Project profile — South Sudan - Emergency Water, Sanitation, Hygiene and Nutrition Assistance - World Vision 2017

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

South Sudan - Emergency Water, Sanitation, Hygiene and Nutrition Assistance - World Vision 2017 - Overview
CA-3-D004412001
$2,450,000
World Vision Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-3119304855)
2017-04-07 - 2018-04-30
Closed
Country / region • South Sudan (100.00%)
Sector • Emergency Response
Material relief assistance and services (72010) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

As of March 2017, an estimated 7.5 million people across South Sudan are in need of humanitarian assistance and protection across the country as a result of armed conflict, inter-communal violence, economic crisis, disease outbreaks and climatic shocks. Approximately 1.85 million people are internally displaced within South Sudan and over 1.4 million South Sudanese have sought protection in neighbouring countries. The civil war, as well as erratic rainfall in some areas, have resulted in 4.6 million people projected to require food assistance, with malnutrition rates over emergency thresholds. Outbreaks of cholera, measles, and hepatitis E have strained an already overwhelmed health system. Humanitarian access remains restricted in many conflict areas and large numbers of people are accessible only by air drops. With GAC’s support, World Vision Canada is providing emergency water, sanitation, hygiene and nutrition services for up to 81,826 conflict-affected people in Upper Nile state. Project activities include: (1) constructing two new water points, rehabilitating one water treatment plant and forming two community water management committees; (2) constructing 140 sanitation facilities and training 15 hygiene promoters to conduct 16 hygiene awareness campaigns; and (3) implementing Community-based Management of Acute Malnutrition to screen 9,194 children and 3,871 pregnant and lactating women.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) increased access to safe drinking water, safe sanitation and hygiene practices among conflict affected populations; and (2) increased access to life saving nutrition treatment and prevention services for children under five and pregnant and lactating women. The expected ultimate outcome is lives saved, suffering alleviated and human dignity maintained in countries experiencing humanitarian crises or acute food insecurity.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

South Sudan - Emergency Water, Sanitation, Hygiene and Nutrition Assistance - World Vision 2017 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — World Vision Canada
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Soudan du Sud - Aide d'urgence en eau, assainissement, hygiène et nutrition - Vision Mondiale 2017

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Soudan du Sud - Aide d'urgence en eau, assainissement, hygiène et nutrition - Vision Mondiale 2017 - Aperçu
CA-3-D004412001
2 450 000 $
Vision Mondiale Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-3119304855)
2017-04-07 - 2018-04-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Soudan du Sud (100,00%)
Secteur • Intervention d'urgence
Assistance matérielle et services d'urgence (72010) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

En mars 2017, on estime que 7,5 millions de personnes dans le Soudan du Sud ont besoin d'aide humanitaire et de protection dans tout le pays en raison de conflits armés, de violences intercommunautaires, de crises économiques, de flambées de maladies et de chocs climatiques. Environ 1,85 million de personnes sont déplacées à l'intérieur du Soudan du Sud et plus de 1,4 million de Soudanais du Sud ont cherché refuge dans les pays voisins. La guerre civile, ainsi que des précipitations irrégulières dans certaines régions, ont fait que 4,6 millions de personnes devraient avoir besoin d'une aide alimentaire, les taux de malnutrition dépassant les seuils d'urgence. Les épidémies de choléra, de rougeole et d'hépatite E ont mis à rude épreuve un système de santé déjà débordé. L'accès humanitaire reste limité dans de nombreuses zones de conflit et un grand nombre de personnes ne sont accessibles que par largage. Avec l’aide d’AMC, Vision Mondiale Canada fournit des services d'eau, d'assainissement, d'hygiène et de nutrition d'urgence à 81 826 personnes touchées par le conflit dans l'État du Haut-Nil. Les activités du projet comprennent : (1) construction de deux nouveaux points d'eau, réhabilitation d'une station de traitement d'eau et création de deux comités communautaires de gestion de l'eau ; (2) construction de 140 installations sanitaires et formation de 15 promoteurs de l'hygiène pour mener 16 campagnes de sensibilisation à l'hygiène ; (3) mise en œuvre de la gestion communautaire de la malnutrition aiguë pour dépister 9 194 enfants et 3 871 femmes enceintes et allaitantes.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés du projet comprennent : (1) un meilleur accès à l'eau potable, à l'assainissement et aux pratiques d'hygiène parmi les populations touchées par le conflit ; (2) un meilleur accès aux services de prévention et de traitement nutritionnel pour les enfants de moins de cinq ans et les femmes enceintes et allaitantes. Le résultat ultime escompté est de sauver des vies, d'atténuer les souffrances et de préserver la dignité humaine dans les pays qui connaissent des crises humanitaires ou une insécurité alimentaire aiguë.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Soudan du Sud - Aide d'urgence en eau, assainissement, hygiène et nutrition - Vision Mondiale 2017 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Vision Mondiale Canada
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: