Project profile — Sustainable Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Action in Nepal



Overview 

CA-3-D003363001
$2,025,615
CARE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011116)
2017-02-07 - 2019-01-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Intl Dev Partnerships & Operations

Country / region 

• Nepal (100.00%)

Sector 

• Basic drinking water supply:
Basic drinking water supply (14031) (40.00%)
Basic sanitation (14032) (40.00%)
Education and training in water supply and sanitation (14081) (20.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

On April 25, 2015, a 7.8-magnitude earthquake struck Nepal and was followed by a series of large aftershocks. The earthquakes resulted in over 8,700 deaths and 22,000 injuries, 2.8 million displaced and 3.5 million in need of food assistance. In response to the earthquake, Canada established the Nepal Earthquake Relief Fund that committed the Government of Canada to matching eligible private donations to Canadian organizations. While the Government of Nepal and many agencies addressed immediate needs, one year later, there are still critical water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) gaps. Through the provision of WASH services, this project, funded by the Nepal Earthquake Relief Fund, aims to improve the quality of life of the earthquake-affected communities, particularly the most vulnerable populations in the Dhading and Sindhupalchowk districts. The objectives of the initiative are to increase access to potable water, increase use of improved sanitation services and improve the adoption of hygiene practices. Project activities include: (1) providing increased and more equal access to safe and sustainable drinking water and improved sanitation services in communities and institutions; (2) enhancing the capacity of water user committees to construct, operate and maintain drinking water systems; (3) helping district-level stakeholders respond more effectively and appropriately to the different potable water supply, sanitation and hygiene needs of various target groups; (4) building the capacity of communities, schools and health posts to maintain total sanitation; (5) providing increased and more equal access to improved hygiene facilities to individuals and institutions; and (6) improving local knowledge and attitudes about safe hygiene.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased consumption of potable water by 27,781 individuals, especially women, men, girls, boys, elderly persons, persons with disabilities and members of the Dalit caste (previously known as Untouchables) in targeted Village Development Communities of Dhading and Sindhupalchowk districts, both located in the central region of Nepal; (2) increased use of improved sanitation services by 27,821 individuals, especially by women, men, girls, boys, elderly persons, persons with disabilities and members of the Dalit caste in targeted areas; and (3) improved level of hygiene practices among all household members in targeted areas.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of May 2018 include: (1) 1 water system has been rehabilitated or reconstructed; 3 potable water testing kits were provided to the WASH unit of a rural or municipal area; (2) 95% of women that are members of potable drinking water user committees have a leadership positions; (3) 73 local masons, plumbers and village maintenance workers (of which 25 women) were trained on basic WASH facility construction and maintenance; (4) 1,170 of earthquake affected men and women have access to improved sanitation facilities; (5) 4,555 households received hygiene promotion messages; (6) 9 schools and 3 health posts have child, gender and disability friendly water, toilet, hand washing and menstrual hygiene facilities; and (7) 47 gender-balanced hygiene promotion committees were formulated and strengthened.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $101,281
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
12-11-2019 Disbursement $101,281
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Project-type interventions
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Initiative durable pour l’eau, l’assainissement et l’hygiène au Népal



Aperçu 

CA-3-D003363001
2 025 615 $
CARE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011116)
2017-02-07 - 2019-01-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Népal (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Approvisionnement en eau potable - dispositifs de base :
Approvisionnement en eau potable - dispositifs de base (14031) (40,00%)
Assainissement - dispositifs de base (14032) (40,00%)
Éducation/formation dans la distribution d'eau et l'assainissement (14081) (20,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le 25 avril 2015, un tremblement de terre d’une magnitude de 7,8 à l’échelle de Richter frappe le Népal et est suivi d’une série d’ondes de choc causant la mort de 8 700 personnes, 22 000 blessés, le déplacement de 2,8 millions de personnes et des besoins alimentaires pour 3,5 millions de personnes. En réponse au tremblement de terre, le Canada a établi le Fonds de secours aux victimes du séisme au Népal. Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à verser un montant équivalent aux dons de sources privées admissibles reçus par des organisations canadiennes. Bien que le gouvernement du Népal et un grand nombre d’agences se soient occupés des besoins immédiats, il existe toujours, un an après le séisme, des lacunes importantes en matière d’eau, d’assainissement et d’hygiène. Grâce à un approvisionnement en eau et à des services d’assainissement et d’hygiène, ce projet, financé par le Fonds de secours aux victimes du séisme au Népal, compte améliorer la qualité de vie des membres des collectivités touchées par le tremblement de terre, en particulier les individus les plus vulnérables au sein de la population des districts de Dhading et de Sindhupalchowk. Les objectifs de l’initiative visent à augmenter l’accès à l’eau potable, augmenter l'utilisation de meilleurs services d’assainissement, de même qu’à améliorer l’adoption de saines pratiques d’hygiène. Parmi les activités du projet : 1) augmenter l’accès à de l’eau potable saine, de source durable et de manière plus équitable, et améliorer les services d’assainissement au sein des collectivités et des organisations; 2) rehausser la capacité des comités d’utilisateurs d’eau à construire, opérer et entretenir les systèmes d’approvisionnement en eau potable; 3) aider les intervenants à l’échelle des districts à répondre aux besoins d’approvisionnement en eau, d’assainissement et d’hygiène des divers groupes cibles, de manière plus efficace et adéquate; 4) développer la capacité des collectivités, des écoles et des postes de santé à maintenir une salubrité intégrale; 5) fournir un accès accru et plus équitable à des installations sanitaires pour améliorer l’hygiène des individus et la salubrité des organisations; 6) améliorer les connaissances à l’échelle locale, ainsi que les attitudes, par rapport à l’hygiène et l'assainissement.

Résultats escomptés 

Parmi les résultats escomptés pour ce projet : 1) l’augmentation de la consommation en eau potable pour 27 781 personnes, particulièrement des femmes, des hommes, des filles, des garçons, des personnes âgées, des personnes handicapées et des membres de la caste Dalit (autrefois nommés Intouchables), dans les villages ciblés de développement des districts de Dhading et de Sindhupalchowk, situés au centre du Népal; 2) l’utilisation accrue de services sanitaires améliorés par 27 821 personnes, particulièrement des femmes, des hommes, des filles, des garçons, des personnes âgées, des personnes handicapées et des membres de la caste de Dalit, dans les régions ciblées; 3) l’amélioration de l’hygiène parmi tous les membres des familles des régions ciblées.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mai 2018 : 1) 1 réseau d’alimentation en eau a été remis en état ou reconstruit; 3 trousses de vérification de la qualité de l’eau potable ont été fournies à l’unité Eau, assainissement et hygiène d’une région rurale ou municipale; 2) 95 % des femmes membres de comités des utilisateurs d’eau potable exercent des fonctions de direction; 3) 73 maçons, plombiers et préposés à l’entretien locaux (dont 25 femmes) ont reçu une formation de base dans la construction et l’entretien d’installations d’eau, d’assainissement et d’hygiène; 4) 1 170 hommes et femmes touchés par le séisme ont accès à des installations sanitaires améliorées; 5) 4 555 ménages ont été sensibilisés à la promotion de l’hygiène; 6) 9 écoles et 3 postes sanitaires sont dotés de toilettes et d’installations de distribution de l’eau, de lavage des mains et d’hygiène menstruelle adaptées aux enfants, aux personnes handicapées et aux personnes des deux sexes; 7) 47 comités de promotion de l’hygiène reflétant la parité des sexes ont été établis et renforcés.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 101 281 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
12-11-2019 Déboursé 101 281 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :