Project profile — Addressing Sexual and Gender-Based Violence Through Public Institutions

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Addressing Sexual and Gender-Based Violence Through Public Institutions - Overview
CA-3-D003688001
$900,000
UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund (41119)
2017-12-20 - 2020-09-30
Operational
Country / region • Sri Lanka (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Ending violence against women and girls (15180) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to advance gender equality and the human rights of women and girls by strengthening Sri Lanka’s capacity to respond to sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV), including in the context of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. It is designed to support the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs, other relevant government entities, the National Human Rights Commission and local women’s rights organizations in their response to SGBV. It also seeks to support the implementation of SGBV-related policies and strategies, including the Policy Framework and National Plan of Action to Address SGBV (2016-2020). Activities include: (1) commissioning the first national-level survey to gather data on SGBV; (2) training officials from the Sri Lankan Ministry of Women and Child Affairs and other relevant government entities to understand and use data to generate evidence-based responses to SGBV; (3) training the Sri Lanka National Human Rights Commission to understand SGBV and the role it can play in addressing SGBV; (4) building the capacity of the Sri Lankan Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to monitor the implementation of selected government policies and strategies, particularly the Policy Framework and National Plan of Action to Address SGBV; (5) supporting increased engagement and collaboration between the Sri Lankan Ministry of Women and Child Affairs and local women’s rights organizations in order to advance women’s equality and empowerment; and 6) addressing the increased SGBV challenges for vulnerable populations due to the COVID-19 pandemic through support to hospitals, virtual counselling for victims of violence, and a media (including social media) campaign against SGBV.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased effectiveness of the Sri Lankan Ministry of Women and Child Affairs in addressing Sexual and Gender-Based Violence (SGBV); (2) strengthened monitoring by the Sri Lankan Ministry of Women and Child Affairs of the implementation of selected government policies and strategies, particularly the Policy Framework and National Plan of Action to Address SGBV (2016-2020); and (3) improved engagement of the Sri Lankan Ministry of Women and Child Affairs with local women’s rights organizations to advance women’s equality and empowerment.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2019 include: (1) 55 officers from the Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka, 17 officials from the Legal Aid Commission, and 13 officials from the Public Service Commission were trained on issues related to sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR), and sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV); (2) 220 representatives from the Sri Lankan government, UN agencies, civil society, including women’s rights organizations, and the diplomatic corps participated in a national workshop to introduce the Essential Service Package (ESP) for women and girls who have been subject to violence; and (3) government officials, service providers and civil society organizations completed an identification of priority needs and gaps with respect to SGBV services in Mannar District, in order to strengthen inter-sectoral collaboration and support survivors more effectively.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Addressing Sexual and Gender-Based Violence Through Public Institutions - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Asia
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by international organisations (multilateral, INGO)
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Répondre à la violence sexuelle et sexiste par l’entremise des Institutions publiques

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Répondre à la violence sexuelle et sexiste par l’entremise des Institutions publiques - Aperçu
CA-3-D003688001
900 000 $
UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population (41119)
2017-12-20 - 2020-09-30
Actif
Pays / région • Sri Lanka (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles (15180) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Partenariat pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (PMNCH) (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à promouvoir l'égalité entre les sexes et les droits de la personne en faveur des femmes et des filles en renforçant la capacité du Sri Lanka à répondre à la violence sexuelle et sexiste. Il est conçu pour soutenir le Ministère des affaires féminines et de l'enfance, d'autres entités gouvernementales compétentes, la Commission nationale des droits de la personne et les organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes dans leur réponse à la violence sexuelle et sexiste. Il vise également à soutenir la mise en œuvre de politiques et stratégies liées à la violence sexuelle et sexiste, y compris le cadre politique et le plan d'action national de lutte contre la violence sexuelle et sexiste (2016-2020). Les activités comprennent : 1) le lancement de la première enquête nationale pour recueillir des données sur la violence sexuelle et sexiste; 2) la formation des fonctionnaires du Ministère sri-lankais des affaires féminines et de l'enfance et d'autres entités gouvernementales compétentes pour comprendre et utiliser les données afin de générer des réponses factuelles à la violence sexuelle et sexiste; 3) la formation de la Commission nationale des droits de l'homme du Sri Lanka à comprendre la violence sexuelle et sexiste et le rôle qu'elle peut jouer dans la lutte contre la violence sexuelle et sexiste; 4) le renforcement les capacités du Ministère sri-lankais des affaires féminines et de l'enfance de suivre la mise en œuvre de certaines politiques et stratégies gouvernementales, en particulier le Cadre d'action et le Plan d'action national de lutte contre la violence sexuelle et sexiste; et 5) le soutien à un engagement et une collaboration accrus entre le Ministère sri-lankais des affaires féminines et de l'enfance et les organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes afin de promouvoir l'égalité et l'autonomisation des femmes.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats attendus de ce projet comprennent : 1) une efficacité accrue du Ministère sri-lankais des affaires féminines et de l'enfance dans la lutte contre la violence sexuelle et sexiste; 2) le renforcement du suivi par le Ministère sri-lankais des affaires féminines et de l'enfance de la mise en œuvre de certaines politiques et stratégies gouvernementales, en particulier le Cadre d'action et le Plan d'action national de lutte contre la violence sexuelle et sexiste (2016-2020); et 3) un engagement accru du Ministère sri-lankais des affaires féminines et de l'enfance auprès des organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes afin de promouvoir l'égalité et l'autonomisation des femmes.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusu'en mars 2019 : 1) 55 fonctionnaires de la Commission sri-lankaise des droits de la personne, 17 fonctionnaires de la Commission de l'aide judiciaire et 13 fonctionnaires de la Commission de la fonction publique ont été formés aux questions relatives à la santé et aux droits sexuels et génésiques et à la violence sexuelle et sexiste; 2) 220 représentants du gouvernement sri-lankais, des agences des Nations Unies, de la société civile, y compris des organisations de défense des droits des femmes, et du corps diplomatique ont participé à un atelier national pour présenter l'ensemble de services essentiels (ESP) pour les femmes et les filles victimes de violence ; 3) des fonctionnaires, prestataires de services et organisations de la société civile ont déterminé les besoins prioritaires et lacunes concernant les services liés à la violence sexuelle et sexuelle dans le district de Mannar, afin de renforcer la collaboration entre les secteurs et de mieux aider les victimes.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Répondre à la violence sexuelle et sexiste par l’entremise des Institutions publiques - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des organisations internationales (multilatérales, ONGI)
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: