Project profile — Girls Reproductive Health, Rights and Empowerment Accelerated in Tanzania

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Girls Reproductive Health, Rights and Empowerment Accelerated in Tanzania - Overview
CA-3-D004593001
$19,000,000
UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund (XM-DAC-41122)
2019-03-30 - 2025-03-31
Operational
Country / region • Tanzania (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (15.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Population policy and administrative management (13010) (15.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (35.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Family planning (13030) (30.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (5.00%)
Policy marker • Youth Issues (principal objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (principal objective)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project works to empower and to improve the sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) and well-being of vulnerable Tanzanian adolescent girls through a multifaceted and comprehensive approach and by working with adolescent boys and girls, parents, communities and governments. Project activities include: (1) scaling-up the supply (provision of and access to services) and demand (request for and use of services) for a full range of SRHR and nutrition services and information for adolescent girls; (2) establishing a platform for adolescent girls to share views on, and gain knowledge of, their SRHR, nutrition and empowerment issues, and leverage this platform for SRHR advocacy; (3) building evidence for enhanced government programming, policy, advocacy and accountability in adolescent girls' SRHR and nutrition issues and gaps, and propose innovative solutions; (4) training approximately 1,162 healthcare workers in 581 health facilities, and 3,350 community health workers; (5) raising the awareness of over 227,500 adolescent girls and 200,000 adolescent boys on their SRHR and on nutrition issues through community and school interventions and activities, as well as providing leadership training; (6) reaching approximately 850,000 adolescent girls and boys through youth-targeted radio programs and media interventions; and (7) raising the awareness of approximately 200,000 adolescent boys and 30,000 parents on harmful norms, gender roles and social attitudes that are barriers to the well-being and empowerment of adolescent girls.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved provision of, and adolescent girls' use of, gender-responsive adolescent-friendly SRHR and nutrition services; and (2) strengthened evidence base for more effective adolescent SRHR planning and implementation.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2022) include: (1) supported 289 health care workers (65% women) in health facilities in mainland and Zanzibar, 982 community health workers (68% women) in mainland and 1,848 community health volunteers (83% women) in Zanzibar and 458 teachers (46% women) in mainland to address the specific needs of adolescent girls and boys; (2) provided 298,669 adolescents and young people (59% women, 41% men) provided with Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights (SRHR) and nutrition information and services; (3) equipped 80,102 adolescents (55% women, 45% men) with knowledge and skills on Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights, HIV and nutrition in schools and communities in Mbeya, Songwe and Zanzibar; (4) trained 982 community health workers in Mbeya and Songwe and community health volunteers in Zanzibar (68% females, 32% males); (5) reached 299,452 adolescents (52% young women, 48% young men) were reached with Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights and nutrition information and services; (6) trained 1,084 community health volunteers (55% women, 45% men) provided 288,730 adolescents (52% women, 48% men) with various Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights and nutrition services (205,238 adolescents from Mbeya region and 83,492 from Songwe region). The key types of services used included Sexual and Reproductive Health services, used by 53% of adolescents. Nutrition services: 32% and gender-based violence services: 14% of adolescents; (7) reached 288,177 adolescents (59% young women, 41% young men) through integrated Adolescent Sexual and Reproductive Health education and the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccination by health workers in schools in Mbeya and Songwe regions. Out of these adolescents, 140,291 (57% young women, 43% young men) were from Mbeya and 147,886 (60% girls, 40% boys) were from Songwe; (8) supported 2,253 survivors of sexual abuse (91% women, 9% men). Of these, 1,460 adolescents (85% young women, 15% women) were reported in Zanzibar; and (9) reached 12,468 parents and caregivers (76% women) and 13,058 religious and traditional leaders and community members (56% women) through key messages on preventing harmful socio-cultural norms that perpetuate gender-based violence among adolescent girls.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $3,000,000
Planned Disbursement $435,000
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Girls Reproductive Health, Rights and Empowerment Accelerated in Tanzania - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Améliorer la santé et les droits reproductifs et l'autonomisation des filles en Tanzanie

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Améliorer la santé et les droits reproductifs et l'autonomisation des filles en Tanzanie - Aperçu
CA-3-D004593001
19 000 000 $
UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (XM-DAC-41122)
2019-03-30 - 2025-03-31
Actif
Pays / région • Tanzanie (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (15,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative (13010) (15,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (35,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Planification familiale (13030) (30,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (5,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif principal)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (objectif principal)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à autonomiser et à améliorer la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs (SDSR) et le bien-être des adolescentes tanzaniennes vulnérables grâce à une approche multidimensionnelle et globale et en travaillant avec les adolescents, garçons et filles, les parents, les communautés et les gouvernements. Les activités de ce projet comprennent : 1) accroître l'offre (fourniture et accès aux services) et la demande (demande et utilisation de services) d'une gamme complète de services et d'informations en matière de SDSR et de nutrition pour les adolescentes; 2) établir une plate-forme permettant aux adolescentes de faire part de leurs opinions et d'acquérir des connaissances sur les questions de SDSR, de nutrition et de responsabilisation qui les concernent, et exploiter cette plate-forme pour la défense des intérêts en matière de SDSR; 3) recueillir des données probantes en faveur d'une amélioration des programmes, des politiques, de la défense des intérêts et de la responsabilisation en ce qui concerne les questions et les lacunes en matière de SDSR et de nutrition des adolescentes et proposer des solutions novatrices; 4) former environ 1 162 agents de santé dans 581 établissements de santé, et 3 350 agents de santé communautaires; 5) sensibiliser plus de 227 500 adolescentes et 200 000 adolescents aux questions de SDSR et de nutrition par le biais d'interventions et d'activités communautaires et scolaires, ainsi qu'en fournissant une formation sur le leadership; 6) toucher environ 850 000 adolescents et adolescentes par des programmes radio et des interventions médiatiques destinés aux jeunes; 7) sensibiliser environ 200 000 adolescents et 30 000 parents aux normes néfastes, aux rôles sexuels et aux attitudes sociales qui font obstacle au bien-être et au pouvoir des adolescentes.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) l'amélioration de l'offre de services de SDSR et de nutrition adaptés aux besoins des adolescents et tenant compte des sexospécificités et de leur utilisation par les adolescentes; 2) renforcement de la base de données probantes pour une planification et une mise en œuvre plus efficaces en ce qui concerne la SDSR à l’intention des adolescents.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (mars 2022) : 1) 289 agents de santé (65 % de femmes) dans des établissements de santé sur le continent et à Zanzibar soutenus, 982 agents de santé communautaires (68 % de femmes) sur le continent et 1 848 volontaires de santé communautaire (83 % de femmes) à Zanzibar et 458 enseignants (46 % femmes) sur le continent soutenus pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques des adolescentes et des adolescents; 2) 298 669 adolescents et jeunes (59 % de femmes, 41 % d'hommes) fournis en information et en services sur la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs (SDSR) et sur la nutrition; 3) 80 102 adolescents (55 % de femmes, 45 % d'hommes) dotés de connaissances et de compétences sur la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs, le VIH et la nutrition dans les écoles et les communautés de Mbeya, Songwe et Zanzibar; 4) 982 agents de santé communautaires à Mbeya et Songwe et des volontaires de santé communautaire à Zanzibar (68 % de femmes, 32 % d'hommes) formés; 5) 299 452 adolescents (52 % de jeunes femmes, 48 % de jeunes hommes) atteints par l’information et des services sur la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs et sur la nutrition; 6) 1 084 volontaires de santé communautaires formés (55 % de femmes, 45 % d'hommes) ont fourni à 288 730 adolescents (52 % de femmes, 48 % d'hommes) divers services de santé et droits sexuels et reproductifs et de nutrition (205 238 adolescents de la région de Mbeya et 83 492 de la région de Songwe). Les principaux types de services utilisés comprenaient les services de santé sexuelle et reproductive, utilisés par 53 % des adolescents. Services de nutrition : 32 % et services de violence sexiste : 14 % des adolescents; 7) 288 177 adolescents (59 % de jeunes femmes, 41 % de jeunes hommes) atteint grâce à une éducation intégrée à la santé sexuelle et reproductive des adolescents et à la vaccination contre le papillomavirus humain (VPH) par des agents de santé dans les écoles des régions de Mbeya et Songwe. Parmi ces adolescents, 140 291 (57 % de jeunes femmes, 43 % de jeunes hommes) étaient de Mbeya et 147 886 (60 % de filles, 40 % de garçons) étaient de Songwe; 8) 2 253 survivants d'abus sexuels (91 % de femmes, 9 % d'hommes) soutenus. Parmi ceux-ci, 1 460 adolescents (85 % de jeunes femmes, 15 % de femmes) ont été signalés à Zanzibar; 9) 12 468 parents et tuteurs (76 % de femmes) et 13 058 chefs religieux et traditionnels et membres de la communauté (56 % de femmes) atteints par le biais de messages clés sur la prévention des normes socioculturelles néfastes qui perpétuent la violence sexiste chez les adolescentes.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 3 000 000 $
Décaissements prévus 435 000 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Améliorer la santé et les droits reproductifs et l'autonomisation des filles en Tanzanie - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: