Project profile — Support to the Polio Eradication Endgame Strategic Plan

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Support to the Polio Eradication Endgame Strategic Plan - Overview
CA-3-D003493001
$10,000,000
WHO - World Health Organization (XM-DAC-41143)
2017-02-23 - 2021-10-12
Closed
Country / region • Asia, regional (40.00%)
• America, regional (10.00%)
• Europe, regional (10.00%)
• Africa, regional (40.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Children's issues (principal objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Disability (significant objective)
Description and results

Description

This project supports the implementation of the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI)’s Endgame Strategic Plan, which provides a global roadmap to eradicate polio by 2019. Project activities include: (1) working with targeted governments to strengthen oral polio vaccine campaign safety and quality and introduce inactivated polio vaccine into routine immunization systems; (2) providing technical assistance to front-line workers to increase immunization coverage; and (3) working with governments to transition polio assets and infrastructure to broader health goals and national health systems. The GPEI is a partnership between UNICEF, the World Health Organization, the United States Centre for Disease Control and Prevention, Rotary International and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. This project contributes to Canada’s $250 million commitment to polio eradication made at the 2013 Abu Dhabi Global Vaccine Summit.

Expected results

The expected outcomes as per the GPEI Strategic Plan include: (1) interruption of wild poliovirus transmission globally and more rapid detection and interruption of any new outbreaks due to vaccine-derived polioviruses; (2) strengthen immunization services in focus countries, introduce inactive polio vaccine (IPV) and withdraw oral polio vaccine type 2 (OPV2) globally; (3) certify the eradication and containment of all wild polioviruses and enhance long-term global security from poliomyelitis; and (4) a plan to ensure polio investments contribute to future health goals, through documentation and transition of lessons learned, processes and assets of the Global Polio Eradication Initiative.

Results achieved

Progress achieved as of December 2017: Global caseload: 99% reduction of newcases, from 350 000 new cases per year in over 125 endemic countries when the program began, down to 22 reported cases in the final three endemic countries (in 2015 there were 74 cases), bringing the world closer than ever to achieving eradication. Of the 3 strains of wild poliovirus (type 1, type 2, and type 3), wild poliovirus type 2 was eradicated in 1999 and no case of wild poliovirus type 3 has been found since the last reported case in Nigeria in November 2012.The withdrawal of trivalent Oral Polio Vaccine (tOPV) and introduction of bivalent Oral Polio Vaccine (bOPV) in 155 countries – the largest globally coordinated vaccine intervention in history. In 1994, the WHO Region of the Americas was certified polio-free, followed by the WHO Western Pacific Region in 2000 and the WHO European Region in June 2002. In March 2014, the WHO South-East Asia Region was certified polio-free, meaning that transmission of wild poliovirus has been interrupted in this bloc of 11 countries stretching from Indonesia to India. This achievement marks a significant leap forward in global eradication, with 80% of the world’s population now living in certified polio-free regions. More than 16 million people are able to walk today, who would otherwise have been paralysed. An estimated 1.5 million childhood deaths have been prevented, through the systematic administration of vitamin A during polio immunization activities.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Support to the Polio Eradication Endgame Strategic Plan - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WHO - World Health Organization
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui au Plan stratégique pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite et la phase finale

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Appui au Plan stratégique pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite et la phase finale - Aperçu
CA-3-D003493001
10 000 000 $
OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé (XM-DAC-41143)
2017-02-23 - 2021-10-12
Fermé
Pays / région • Asie, régional (40,00%)
• Amérique, régional (10,00%)
• Europe, régional (10,00%)
• Afrique, régional (40,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (objectif significatif)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet appuie la mise en œuvre du Plan stratégique et la phase finale de l’Initiative mondiale pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite (IMEP), lequel offre une feuille de route pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite d’ici 2019. Les activités du projet comprennent les suivantes : 1) travailler avec les gouvernements ciblés pour renforcer la sécurité et la qualité de la campagne sur le vaccin antipoliomyélitique oral et introduire le vaccin antipoliomyélitique inactivé dans les programmes d’immunisation systématique; 2) fournir de l’aide technique aux travailleurs de première ligne pour augmenter le taux de couverture vaccinale; 3) travailler avec les gouvernements pour transmettre les actifs et l’infrastructure utilisés pour éradiquer la poliomyélite afin d’atteindre des buts plus larges en matière de santé et de renforcer les systèmes de santé nationaux. L’IMEP consiste en un partenariat entre l’UNICEF, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, le Centre for Disease Control and Prevention des États-Unis, Rotary International et la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates. Ce projet s’ajoute à l’engagement que le Canada a pris à l’occasion du Sommet mondial sur les vaccins de 2013 tenu à Abou Dhabi, soit de verser 250 millions de dollars pour éradiquer la poliomyélite.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés du Plan stratégique de l’IMEP sont les suivants : 1) interrompre la transmission du poliovirus sauvage à l’échelle mondiale et détecter et interrompre plus rapidement toute nouvelle éclosion de poliovirus de souche vaccinale; 2) renforcer les services d’immunisation dans les pays visés, introduire le vaccin antipoliomyélitique inactivé et retirer le sérotype de poliovirus 2 du vaccin antipoliomyélitique oral à l’échelle mondiale; 3) certifier que les poliovirus sauvages ont été éradiqués et confinés et améliorer la sécurité mondiale à long terme contre la poliomyélite; 4) dresser un plan pour que les investissements dans l’éradication de la poliomyélite contribuent à la réalisation des objectifs futurs en matière de santé, au moyen de la documentation et de la transmission des leçons tirées ainsi que des processus et des biens bâtis dans le cadre de l’Initiative mondiale pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite.

Résultats atteints

Progrès réalisés jusqu'à décembre 2017 : Charge de travail mondiale : Réduction de 99 % des nouveaux cas, de 350 000 nouveaux cas par an dans plus de 125 pays endémiques au début du programme, à 22 cas signalés dans les trois derniers pays endémiques (en 2015, il y avait 74 cas), ce qui rapproche plus que jamais le monde de l'éradication. Parmi les 3 types de poliovirus sauvage (type 1, type 2 et type 3), le poliovirus sauvage de type 2 a été éradiqué en 1999 et aucun cas de poliovirus sauvage de type 3 n'a été trouvé depuis le dernier cas signalé au Nigeria en novembre 2012. Le retrait du vaccin antipoliomyélitique oral trivalent (VPOt) et l'introduction du vaccin antipoliomyélitique oral bivalent (VPOb) dans 155 pays - la plus grande intervention vaccinale coordonnée à l'échelle mondiale de l'histoire. En 1994, la Région OMS des Amériques a été certifiée exempte de polio, suivie de la Région OMS du Pacifique occidental en 2000 et de la Région européenne de l'OMS en juin 2002. En mars 2014, la Région OMS de l'Asie du Sud-Est a été certifiée exempte de polio, ce qui signifie que la transmission du poliovirus sauvage a été interrompue dans ce bloc de 11 pays s'étendant de l'Indonésie à l'Inde. Ce résultat marque un grand bond en avant dans l'éradication mondiale, puisque 80 % de la population mondiale vit désormais dans des régions certifiées exemptes de poliomyélite. Plus de 16 millions de personnes sont aujourd'hui capables de marcher, alors qu'elles auraient été paralysées autrement. On estime que 1,5 million de décès d'enfants ont été évités grâce à l'administration systématique de vitamine A lors des activités de vaccination contre la polio.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Appui au Plan stratégique pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite et la phase finale - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: