Project profile — A New and Dignified Life for Women and Girls Suffering from Obstetric Fistula

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

A New and Dignified Life for Women and Girls Suffering from Obstetric Fistula - Overview
CA-3-D003873001
$6,500,000
UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund (41119)
2018-01-08 - 2022-03-31
Operational
Country / region • Mozambique (100.00%)
Sector • Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (63.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (37.00%)
Policy marker • Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (explicit primary objective)
• Gender equality (significant objective)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to improve the well-being of women and girls living with obstetric fistula, an important sexual and reproductive health and rights issue in Mozambique. Women who experience obstetric fistula suffer constant incontinence, shame, social segregation and health problems. The project aims to increase knowledge about obstetric fistula and the availability of routine treatment services in strategically selected national health facilities across the country. Project activities include: (1) increasing the availability and access to professional fistula treatment and care for young women and girls; and (2) strengthening gender-based and rights-based community engagement on obstetric fistula, involving women and girls, men and boys. A total of 6,898 women and girls are expected to receive services for the treatment and repair of obstetric fistula; 630 women and girls are to receive reintegration services; and 6,500 people are to receive community mobilization awareness sessions.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased community and family promotion and protection of the sexual and reproductive health and rights of girls and young women; (2) increased availability and access to quality fistula repair treatment and care for girls and young women; and (3) increased social reintegration of girls and young women treated/cured for obstetric fistula.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $1,000,000
Planned Disbursement $1,000,000
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

A New and Dignified Life for Women and Girls Suffering from Obstetric Fistula - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by international organisations (multilateral, INGO)
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Une vie nouvelle et digne pour les femmes et les filles souffrant de la fistule obstétricale

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Une vie nouvelle et digne pour les femmes et les filles souffrant de la fistule obstétricale - Aperçu
CA-3-D003873001
6 500 000 $
UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population (41119)
2018-01-08 - 2022-03-31
Actif
Pays / région • Mozambique (100,00%)
Secteur • Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (63,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (37,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Partenariat pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (PMNCH) (objectif primaire explicite)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet a pour but d’améliorer le bien-être des femmes et des filles souffrant d’une fistule obstétricale, un enjeu important en matière de santé et de droits sexuels et reproductifs au Mozambique. Les femmes souffrant de fistules obstétriques souffrent d’incontinence, de honte, d’exclusion sociale et de problèmes de santé. Le projet vise également à accroître les connaissances sur la fistule obstétricale et la disponibilité de traitements courants dans certains établissements de soins stratégiques du pays. Parmi les activités du projet : 1) augmenter la disponibilité des soins pour la fistule obstétricale ainsi que de l’accès à ces traitements pour les jeunes femmes et les filles; 2) renforcer la mobilisation communautaire en matière de sexospécificité et de respect des droits relativement à la fistule obstétricale en encourageant la participation des femmes, des filles, des hommes et des garçons. Il est attendu que : 6 898 femmes et filles reçoivent des soins et des traitements de reconstruction d’une fistule obstétricale, 630 femmes et filles bénéficient de services de réintégration et 6 500 personnes participent à des séances de sensibilisation communautaire.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) augmentation des activités de promotion auprès des familles et des collectivités et protection de la santé sexuelle et reproductive et des droits connexes des femmes et des filles; 2) amélioration de la disponibilité de soins professionnels de qualité pour le traitement et la réparation de la fistule obstétricale ainsi que de l’accès à ces soins pour les jeunes femmes et les filles; 3) augmentation des services de réintégration sociale des femmes et des filles traitées pour une fistule obstétricale.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 1 500 000 $
Décaissements prévus 1 500 000 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Une vie nouvelle et digne pour les femmes et les filles souffrant de la fistule obstétricale - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: