Project profile — Agriculture Recovery for Conflict-Affected Areas in Eastern Ukraine

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Agriculture Recovery for Conflict-Affected Areas in Eastern Ukraine - Overview
CA-3-D002852001
$3,000,000
FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (XM-DAC-41301)
2016-03-31 - 2018-06-30
Terminating
Country / region • Ukraine (100.00%)
Sector • Agriculture
Food crop production (31161) (20.00%)
• Agriculture
Livestock (31163) (20.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural education/training (31181) (10.00%)
• Other Multisector
Rural development (43040) (50.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to restore agricultural livelihoods and improve resilience of vulnerable farmers most affected by the armed conflict in Eastern Ukraine. It addresses the immediate needs of the most vulnerable population residing in the government-controlled areas of Donetsk and Luhansk through the provision of seeds and fodder, the distribution of poultry and rabbits, and the delivery of capacity development activities to small-scale farming households that have had their production capabilities affected or destroyed by the conflict. Project activities include: (1) identify vulnerable districts, villages, communities to be targeted for most urgent support in consultation with key partners and stakeholders; (2) procure, transport and distribute quality assured animal feed to up to 4,167 targeted small-scale farming households; (3) distribute livestock packages (rabbits and poultry, and feed) to up to 5,333 vulnerable households in quantities sufficient for winterization of the animals; (4) verify the security situation in the targeted areas and conduct a survey to identify possible constraints that may limit access to support by the beneficiaries (mobility, gender, household responsibilities, socio-cultural limitations); (5) distribute production packages of vegetable seeds to up to 4,545 targeted suburban and rural households; (6) provide technical assistance to targeted households on improved production/ breeding and sustainable agricultural practices relating to the supported vegetable and livestock production; (7) facilitate cooperation among farmer groups and support the creation of community and/or commodity-based organizations. Beneficiaries are small-scale farming and vulnerable households living in the conflict–affected regions of Donetsk and Luhansk.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) preserved livestock assets and agriculture production of small farming families; and (2) resumption and improvement of agriculture-based livelihoods of conflict-affected small farming families

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Agriculture Recovery for Conflict-Affected Areas in Eastern Ukraine - Related information
Related links
Partner website — FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Global Affairs Canada
EGM Europe, Arctic, Middle East and Magh
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Relance agricole dans les zones affectées par le conflit dans l'est de l'Ukraine

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Relance agricole dans les zones affectées par le conflit dans l'est de l'Ukraine - Aperçu
CA-3-D002852001
3 000 000 $
FAO - Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (XM-DAC-41301)
2016-03-31 - 2018-06-30
Finalisation
Pays / région • Ukraine (100,00%)
Secteur • Agriculture
Production agricole (31161) (20,00%)
• Agriculture
Bétail (31163) (20,00%)
• Agriculture
Éducation et formation dans le domaine agricole (31181) (10,00%)
• Autres multisecteurs
Développement rural (43040) (50,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à rétablir les moyens de subsistance et à accroître la résilience d’agriculteurs vulnérables touchés par le conflit armé dans l’est de l’Ukraine. Il vient répondre aux besoins immédiats des résidents les plus vulnérables des régions contrôlées par le gouvernement de Donetsk et de Louhansk par la fourniture de semences et de fourrage, la distribution de volaille et de lapins et la réalisation d’activités de renforcement des capacités dans des petites exploitations agricoles dont les capacités de production ont été touchées ou détruites par le conflit. Les activités suivantes sont notamment prévues dans le cadre du projet : 1) recenser les districts, villages et communautés vulnérables à cibler afin de leur fournir un soutien de toute urgence, en consultation avec des partenaires et intervenants clés; 2) assurer l’acheminement, le transport et la distribution d’aliments de qualité pour les animaux à au plus 4 167 petits ménages agricoles ciblés; 3) distribuer à au plus 5 333 ménages vulnérables des animaux d’élevage (lapins et volaille) et des aliments pour les nourrir en quantités suffisantes pour permettre l’hivernation des animaux; 4) vérifier la situation sur le plan de la sécurité dans les régions ciblées et réaliser un sondage pour déterminer les contraintes susceptibles de limiter l’accès des bénéficiaires au soutien offert (mobilité, genre, responsabilités familiales, limites socioculturelles); 5) distribuer des ensembles complets de production légumière (semences) à au plus 4 545 ménages ciblés dans les banlieues et en milieu rural; 6) fournir une assistance technique aux ménages ciblés en vue d’améliorer les méthodes de production, de sélection et d’agriculture durable dans le contexte de la production légumière et animale bénéficiant d’un soutien; et 7) faciliter la coopération entre les groupes d’agriculteurs et appuyer la création d’organismes communautaires ou de regroupements de producteurs de certains produits de base. Les bénéficiaires sont des petites exploitations agricoles et des ménages vulnérables établis dans les régions touchées par le conflit de Donetsk et de Louhansk.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés du projet comprennent : 1) la préservation de la production agricole de petites fermes familiales et des élevages leur appartenant; et 2) le rétablissement et l’amélioration des moyens de subsistance fondés sur l’agriculture des petites fermes familiales touchées par le conflit.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Relance agricole dans les zones affectées par le conflit dans l'est de l'Ukraine - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — FAO - Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
EGM Europe, Arctique, Moyen-Orient et Ma
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: