Project profile — South Sudan – Emergency Water, Sanitation and Hygiene – World Relief Canada 2017

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

South Sudan – Emergency Water, Sanitation and Hygiene – World Relief Canada 2017 - Overview
CA-3-D004410001
$1,000,000
World Relief Canada
2017-04-03 - 2018-03-31
Closed
Country / region • South Sudan (100.00%)
Sector • Emergency Response
Material relief assistance and services (72010) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Children's issues (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

March 2017 – In 2017, an estimated 7.5 million people across South Sudan are in need of humanitarian assistance and protection across the country as a result of armed conflict, inter-communal violence, economic crisis, disease outbreaks and climatic shocks. Approximately 1.85 million people are internally displaced within South Sudan and over 1.4 million South Sudanese have sought protection in neighbouring countries. The civil war, as well as erratic rainfall in some areas, have resulted in 4.6 million people projected to require food assistance, with malnutrition rates over emergency thresholds. Outbreaks of cholera, measles, and hepatitis E have strained an already overwhelmed health system. Humanitarian access remains restricted in many conflict areas and large numbers of people are accessible only by air drops. With GAC’s support, World Relief Canada is providing emergency water, sanitation and hygiene services for up to 46,992 conflict-affected people in Jonglei State. Project activities include: (1) rehabilitating 46 boreholes hand pumps, and drilling 20 new boreholes and fitting with hand pumps; (2) training 175 community sanitation resource persons to promote community hygiene and latrine construction; (3) training of 396 village Hygiene Promotion Resource Persons to promote hygiene activities using Child to Child approach; (4) training 66 Village Water User Committees (WUC) for all newly drilled, flushed and rehabilitated boreholes where there is a functioning hand pump.

Expected results

The expected immediate outcomes for this project include: (1) increased access to adequate and safe drinking water; (2) increased access to sanitation facilities and relief items; (3) increased awareness of the importance of proper hygiene to maintain and improve health; and (4) increased skills in water resource management. The expected ultimate outcome is lives saved, suffering alleviated and human dignity maintained in countries experiencing humanitarian crises or acute food insecurity.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $1,000,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
03-04-2017 Commitment $1,000,000
18-05-2017 Disbursement $1,000,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

South Sudan – Emergency Water, Sanitation and Hygiene – World Relief Canada 2017 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — World Relief Canada
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Soudan du Sud - Assistance d'eau, d'assainissement et d'hygiène - World Relief Canada 2017

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Soudan du Sud - Assistance d'eau, d'assainissement et d'hygiène - World Relief Canada 2017 - Aperçu
CA-3-D004410001
1 000 000 $
World Relief Canada
2017-04-03 - 2018-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Soudan du Sud (100,00%)
Secteur • Intervention d'urgence
Assistance matérielle et services d'urgence (72010) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Mars 2017 – En 2017, on estime que 7,5 millions de personnes dans le Soudan du Sud ont besoin d'aide humanitaire et de protection dans tout le pays en raison de conflits armés, de violences intercommunautaires, de crises économiques, de flambées de maladies et de chocs climatiques. Environ 1,85 million de personnes sont déplacées à l'intérieur du Soudan du Sud et plus de 1,4 million de Soudanais du Sud ont cherché refuge dans les pays voisins. La guerre civile, ainsi que des précipitations irrégulières dans certaines régions, ont fait que 4,6 millions de personnes devraient avoir besoin d'une aide alimentaire, les taux de malnutrition dépassant les seuils d'urgence. Les épidémies de choléra, de rougeole et d'hépatite E ont mis à rude épreuve un système de santé déjà débordé. L'accès humanitaire reste limité dans de nombreuses zones de conflit et un grand nombre de personnes ne sont accessibles que par largage. Avec l’aide d’AMC, World Relief Canada fournit des services d'eau, d'assainissement et d'hygiène d'urgence à 46 992 personnes touchées par le conflit dans l'État de Jonglei. Les activités du projet comprennent : (1) remise en état de 46 pompes à main et forage de 20 nouveaux puits et installation de pompes à main ; (2) formation de 175 personnes-ressources en assainissement communautaire pour promouvoir l'hygiène communautaire et la construction de latrines ; (3) formation de 396 personnes-ressources en promotion de l'hygiène au niveau des villages pour promouvoir les activités d'hygiène par l'approche enfant à enfant ; (4) formation de 66 Comités villageois des utilisateurs d'eau pour tous les nouveaux puits forés, vidangés et rénovés où existe une pompe manuelle opérationnelle.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats immédiats attendus du projet sont les suivants : (1) un meilleur accès à une eau potable adéquate et salubre ; (2) un meilleur accès aux installations sanitaires et aux articles de secours ; (3) une sensibilisation accrue à l'importance d'une bonne hygiène pour maintenir et améliorer la santé ; et (4) des compétences accrues en gestion des ressources en eau. Le résultat ultime escompté est de sauver des vies, d'atténuer les souffrances et de préserver la dignité humaine dans les pays qui connaissent des crises humanitaires ou une insécurité alimentaire aiguë.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 1 000 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
03-04-2017 Engagement 1 000 000 $
18-05-2017 Déboursé 1 000 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Soudan du Sud - Assistance d'eau, d'assainissement et d'hygiène - World Relief Canada 2017 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: