Project profile — Strengthening the Rights of Indigenous and Other Discriminated Women in Guatemala

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Strengthening the Rights of Indigenous and Other Discriminated Women in Guatemala - Overview
CA-3-D004565001
$2,500,000
OHCHR - United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (41313)
2018-03-27 - 2023-12-31
Operational
Country / region • Guatemala (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Democratic participation and civil society (15150) (20.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Human rights (15160) (50.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Ending violence against women and girls (15180) (30.00%)
Policy marker • Indigenous Issues (significant objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (principal objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This initiative supports the enhancement of gender equality human rights programming within the Guatemala Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR). Women and girls are subject to some of the cruelest human rights violations and yet many organizations specialized in human rights promotion and protection are not prepared to deal with these gender-specific crimes. Project activities include: (1) supporting policy development for and direct accompaniment of women human rights defenders; (2) supporting victims of sexual and gender-based violence; (3) denouncing discrimination especially related to women's economic, social and cultural rights; and (4) strengthening gender-sensitive justice systems through strategic litigation.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased exercise of international human rights standards, especially women’s rights standards, by Indigenous and other disadvantaged women; (2) increased inclusive, accountable, and gender responsive governance by state actors in favour of Indigenous and other disadvantaged women; and (3) enhanced gender equality integration by OHCHR and other non-state actors in support of Indigenous and other disadvantaged women.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2019 include: (1) a sentence by Guatemala’s Constitutional Court on the recognition of the rights of Indigenous midwives; (2) the preparation and discussion of a legal proposal on intellectual property by over 100 Indigenous women weavers to help Indigenous weavers profit from their designs and protect against unauthorised use, or intellectual property theft; (3) the publication and presentation of a report listing the institutional causes behind a 2017 State-run children's home fire that killed 41 girls and injured 15 others, with recommendations on how to ensure this never happens again, and reforms needed in the child protection system. Fourteen girls that survived this tragedy entered into direct dialogue with State officials to demand justice and reparations; (4) a training program to strengthen the knowledge of judges on gender justice has been updated and validated with the Guatemalan School of Judicial Studies; (5) 217 women and girls were trained on international human rights standards of Indigenous, and other discriminated women’s, rights; (6) a national contest with 120 graphic design university students (of which 66 were women) was held to increase their awareness about collective intellectual property rights; (7) a public exhibition of over 60 posters and brochures on the work of Indigenous women weavers in Guatemala was organized and held; and (8) through the project, OHCHR enhanced their gender equality integration. This was evidenced in the presentation of their annual report in March 2019 that fully integrated a gender and intercultural analysis.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $550,000
Planned Disbursement $550,000
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Strengthening the Rights of Indigenous and Other Discriminated Women in Guatemala - Related information
Related links
Partner website — OHCHR - United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by international organisations (multilateral, INGO)
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcer les droits des femmes autochtones et autres femmes discriminées au Guatemala

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Renforcer les droits des femmes autochtones et autres femmes discriminées au Guatemala - Aperçu
CA-3-D004565001
2 500 000 $
HCDH - Nations Unies - Bureau du Commissariat aux droits de l'homme (41313)
2018-03-27 - 2023-12-31
Actif
Pays / région • Guatemala (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Participation démocratique et société civile (15150) (20,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Droits de la personne (15160) (50,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles (15180) (30,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les Autochtones (objectif significatif)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif principal)
• Partenariat pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (PMNCH) (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Cette initiative appuie l’amélioration des programmes axés sur l’égalité des sexes et les droits de la personne du bureau du Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies aux droits de l’homme (HCDH) au Guatemala. Les femmes et les filles sont exposées à de cruelles violations des droits de la personne, mais de nombreuses organisations spécialisées dans la promotion et la protection des droits de la personne ne sont pas préparées à gérer ces crimes fondés sur le sexe. Les activités de projet comprennent : 1) appuyer l’accompagnement direct des défenseurs des droits fondamentaux des femmes et l’élaboration de politiques destinées à ces derniers; 2) appuyer les victimes de violence sexuelle et fondée sur le sexe; 3) dénoncer la discrimination, notamment en ce qui a trait aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels des femmes; 4) renforcer, au moyen de litiges stratégiques, la prise en compte des sexospécificités par le système judiciaire.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats attendus de ce projet comprennent : 1) application accrue des normes internationales en matière de droits de la personne, et particulièrement des normes relatives aux droits des femmes, pour les femmes autochtones et les autres femmes désavantagées; 2) exercice, par les acteurs étatiques, d’une gouvernance plus inclusive, plus responsable et mieux adaptée au sexe en faveur des femmes autochtones et des autres femmes désavantagées; 3) intégration accrue de l’égalité entre les sexes par le HCDH et les autres acteurs non étatiques à l’appui des femmes autochtones et des autres femmes désavantagées.

Résultats atteints

En mars 2019, les résultats obtenus comprennent ce qui suit : 1) une sentence du tribunal constitutionnel du Guatemala sur la reconnaissance des droits des sages-femmes autochtones; 2) la préparation et la discussion d’une proposition de loi sur la propriété intellectuelle par plus de 100 femmes autochtones tisserandes pour aider les tisserandes autochtones à tirer profit de leurs réalisations et à se protéger contre l’utilisation non autorisée ou le vol de propriété intellectuelle; 3) la publication et la présentation d’un rapport énumérant les causes institutionnelles de l’incendie d’un foyer d’enfants géré par l’État en 2017 qui a tué 41 filles et en a blessé 15 autres, avec des recommandations sur la façon d’éviter qu’un tel incident ne se reproduise et les réformes nécessaires dans le système de protection de l’enfant. Quatorze survivantes ont entamé un dialogue direct avec les représentants de l’État pour demander justice et réparations; 4) un programme de formation visant à renforcer les connaissances des juges sur l’égalité des genres a été mis à jour et validé avec l’École d’études judiciaires du Guatemala; 5) quelque 217 femmes et filles ont reçu une formation sur les normes internationales en matière de droits des femmes Autochtones et des autres femmes victimes de discrimination; 6) un concours national réunissant 120 étudiants universitaires en graphisme (dont 66 femmes) a été organisé pour les sensibiliser aux droits collectifs de propriété intellectuelle; 7) une exposition publique de plus de 60 affiches et brochures sur le travail des tisserandes autochtones au Guatemala a été organisée; 8) dans le cadre de ce projet, le HCDH a renforcé l’intégration de l’égalité des genres dans le cadre de leurs programmes et activités. C’est ce qui ressort de la présentation de leur rapport annuel en mars 2019 qui intègre pleinement une analyse comparative entre les genres et interculturelle.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 700 000 $
Décaissements prévus 700 000 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Renforcer les droits des femmes autochtones et autres femmes discriminées au Guatemala - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — HCDH - Nations Unies - Bureau du Commissariat aux droits de l'homme
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des organisations internationales (multilatérales, ONGI)
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: