Project profile — Syria Crisis - Health Services for Vulnerable Communities in Lebanon - World Relief Canada 2017-2019

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Syria Crisis - Health Services for Vulnerable Communities in Lebanon - World Relief Canada 2017-2019 - Overview
CA-3-D004191001
$4,500,000
World Relief Canada
2016-12-28 - 2019-12-31
Operational
Country / region • Lebanon (100.00%)
Sector • Humanitarian aid
Basic Health Care in Emergencies (72011) (83.33%)
• Emergency Response
Relief co-ordination; protection and support services (72050) (16.67%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

November 2016 – Lebanon continues to be dramatically affected by the crisis in neighbouring Syria. Lebanon is currently hosting over 1 million Syrian refugees, adding to the existing Palestinian and Iraqi refugees, thus making Lebanon the country with the highest number of refugees per capita in the world. This influx has caused an enduring strain on host communities and the country’s ability to provide a number of essential services such as health, education, water and housing. Conflict-affected households are becoming increasingly vulnerable as poverty and food insecurity levels are increasing. With GAC’s support, World Relief Canada (WRC) is providing Syrian refugees and vulnerable Lebanese access to primary healthcare and promoting positive health behaviour change. Project activities include: (1) providing routine immunizations and malnutrition screening to at-risk children; (2) training up to 15 health professionals on non-communicable diseases (NCD), developing an NCD case-management system, and supporting up to 500 NCD patients in managing their disease; (3) improving ante-natal care, post-natal care, and reproductive health knowledge and services for up to 21,600 persons; (4) training SDC clinical staff on health management, maternal and child health care, and diagnosis and treatment of common diseases; (5) training up to 81 community health volunteers to deliver messaging on infant and young child feeding, family planning, immunizations, vaccinations, NCDs and other health topics; (6) conducting health awareness raising sessions for up to 343,000 beneficiaries; and (7) initiating regular women’s support groups to discuss key women and child health issues.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved access for vulnerable Syrians and Lebanese, particularly women and children, to essential health services; (2) improved knowledge of medical professionals on identifying, treating and managing NCD; (3) improved knowledge of the beneficiary population of key health issues; and (4) improved capacity of health services, including staff and volunteers, to provide quality health care. The expected ultimate outcome is lives saved, suffering alleviated and human dignity maintained in countries experiencing humanitarian crisis or that are food insecure

Financials

Financials


Original budget $750,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
14-08-2019 Disbursement $750,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Syria Crisis - Health Services for Vulnerable Communities in Lebanon - World Relief Canada 2017-2019 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — World Relief Canada
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Crise en Syrie - Service de santé pour les communautés vulnérables au Liban - WRC 2017-2019

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Crise en Syrie - Service de santé pour les communautés vulnérables au Liban - WRC 2017-2019 - Aperçu
CA-3-D004191001
4 500 000 $
World Relief Canada
2016-12-28 - 2022-08-29
Fermé
Pays / région • Liban (100,00%)
Secteur • Aide humanitaire
Service de santé de base en situation d'urgence (72011) (83,33%)
• Intervention d'urgence
Coordination des secours et services de soutien et de protection (72050) (16,67%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Novembre 2016 – La situation humanitaire en Syrie continue de se dégrader en raison de la guerre civile. On estime à 13,5 millions le nombre de personnes qui continuent d’avoir besoin d’une aide humanitaire, dont 6,1 millions sont des personnes déplacées en raison de la violence qui a cours et 975 080 se trouvent dans des collectivités assiégées, selon les Nations Unies. Des attaques délibérées et répétées contre les travailleurs médicaux et humanitaires continuent de marquer le conflit et accentuent la vulnérabilité de la situation de millions de personnes, en particulier des femmes et des enfants, qui sont touchées par le conflit et qui ont peine à accéder aux services les plus essentiels. Avec l’aide d’Affaires mondiales Canada, World Relief Canada permettent aux réfugiés syriens et aux Libanais vulnérables de bénéficier de soins primaires et prônent un changement salutaire des comportements. Les activités de ce projet comprennent : 1) des services de vaccination de routine et de dépistage de la malnutrition auprès d’enfants vulnérables; 2) la formation de quelque 15 professionnels de la santé sur les maladies non transmissibles (MNT), la création d’un système de gestion des MNT, et l’aide aux quelque 500 patients souffrant d’une MNT; 3) l’amélioration des soins prénataux et postnataux et des soins et services génésiques dispensés à quelque 21 600 personnes; 4) la formation du personnel clinique des centres développement social en gestion de la santé, en soins maternels et infantiles, en diagnostic et en traitement de maladies courantes; 5) la formation de quelque 81 bénévoles communautaires pour qu’ils diffusent de l’information sur l’alimentation des nourrissons et des jeunes enfants, sur la planification familiale, l’immunisation, la vaccination, les MNT, etc.; 6) la réalisation de rencontres d’information à l’intention de quelque 343 000 bénéficiaires; 7) la création de groupes de soutien pour débattre régulièrement des principales questions touchant la santé des femmes et des enfants.

Résultats escomptés

On s’attend à ce que projet permette : 1) aux Syriens et aux Libanais vulnérables, surtout les femmes et les enfants, d’avoir un meilleur accès aux services de santé essentiels; 2) d’améliorer les connaissances des professionnels de la santé dans l’identification, le traitement et la gestion des MNT; 3) d’améliorer les connaissances des bénéficiaires au sujet des principales questions relatives à leur santé; 4) d’améliorer la capacité des services de santé, y compris le personnel et les bénévoles, d’assurer des soins de qualité. Ultimement, le résultat escompté consiste à sauver des vies, à alléger les souffrances et à préserver la dignité humaine dans les régions syriennes touchées par le conflit.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Crise en Syrie - Service de santé pour les communautés vulnérables au Liban - WRC 2017-2019 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: