Project profile — Improving Surveillance to End Polio Transmission

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Improving Surveillance to End Polio Transmission - Overview
CA-3-D002783001
$20,000,000
WHO - World Health Organization (XM-DAC-41143)
2016-02-22 - 2019-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Pakistan (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Children's issues (principal objective)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The overall goal of this project is to stop the spread of polio virus in Pakistan, where the vast majority of the remaining cases of polio occur. It is implemented by the World Health Organization, which, along with the Government of Pakistan and UNICEF, spearheads the Pakistan Polio Eradication Initiative. This initiative works across Pakistan to improve detection and tracking of polio, improve monitoring of all polio eradication activities and enhance vaccination checkpoints, which vaccinate people travelling between districts, provinces and at international boundaries. In addition to national level efforts, the project works in Balochistan and Sindh provinces to scale up an innovative approach called Continuous Community Protected Vaccination, which hires community vaccinators living in areas at high risk of contracting polio to vaccinate children and identify those missed by immunization drives.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) increased population immunity to sufficient levels to interrupt transmission of polioviruses; and (2) surveillance system with capacity to detect all potential polioviruses.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (December 2018) include: (1) reduced number of missed and under-vaccinated girls and boys in the provinces of Balochistan and Sindh; (2) reduced number of polio cases by 97.39% as compared to 2014; (3) enhanced and accelerated verification of the coverage and quality of supplementary immunization nationally; (4) increased immunity against the poliovirus in mobile and high-risk populations nationally; (5) improved processes for polio surveillance nationally; and (6) improved performance of the Regional Reference Laboratory in Pakistan.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Improving Surveillance to End Polio Transmission - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WHO - World Health Organization
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Asia
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Amélioration de la surveillance épidémiologique pour éliminer la poliomyélite

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Amélioration de la surveillance épidémiologique pour éliminer la poliomyélite - Aperçu
CA-3-D002783001
20 000 000 $
OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé (XM-DAC-41143)
2016-02-22 - 2019-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Pakistan (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

L'objectif global de ce projet est de mettre fin à la propagation du virus de la poliomyélite au Pakistan, où survient la grande majorité des cas de polio. Il est mis en œuvre par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, qui, en partenariat avec le gouvernement du Pakistan et l'UNICEF, mène l’initiative mondiale pour l'éradication de la polio au Pakistan. Cette initiative œuvre dans l'ensemble du Pakistan en vue d'améliorer le dépistage et le suivi de la poliomyélite, d'améliorer la surveillance de toutes les activités d'éradication de cette maladie et d'augmenter les sites de contrôle de vaccination des populations qui voyagent entre les districts, les provinces et qui traversent les frontières internationales. Outre les efforts déployés au niveau national, le projet opère dans les provinces du Sindh et du Balochistan pour transposer à plus grande échelle une approche innovatrice appelée « L’approche de Vaccination protégée en continu dans la communauté », dans le cadre de laquelle on embauche des vaccinateurs qui travaillent au sein de leurs propres collectivités pour vacciner les enfants et repérer ceux qui n'auraient pas été vaccinés durant les campagnes de vaccination.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats immédiats escomptés de ce projet comprennent ce qui suit : 1) l’immunité de la population atteint des niveaux suffisants pour empêcher la transmission des poliovirus; 2) le système de surveillance est en mesure de détecter tous les poliovirus possibles.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (décembre 2018): 1) le nombre de filles et de garçons non vaccinés ou partiellement vaccinés a diminué dans les provinces du Balouchistan et du Sind; 2) le nombre de cas de poliomyélite a diminué de 97,39 % par rapport à 2014; 3) la vérification de l’étendue et de la qualité des campagnes de vaccination supplémentaire a été améliorée et accélérée à l’échelle nationale; 4) l’immunité au poliovirus chez les populations mobiles et à risque élevé a été renforcée à l’échelle nationale; 5) les processus de surveillance de la poliomyélite ont été améliorés à l’échelle nationale; 6) le rendement du laboratoire régional de référence au Pakistan a été amélioré.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Amélioration de la surveillance épidémiologique pour éliminer la poliomyélite - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: