Project profile — Iraq Crisis - Healthcare and Sexual Health Assistance - International Medical Corps 2017-2019

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Iraq Crisis - Healthcare and Sexual Health Assistance - International Medical Corps 2017-2019 - Overview
CA-3-D004149001
$8,000,000
International Medical Corps UK
2017-01-03 - 2020-09-01
Closed
Country / region • Iraq (100.00%)
Sector • Emergency Response
Material relief assistance and services (72010) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

December 2016 - The humanitarian situation in Iraq continues to deteriorate. The violence between armed groups and government forces has displaced over 3 million people from their homes. The capacity of the Government to respond to the basic needs of its citizens has been overwhelmed. While Daesh has lost considerable territory in 2016, it is expected that humanitarian needs will remain significant in the coming years. More people will be displaced by the conflict, while many will remain displaced in camps and host communities. However, there will also be growing numbers of people returning to areas no longer under the control of Daesh who will also need assistance to help restart their lives. With GAC’s support, International Medical Corps is providing healthcare, mental health, sexual and reproductive health, and case management services to conflict-affected Iraqis. Project activities include: (1) providing health services through multi-service centres, including medical consultations, to up to 104,000 beneficiaries and integrated community health and outreach services to up to 112,000 beneficiaries; (2) delivering training in mental health and psychosocial services (MPHSS) case management to up to 195 healthcare workers, and awareness-raising and information sessions on MHPSS; (3) providing training and mentorship to up to 144 health workers at Multi-Service Centres on sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV) case management and screening; (4) providing case management services to up to 2,100 SGBV survivors; (5) conducting recreational and skills-building activities for up to 6,300 women and girls; and (6) conducting safety audits of risk mitigation efforts, and frequent gender dialogue sessions for conflict-affected communities.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved access to health, MHPSS and sexual and reproductive health services; (2) improved capacity of MPHSS service providers to provide health services, referrals, case management and screening; (3) improved access for women and girls to recreational and skill-building activities; and (4) improved community awareness about gender issues, including SGBV. The expected ultimate outcome is lives saved, suffering alleviated and human dignity maintained in countries experiencing humanitarian crisis or that are food insecure.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Iraq Crisis - Healthcare and Sexual Health Assistance - International Medical Corps 2017-2019 - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Crise en Irak - Aide en soins de santé et santé sexuelle - International Medical Corps 2017-2019

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Crise en Irak - Aide en soins de santé et santé sexuelle - International Medical Corps 2017-2019 - Aperçu
CA-3-D004149001
8 000 000 $
International Medical Corps UK
2017-01-03 - 2019-12-31
Actif
Pays / région • Irak (100,00%)
Secteur • Intervention d'urgence
Assistance matérielle et services d'urgence (72010) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Partenariat pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (PMNCH) (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Décembre 2016 – La situation humanitaire en Irak continue de se dégrader. Les combats entre les groupes armés et les forces gouvernementales ont contraint plus de trois millions de personnes à quitter leurs foyers. La demande a dépassé la capacité du gouvernement à combler les besoins de base de ses citoyens. Bien que Daesh ait perdu en 2016 une partie considérable du territoire qu’il avait conquis, on s’attend à ce que les besoins humanitaires demeurent importants dans les prochaines années. Davantage de gens seront déplacés par le conflit, alors que bon nombre d’autres personnes déjà déplacées demeureront dans des camps et dans leur collectivité d’accueil. Cependant, un nombre sans cesse croissant de personnes retourneront dans des régions qui ne sont plus contrôlées par Daesh. Ces personnes auront aussi besoin d’aide pour recommencer leur vie. Avec le soutien d’AMC, International Medical Corps fournit des soins de santé, de santé mentale et de santé sexuelle et génésique ainsi que des services de gestion de cas aux Irakiens touchés par le conflit. Les activités menées dans le cadre du projet comprennent ce qui suit : (1) fournir des services de santé au moyen de centres de services multiples, y compris des consultations médicales, à jusqu’à 104 000 bénéficiaires, et des services intégrés de santé communautaire et de sensibilisation à jusqu’à 112 000 bénéficiaires; (2) fournir une formation sur la gestion de cas liée aux services de santé mentale et de soutien psychosocial à jusqu’à 195 travailleurs de la santé, ainsi que des séances de sensibilisation et d’information sur ces services; (3) fournir à jusqu’à 144 travailleurs de la santé dans des centres de services multiples une formation et un encadrement en matière de gestion et de détection des cas de violence sexuelle et sexospécifique; (4) fournir des services de gestion de cas à jusqu’à 2 100 victimes de violence sexuelle et sexospécifique; (5) organiser des activités récréatives et d’acquisition de compétences pour jusqu’à 6 300 femmes et filles; (6) mener des audits de sécurité des efforts d’atténuation des risques ainsi que de fréquentes séances de discussion sur l’égalité des sexes pour les collectivités touchées par le conflit.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet sont les suivants : (1) un accès amélioré aux services de santé, aux services de santé mentale et de soutien psychosocial et aux services de santé sexuelle et génésique; (2) un renforcement de la capacité des fournisseurs de services de santé mentale et de soutien psychosocial d’offrir des services de santé, d’aiguiller les personnes et d’effectuer la gestion et le tri des cas; (3) un meilleur accès des femmes et des filles aux activités récréatives et d’acquisition de compétences; (4) une sensibilisation accrue des collectivités au sujet de l’égalité entre les sexes, ce qui comprend les questions de violence sexuelle et sexospécifique. Le résultat escompté ultime est de sauver des vies, de soulager la souffrance et de maintenir la dignité humaine dans des pays qui connaissent des crises humanitaires ou une insécurité alimentaire.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Crise en Irak - Aide en soins de santé et santé sexuelle - International Medical Corps 2017-2019 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: