Project profile — Nepal Earthquake - Recovery Assistance to Sindhupalchok - Oxfam Canada 2017-2019

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Nepal Earthquake - Recovery Assistance to Sindhupalchok - Oxfam Canada 2017-2019 - Overview
CA-3-D003497001
$2,025,238
Oxfam Canada (XM-DAC-22501)
2017-01-04 - 2018-12-31
Closed
Country / region • Nepal (100.00%)
Sector • Water And Sanitation
Water sector policy and administrative management (14010) (10.73%)
• Water And Sanitation
Basic drinking water supply (14031) (34.15%)
• Water And Sanitation
Basic sanitation (14032) (30.52%)
• Water And Sanitation
Education and training in water supply and sanitation (14081) (24.60%)
Policy marker • Climate Change Adaptation (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to improve the well-being and resilience of communities living in earthquake-affected areas of Sindhupalchok, Nepal, by meeting their needs for potable water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) services and practices. Supporting increased access to WASH services in Sindhupalchok will not only help the district recover from damage, but also contribute to reaching a level of WASH development that is improved from pre-earthquake levels. Improving access to WASH services in Sindhupalchok will also provide an opportunity to make them more equitable and inclusive, and to ensure that they are resistant to future natural disasters. Project activities include: (1) increasing the equitable access of households and institutions (schools and health posts) to WASH services by rehabilitating and/or constructing appropriate infrastructure; (2) increasing the capacity of individuals and organizations in the community to operate and maintain the infrastructure and to promote the use of good hygiene practices; (3) increasing resilience to future shocks through "build back better", and extending coverage to a greater number of beneficiaries. The project directly benefits 15,290 men, women (51%) and children in Sindhupalchowk, one of the districts most severely affected by the earthquakes. Oxfam Canada is working with Gramin Mahila Sirjansil Pariwar (GMSP), Mahila Atma Nirbharta Kendra (MANK), and Janahit Gramin Sewa Samiti (JGSS) to implement this project.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased sustainable and equitable potable water consumption; (2) increased use of improved, equitable and accessible sanitation services; and (3) improved sustainable hygiene practices among earthquake-affected women, men, girls and boys.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2019) include: (1) a 25% increase in the amount of drinking water available per person per day in beneficiary communities. At baseline, the amount of drinking water available per person per day was 28.6 litres, while at the end of the project, this increased to 38 litres per person per day; (2) 94% of men and boys, and 97% of women and girls reported satisfaction with the water supply and access, exceeding the project target of 75% of men and women satisfied; (3) 10 municipal wards were declared Open Defecation Free, representing a 20% achievement above the initial target; (4) user satisfaction with sanitation facilities at schools, health posts and public places among women, girls, men and boys was 90% for women and girls (the target was 75%) and 95% for men and boys (the target was 70%); and (5) handwashing in the municipal wards increased to 96% from 65% (the target was 85% increase).

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Nepal Earthquake - Recovery Assistance to Sindhupalchok - Oxfam Canada 2017-2019 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Oxfam Canada
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Séisme au Népal - Aide au rétablissement à Sindhupalchok - Oxfam Canada 2017-2019



Aperçu 

CA-3-D003497001
2 025 238 $
Oxfam Canada (22501)
2017-01-04 - 2018-12-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Népal (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Politique du secteur de l’eau et gestion administrative :
Politique du secteur de l’eau et gestion administrative (14010) (10,73%)
Approvisionnement en eau potable - dispositifs de base (14031) (34,15%)
Assainissement - dispositifs de base (14032) (30,52%)
Éducation/formation dans la distribution d'eau et l'assainissement (14081) (24,60%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le but du projet est d’améliorer le bien-être et la résilience des collectivités situées dans les secteurs de Sindhupalchok (Népal) qui ont été touchés par le séisme en répondant aux besoins de leurs habitants en matière de services et de pratiques relatifs à l’eau potable, à l’assainissement et à l’hygiène. Donner un meilleur accès aux services relatifs à l’eau potable, à l’assainissement et à l’hygiène à Sindhupalchok aide le district à se remettre; cela permet aussi d’atteindre un niveau de développement supérieur à ce qu’il était avant le tremblement de terre. Améliorer l’accès aux services relatifs à l’eau potable, à l’assainissement et à l’hygiène à Sindhupalchok permet enfin de rendre ces services plus équitables, plus inclusifs et à l’épreuve des prochaines catastrophes naturelles. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) accroître, pour les foyers et les institutions (écoles et postes sanitaires), l’accès équitable aux services relatifs à l’eau potable, à l’assainissement et à l’hygiène en réparant ou en construisant les infrastructures nécessaires; 2) accroître la capacité des personnes et des organisations locales de faire fonctionner et d’entretenir les infrastructures et de favoriser l’emploi de bonnes pratiques d'hygiène; 3) augmenter la résilience aux futurs chocs et offrir des services à un plus grand nombre de personnes. Le projet profite directement à 15 290 hommes, femmes (51 %) et enfants de Sindhupalchok, un des districts qui ont été les plus gravement touchés par les séismes. Oxfam Canada travaille avec les partenaires locaux Gramin Mahila Sirjansil Pariwar, Mahila Atma Nirbharta Kendra et Janahit Gramin Sewa Samiti à la réalisation du projet.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) plus grande consommation durable et équitable d’eau potable; 2) meilleur usage des services d’assainissement améliorés, équitables et accessibles; 3) amélioration des pratiques d'hygiène durables pour tous les sinistrés.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’à la fin du projet (mars 2019) : 1) une augmentation de 25 % de la quantité d’eau potable disponible par personne et par jour dans les communautés bénéficiaires. Au départ, la quantité d'eau potable disponible par personne et par jour était de 28.6 litres, alors qu'à la fin du projet, ce chiffre est passé à 38 litres par personne et par jour; 2) 94 % des hommes et des garçons et 97 % des femmes et des filles se sont dits satisfaits de la fourniture et de l'accès à l'eau, dépassant la cible du projet, soit 75 % des femmes et des hommes satisfaits; 3)10 quartiers municipaux ont été déclarés exempts de défécation en plein air, ce qui représente un résultat supérieur de 20 % à l'objectif initial; 4) la satisfaction des utilisateurs des installations sanitaires dans les écoles, les postes de santé et les lieux publics chez les femmes, les filles, les hommes et les garçons était de 90 % pour les femmes et les filles (l'objectif était 75 %) et 95 % pour les hommes et les garçons (l'objectif était 70 %); 5) le lavage des mains dans les services municipaux a été augmenté à 96 % (l'objectif était 85 %).

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :