Project profile — Strengthening Women's Organizations to Support Women's Political Leadership

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Strengthening Women's Organizations to Support Women's Political Leadership - Overview
CA-3-D004669001
$4,990,000
ParlAmericas - Parliamentarians for the Americas (CA-CRA_ACR-3868778606)
2018-12-05 - 2024-03-31
Operational
Country / region • West Indies, regional (40.00%)
• South America, regional (20.00%)
• North and Central America, regional (40.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Democratic participation and civil society (15150) (70.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Elections (15151) (10.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Legislatures and political parties (15152) (20.00%)
Policy marker • Participatory development and good governance (principal objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to address the continued under-representation of women in leadership and decision-making roles in Latin America and the Caribbean, which limits their ability to fully exercise their human rights. The project addresses this issue by strengthening two non-partisan women’s leadership organizations in the region. The project also works to build the capacity of these two women’s organizations so that they can more effectively implement their programming, network with stakeholders, and provide knowledge and skills-developing services to emerging women leaders. The project also aims to position the organizations as sustainable, credible vehicles for advancing the participation of women in politics. Project activities include: (1) providing technical support on financial and fund management and diversification, establishing local chapters, strategic planning and results-based management; (2) coordinating leadership initiatives for young women, and outreach to socialise positive attitudes about women in leadership roles for school-aged girls and boys; (3) providing training to encourage and support electoral candidacies by women; and (4) sharing experiences and best practises with other women’s organizations, through the strengthening of communications and advocacy tools, and strategies.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved management and sustainability of intermediary organization and their local chapters in the region; and (2) enhanced delivery of activities by intermediary organisations and their local chapters, to promote and support enabling environments for women’s political leadership in the region.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2022 include: (1) opened fully equipped and staffed offices for two non-partisan women’s leadership organizations in the region. This included the legal registration of Caribbean Women in Leadership (CIWiL) as a non-governmental organization in Trinidad and Tobago and securing a permanent office space for the NGO the Foro Nacional de Mujeres de Partidos Políticos (FONAMUPP); (2) formed seven CIWiL country chapters in Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, The Bahamas, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago; (3) implemented the inaugural Young Women in Leadership initiative by CIWiL in partnership with ParlAmericas and the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago, in which 58 young women participated; (4) implemented the second Young Women in Leadership initiative by CIWiL and ParlAmericas, in partnership with the Parliament of Antigua and Barbuda, in which 41 young women participated; (5) implemented the first Impacto Legislativo Joven initiative by FONAMUPP and ParlAmericas, in partnership with the Citizen Participation Directorate of the National Assembly of Panama in which 45 young leaders (26 women/19 men) participated. This resulted in the creation of a citizen’s initiative on sustainable and inclusive ecotourism. The initiative was converted into a bill and is now before a commission of the National Assembly; (6) coordinated three editions of the Brújula Mujer Joven initiative by FONAMUPP in partnership with the Friedrich Ebert Foundation; (7) 1,000 women and nine men from 11 countries and one territory participated in CIWiL training activities to encourage and support electoral candidacies and transformational leadership; (8) 1,246 women and 42 men participated in FONAMUPP trainings in Panama. The activities looked at ways of improving conditions for the election of women since the country’s May 2019 elections; (9) supported 160 women’s organizations and networks through project activities, including 103 from 11 Anglophone Caribbean countries and one territory (Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Jamaica, Guyana, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago, and Saint Maarten), and 57 in 13 Latin American countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, and Venezuela); and (10) 197 young persons (of whom 181 are women) in the Caribbean and 235 young persons (of whom 179 are women) in Panama have benefited from youth-focused leadership training activities implemented by the intermediary organizations.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $892,012
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
07-12-2022 Disbursement $326,744
08-07-2022 Disbursement $565,268
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Strengthening Women's Organizations to Support Women's Political Leadership - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcer les organisations de femmes pour soutenir le leadership politique des femmes

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Renforcer les organisations de femmes pour soutenir le leadership politique des femmes - Aperçu
CA-3-D004669001
4 990 000 $
ParlAmericas - Parlementaires pour les Amériques (CA-CRA_ACR-3868778606)
2018-12-05 - 2024-03-31
Actif
Pays / région • Indes occ., régional (40,00%)
• Amérique du Sud, régional (20,00%)
• Amérique N. & C., régional (40,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Participation démocratique et société civile (15150) (70,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Élections (15151) (10,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Assemblées législatives et partis politiques (15152) (20,00%)
Marqueur politique • Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif principal)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à remédier à la sous-représentation chronique des femmes dans les postes de direction et de décision en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, qui limite leur capacité à exercer pleinement leurs droits fondamentaux. Le projet s’attaque à ce problème en renforçant deux organisations non partisanes de leadership des femmes dans la région. Le projet vise également à renforcer les capacités de ces deux organisations de femmes afin qu’elles puissent mettre en œuvre plus efficacement leurs programmes, établir des réseaux avec les intervenants et offrir des services de perfectionnement des connaissances et des compétences aux femmes dirigeantes de demain. Le projet vise également à positionner les organisations comme des véhicules durables et crédibles pour promouvoir la participation des femmes à la vie politique. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) fournir un appui technique concernant la gestion et la diversification des ressources financières et des fonds, la création de sections locales, la planification stratégique et la gestion axée sur les résultats; 2) coordonner les initiatives de leadership pour les jeunes femmes et sensibiliser les filles et les garçons d’âge scolaire pour qu’ils adoptent des attitudes positives au sujet des femmes dans les rôles de leadership; 3) offrir une formation pour encourager et soutenir les candidatures des femmes lors des élections; 4) partager leurs expériences et meilleures pratiques avec d'autres organisations de femmes, en renforçant les outils et les stratégies en communication et plaidoyer.

Résultats escomptés

Parmi les résultats escomptés de ce projet : 1) amélioration de la gestion et de la durabilité des organisations intermédiaires et de leurs sections locales dans la région; 2) amélioration de l’exécution des activités par les organisations intermédiaires et leurs sections locales, afin de promouvoir et de soutenir des environnements favorables au leadership politique des femmes dans la région.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2022 : 1) établissement de bureaux pourvus en personnel et dotés de tout le matériel requis pour deux organisations non partisanes de leadership féminin dans la région. Il s’agit notamment de l’immatriculation de Caribbean Women in Leadership (CIWiL) à titre d’organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) à Trinité et Tobago et de l’obtention d’un espace de bureau permanent pour l’ONG Foro Nacional de Mujeres de Partidos Políticos (FONAMUPP); 2) création de 7 sections nationales de CIWiL à Antigua et Barbuda, au Belize, aux Bahamas, à Saint Vincent et les Grenadines, à Saint Kitts et Nevis, à Sainte Lucie et à Trinité et Tobago; 3) mise en œuvre de l’initiative inaugurale « Young Women in Leadership » par CIWiL en partenariat avec ParlAmericas et avec le Parlement de Trinité et Tobago, à laquelle 58 jeunes femmes ont participé; 4) mise en œuvre de la deuxième initiative Young Women in Leadership par CIWiL et par ParlAmericas, en partenariat avec le Parlement d’Antigua et Barbuda, à laquelle 41 jeunes femmes ont participé; 5) mise en œuvre de la première initiative Impacto Legislativo Joven par FONAMUPP et par ParlAmericas, en partenariat avec la Citizen Participation Directorate (Direction de la participation citoyenne) de l’Assemblée nationale du Panama, à laquelle 45 jeunes leaders (26 femmes et 19 hommes) ont participé. Cela a abouti à la création d’une initiative citoyenne sur l’écotourisme durable et inclusif. L’initiative a été transformée en projet de loi, et elle est actuellement examinée par une commission de l’Assemblée nationale; 6) coordination de 3 éditions de l’initiative Brújula Mujer Joven du FONAMUPP en partenariat avec la Fondation Friedrich Ebert; 7) 1 000 femmes et 9 hommes de 11 pays et d’un territoire ont participé aux activités de formation de la CIWiL pour encourager et soutenir les candidatures électorales et le leadership transformationnel; 8) participation de 1 246 femmes et de 42 hommes aux formations du FONAMUPP au Panama. Les activités ont porté sur les moyens d’améliorer les conditions d’élection des femmes depuis les élections de mai 2019 dans le pays; 9) soutien de 160 organisations et réseaux de femmes grâce à des activités de projet, y compris 103 organisations provenant de 11 pays et d’un territoire anglophones des Caraïbes (Antigua et Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbade, Belize, Dominique, Jamaïque, Guyane, Saint Kitts et Nevis, Sainte Lucie, Saint Vincent et les Grenadines, Trinité et Tobago et Saint Martin), et 57 organisations dans 13 pays d’Amérique latine (Argentine, Bolivie, Costa Rica, Colombie, République dominicaine, Équateur, Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Pérou et Venezuela); 10) participation de 197 jeunes (dont 181 femmes) dans les Caraïbes et de 235 jeunes (dont 179 femmes) au Panama ont bénéficié d’activités de formation au leadership axées sur les jeunes et mises en œuvre par les organisations intermédiaires.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 892 012 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
08-07-2022 Déboursé 565 268 $
07-12-2022 Déboursé 326 744 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Renforcer les organisations de femmes pour soutenir le leadership politique des femmes - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: