Project profile — Institutional Support to the International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala - 2018-2019

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Institutional Support to the International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala - 2018-2019 - Overview
CA-3-D004519001
$4,100,000
UNDP - United Nations Development Programme (41114)
2018-01-26 - 2019-09-04
Closed
Country / region • Guatemala (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Anti-corruption organisations and institutions (15113) (40.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Legal and judicial development (15130) (40.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Ending violence against women and girls (15180) (20.00%)
Policy marker • Indigenous Issues (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (principal objective)
• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This grant is Canada’s long-term institutional support to the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)’s multi-donor trust fund in support of the International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala (CICIG). It contributes to increasing the rule of law, thereby reducing impunity and improving access to rights, especially for women and Indigenous communities. To do so, CICIG seeks to strengthen Guatemala’s capacity to conduct gender-sensitive criminal investigations, prosecute State infiltrated organized crime, and propose judicial and institutional reforms.

Expected results

The expected outcomes of this project include: (1) strengthened State institutions responsible for the gender-sensitive criminal investigation and prosecution of organized criminal networks involved in corruption and other crimes that undermine the rule of law and security - including those against women and girls; and (2) improved justice sector gender-sensitive response mechanisms to reduce impunity.

Results achieved

Results achieved by the International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala (CICIG) through the support of the Government of Canada and other international donors, until March 2019 include: (1) criminal investigations of 107 members of twelve criminal structures, including 88 men and 19 women, that culminated in formal accusations by CICIG and the Guatemalan Public Ministry . The cases presented before the Guatemalan courts focussed on corruption in health, transport, the military industry, municipalities, congress, and the justice system, as well as illicit electoral financing and extrajudicial killings and torture; and (2) CICIG developed technical proposals for criminal code reform on reduced penalties for accepting charges, and on reducing the use of preventative detention. CICIG also worked with civil society to propose criminal code reforms on human and sex trafficking. Results achieved through the Government of Canada’s continuous support to CICIG, together with the Guatemalan Public Ministry, over more than 11 years through four projects, include: (1) identified and dismantled over 60 criminal structures linked to the State; (2) presented 34 legal reforms to strengthen the Guatemalan justice system; (3) put forward more than 100 criminal accusations against organized crime groups; processed more than 680 people and achieved 310 convictions; (4) CICIG has maintained a 70% citizen approval rate over its lifetime and is strongly supported by civil society organizations including women's, Indigenous, LGBTI, human rights and justice organizations; and (5) CICIG has installed new investigative capacities in the Public Ministry and provided technical assistance to other State dependencies such as the Supreme Electoral Tribunal, the Ministries of Health, Education, Interior, the Judicial Organism and the National Tax Authority.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Institutional Support to the International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala - 2018-2019 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNDP - United Nations Development Programme
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by international organisations (multilateral, INGO)
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui institutionnel à la Commission internationale contre l’impunité au Guatemala - 2018-2019

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Appui institutionnel à la Commission internationale contre l’impunité au Guatemala - 2018-2019 - Aperçu
CA-3-D004519001
4 100 000 $
PNUD - Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (41114)
2018-01-26 - 2019-09-04
Fermé
Pays / région • Guatemala (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15113) (40,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Développement des services légaux et judiciaires (15130) (40,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles (15180) (20,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les Autochtones (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif principal)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Partenariat pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (PMNCH) (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Cette subvention constitue l'appui institutionnel à long terme du Canada au fonds fiduciaire multidonateurs du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD) afin d'appuyer la Commission internationale contre l’impunité au Guatemala (CICIG). Elle contribue au renforcement de la primauté du droit, réduisant ainsi l’impunité et améliorant l’accès aux droits, en particulier pour les femmes et les collectivités autochtones. Pour ce faire, la CICIG cherche à renforcer la capacité du Guatemala de mener des enquêtes criminelles sexospécifiques, de poursuivre les organisations criminelles qui s’infiltrent dans l’État et de proposer des réformes judiciaires et institutionnelles.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) renforcement des institutions de l’État chargées des enquêtes criminelles sexospécifiques et de la poursuite des réseaux d’organisations criminelles participant à la corruption et à d’autres crimes qui sapent la primauté du droit et la sécurité – notamment ceux qui visent les femmes et les filles; 2) amélioration des mécanismes d’intervention adaptés au sexe du secteur judiciaire afin de réduire l’impunité.

Résultats atteints

Les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2019 par la Commission internationale contre l’impunité au Guatemala (CICIG), grâce à l’appui du gouvernement du Canada et d’autres donateurs internationaux, comprennent ce qui suit : 1) des enquêtes criminelles sur 107 membres de douze structures criminelles, dont 88 hommes et 19 femmes, qui ont abouti à des accusations officielles de la CICIG et du ministère public du Guatemala. Les affaires présentées devant les tribunaux du Guatemala portaient sur la corruption dans la santé, les transports, l’industrie militaire, les municipalités, le congrès et le système judiciaire, ainsi que sur le financement électoral illicite, les exécutions extrajudiciaires et la torture; 2) la CICIG a élaboré des propositions techniques de réforme du Code criminel sur la réduction des peines en cas d’acceptation d’accusations et du recours à la détention préventive. La CICIG a aussi collaboré avec la société civile pour proposer des réformes du Code criminel sur la traite de personnes et le trafic sexuel. Les résultats obtenus, grâce à l’appui continu du gouvernement du Canada à la CICIG, et avec l’aide du ministère public du Guatemala, dans le cadre de quatre projets menés sur une période de plus de onze ans, sont les suivants : 1) plus de 60 structures criminelles liées à l’État ont été identifiées et démantelées; 2) 34 réformes juridiques visant à renforcer le système judiciaire du Guatemala ont été présentées; 3) présenté plus de 100 accusations criminelles contre des groupes du crime organisé ; traité plus de 680 personnes et obtenu 310 condamnationses; 4) la CICIG a maintenu un taux d’approbation des citoyens de 70 % tout au long de son existence et est fortement soutenue par des organisations de la société civile, notamment des organisations de femmes, d’Autochtones, de personnes LGBTI, ainsi que des organisations axées sur les droits de la personne et la justice; 5) la CICIG a mis en place de nouvelles capacités d’enquête au sein du ministère public et a fourni une aide technique à d’autres dépendances de l’État comme le Tribunal électoral suprême, les ministères de la Santé, de l’Éducation et de l’Intérieur, l’appareil judiciaire et les autorités fiscales nationales.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Appui institutionnel à la Commission internationale contre l’impunité au Guatemala - 2018-2019 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — PNUD - Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des organisations internationales (multilatérales, ONGI)
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: