Project profile — Strengthening National Sexual and Reproductive Health Services in Mozambique

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Strengthening National Sexual and Reproductive Health Services in Mozambique - Overview
CA-3-D004477001
$74,540,634
IBRD Trust Funds - World Bank (44001)
2018-03-26 - 2022-03-31
Operational
Country / region • Mozambique (100.00%)
Sector • Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Population policy and administrative management (13010) (20.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (30.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Family planning (13030) (30.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (5.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (15.00%)
Policy marker • Youth Issues (principal objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (principal objective and in support of an action programme)
• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to improve the sexual and reproductive health of women and adolescents, and the health of newborns and children in underserved areas in Mozambique. It supports specific sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) objectives within the World Bank’s broader “Mozambique Primary Health Care Strengthening Program”. The project focuses on 42 districts, which are among the most underserved. Key activities include: (1) increasing birth deliveries in health facilities; (2) supporting secondary schools to offer sexual and reproductive health services, such as information and support for contraceptive methods; (3) increasing family planning services; (4) increasing the number of health centers carrying out semi-annual public social audits; and (5) improving certification and coding of information on causes of death through strengthened civil registration and vital statistics (CRVS) systems. The project is implemented in collaboration with the Global Financing Facility in Support of Every Woman, Every Child. It is aligned with the priorities of the Government of Mozambique’s Health Sector Plan to improve reproductive, maternal, newborn, child and adolescent health and nutrition, as well as to strengthen its CRVS systems. The project is implemented in collaboration with the Global Financing Facility in Support of Every Woman, Every Child and is aligned with the priorities of the Government of Mozambique’s Health Sector Plan that attain to reproductive, maternal, newborn, child and adolescent health and nutrition, as well as to CRVS systems.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased empowerment of women and girls in selected districts to exercise agency in sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) decision-making; and (2) improved efficiency and effectiveness of the Mozambique Ministry of Health to provide gender responsive and adolescent-friendly SRHR services that meet the standards for quality care and equity in access, and respect rights.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $15,000,000
Planned Disbursement $8,059,218
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Strengthening National Sexual and Reproductive Health Services in Mozambique - Related information
Related links
Partner website — IBRD Trust Funds - World Bank
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Basket funds/pooled funding
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcement des services nationaux de santé sexuelle et reproductive au Mozambique



Aperçu 

CA-3-D004477001
74 540 634 $
Fonds fiduciaires BIRD - Banque mondiale (44001)
2018-03-26 - 2024-06-30
Actif
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Mozambique (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative :
Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative (13010) (20,00%)
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (30,00%)
Planification familiale (13030) (30,00%)
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (5,00%)
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (15,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (objectif significatif)

Description 

Ce projet vise à améliorer la santé sexuelle et reproductive des femmes et des adolescents ainsi que la santé des nouveau-nés et des enfants dans les régions mal desservies du Mozambique. Il soutient des objectifs précis en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductive et de droits connexes (SSRD) dans le cadre du « Programme de renforcement des soins de santé primaires au Mozambique » de la Banque mondiale. Le projet cible 42 districts, qui sont parmi les plus mal desservis. Les principales activités comprennent : 1) l’augmentation du nombre d’accouchements en établissements de santé; 2) aider les écoles secondaires à offrir des services de santé sexuelle et reproductive, comme de l’information sur les méthodes contraceptives et un soutien à cet égard; 3) l’augmentation des services de planification familiale; 4) l’augmentation du nombre de centres de santé effectuant des bilans sociaux publics semestriels; 5) l’amélioration de la certification et du codage de l’information relative aux causes de décès par le renforcement des systèmes d’enregistrement des actes d’état civil et des statistiques de l’état civil (CRVS). Le projet est mis en œuvre en collaboration avec le Mécanisme de financement mondial à l’appui de l’initiative Chaque femme, chaque enfant. Il est conforme aux priorités du plan pour le secteur de la santé du gouvernement du Mozambique d’améliorer la santé reproductive, maternelle et des nouveau-nés, la santé des enfants et des adolescents et la nutrition, ainsi que de renforcer les systèmes CRVS.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés pour ce projet comprennent : 1) un renforcement accru du pouvoir des femmes et des filles dans les districts sélectionnés, afin qu’elles puissent exercer leurs droits et prendre les décisions qui leur conviennent en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductive; 2) l’amélioration de l’efficacité et de l’efficience du ministère de la Santé du Mozambique en ce qui a trait à offrir des services de santé sexuelle et reproductive et de droits connexes adaptés au genre et aux adolescents qui répondent à la norme en matière de qualité des soins et d’accès équitable et respectent les droits des populations ciblées.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2020 : 1) 2 210 111 femmes ont accès à des services d’accouchement dans un établissement de santé; 2) 3 400 agents de santé communautaires (dont 43 % de femmes) formés et affectés à des établissements offrant des services de santé, notamment pour fournir des services de santé sexuelle et reproductive aux adolescents et aux femmes; 3) 3 080 485 femmes et adolescentes ont accès à la contraception moderne; 4) 2 058 328 femmes enceintes ont reçu trois doses de suppléments de fer et d’acide folique.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Fonds communs/financements groupés
Date de modification :