Project profile — Enhanced Agri-Food Value Chains Initiative in Ghana

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Enhanced Agri-Food Value Chains Initiative in Ghana - Overview
CA-3-D002595001
$19,900,000
WFP - World Food Programme (XM-DAC-41140)
2016-03-21 - 2021-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Ghana (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (60.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural development (31120) (30.00%)
• Agriculture
Food crop production (31161) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Trade development (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to prevent stunting among children ages 6 to 23 months and address micronutrient deficiencies among pregnant and/or lactating mothers in select districts throughout Northern Ghana. This project is an integrated agricultural and nutrition value chain development initiative designed as a public-private partnership and implemented by the World Food Programme. There are three interconnected pillars to this project. Project activities include: (1) enhancing the capacity of smallholder farmers to produce safe, quality staples (maize, soybean, cowpea and millet) and facilitate market linkages and sales to select local food processors; (2) providing technical and financial support for the upgrading of local processing capacities to produce safe, specialized nutritious foods and unfortified blended flours using local raw materials; and (3) promoting locally produced, specialized nutritious foods for nutrition interventions in the Northern regions and promote their availability in local markets for the Ghanaian population at large.

Expected results

The expected immediate outcomes for this project include: (1) improved local production of quality, safe, and market-integrated nutritious food staples by small-holder farmers, farmer organizations and out-growers; (2) enhanced local processing for complementary nutritious foods (e.g. super-cereals) by industrial and community-level processors; (3) increased consumption of high-nutrition staples, and complementary and fortified food by the general population, particularly women and children; and (4) enhanced food safety, quality and respect for standards among all stakeholders.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2021) include: (1) strengthened the capacity of 20,854 smallholder farmers (of whom 57% are women), in a variety of fields, including productivity enhancement, post-harvest loss reduction, contractual procedures and linkages to formal markets, such as those for aggregators and industrial processors, through a government extension and other development agency support; (2) facilitated high-quality nutritional products for 66,466 pregnant and lactating women in seven districts in the Northern and Ashanti regions. Maize, soybean and millet for the products, namely Maizoya and Tomvita, were provided by smallholder farmers and processed by Premium Foods and Yedent, the two local industrial processors; (3) facilitated the provision of Lipid-based nutrient supplements for 53,355 children between the ages of 6 and 23 months and 1,477 adolescent girls. A local industrial processor under an initiative entitled GrowNut provided the supplements; and (4) provided 13 small- and medium-scaled food processors with food safety and quality business development training. Three of these processors, all owned by Ghanaian women, were equipped with modern small-scale food processing facilities that enhance the capacity to produce local blended foods more safely and efficiently.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Enhanced Agri-Food Value Chains Initiative in Ghana - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WFP - World Food Programme
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Initiative d'amélioration des chaînes de valeur agro-alimentaires au Ghana



Aperçu 

CA-3-D002595001
19 900 000 $
PAM - Programme alimentaire mondial (41140)
2016-03-21 - 2021-03-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Ghana (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Santé de base : Nutrition de base (12240) (60,00%)
• Développement agricole :
Développement agricole (31120) (30,00%)
Production agricole (31161) (10,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (objectif significatif)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Ce projet vise à prévenir le retard de croissance chez les enfants âgés de 6 à 23 mois et à remédier aux carences en micronutriments chez les femmes enceintes et/ou allaitantes dans certains districts du nord du Ghana. Ce projet est une initiative intégrée de développement de la chaîne de valeur agricole et nutritionnelle conçue comme un partenariat public-privé et mise en œuvre par le Programme alimentaire mondial. Ce projet repose sur trois piliers interconnectés. Les activités de ce projet comprennent : 1) le renforcement de la capacité des petits exploitants agricoles à produire des aliments de base sûrs et de qualité (maïs, soja, niébé et millet) et la facilitation des liens avec le marché et des ventes à des transformateurs alimentaires locaux sélectionnés; 2) la fourniture d'un soutien technique et financier pour l'amélioration des capacités de transformation locales afin de produire des aliments nutritifs spécialisés sûrs et des farines mélangées non enrichies en utilisant des matières premières locales; 3) la promotion des aliments nutritifs spécialisés produits localement pour les interventions nutritionnelles dans les régions du nord et la promotion de leur disponibilité sur les marchés locaux pour l'ensemble de la population ghanéenne.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés pde ce projet comprennent : 1) amélioration de la production locale, et intégrée au marché, d’aliments de base nutritifs, sains et de qualité, par des petits exploitants agricoles, des organisations paysannes et des producteurs; 2) amélioration de la transformation locale des aliments nutritifs complémentaires (p. ex. super céréales) par des transformateurs industriels et communautaires; 3) augmentation de la consommation d’aliments très nutritifs de base, et d’aliments complémentaires et enrichis, par la population en général, en particulier les femmes et les enfants; 4) amélioration de la salubrité et de la qualité des aliments, et du respect des normes par les différents intervenants.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (mars 2021): 1) renforcement des capacités de 20 854 petits exploitants agricoles (dont 57 % de femmes) dans divers domaines, y compris l’amélioration de la productivité, la réduction des pertes après récolte, les procédures contractuelles et les liens avec les marchés formels, tels que ceux des agrégateurs et des transformateurs industriels, grâce au soutien d’un service de vulgarisation gouvernemental et d’autres organismes de développement; 2) facilitation de l’accès à des produits nutritionnels de grande qualité pour 66 466 femmes enceintes et allaitantes dans sept districts des régions du Nord et d’Ashanti. Le maïs, le soja et le millet pour les produits, à savoir Maizoya et Tomvita, ont été fournis par de petits exploitants agricoles et transformés par Premium Foods et Yedent, les deux transformateurs industriels locaux; 3) facilitation de la fourniture de compléments nutritifs à base de lipides à 53 355 enfants âgés de 6 à 23 mois et 1 477 adolescentes. Un transformateur industriel local a fourni, dans le cadre d’un programme intitulé GrowNut, les suppléments; 4) fourniture à 13 transformateurs alimentaires de petite et moyenne taille une formation au développement commercial en matière de sécurité alimentaire et de qualité. Trois de ces transformateurs, qui appartiennent tous à des Ghanéennes, ont été équipés d’installations modernes de transformation alimentaire à petite échelle, qui renforcent leur capacité à produire des aliments mélangés de manière plus sécuritaire et plus efficace.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Date de modification :