plus élevé de polio dans la province de Khyber Pakhtunkhwa et dans les régions tribales administrées par les autorités fédérales; 2) un meilleur accueil par les collectivités des vaccinateurs contre la polio dans l’ensemble du Pakistan en recourant à la mobilisation sociale, en se concentrant sur la province de Khyber Pakhtunkhwa et sur les régions tribales administrées par les autorités fédérales; 3) une meilleure explication de la vaccination contre la polio, dans les médias utilisant la langue locale, à l’échelle nationale, en se concentrant sur la province de Khyber Pakhtunkhwa et sur les régions tribales administrées par les autorités fédérales.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus à la fin du projet (décembre 2018) : 1) un rendement soutenu de l’activité de vaccination supplémentaire de qualité dans les plus importants réservoirs de polio du Pakistan; 2) une réduction du nombre de filles et de garçons non vaccinés ou sous-vaccinés lors des campagnes de vaccination contre la polio dans les communautés où la prévalence de la polio est la plus élevée dans la province de Khyber Pakhtunkhwa et dans les zones tribales sous administration fédérale. Le taux d’enfants non vaccinés dans les populations ciblées en 2018 se situait entre 3,4 % et 5,2 % après chaque campagne; 3) une augmentation de l’acceptation des vaccinateurs contre la polio par les communautés dans l’ensemble du Pakistan, et ce, grâce à la mobilisation sociale, en particulier dans la province de Khyber Pakhtunkhwa et dans les zones tribales sous administration fédérale. Cette acceptation a entraîné une réduction de 50 % des cas de polio.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Renforcement de l’appui communautaire en vue d’éliminer la poliomyélite - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: