Project profile — Promoting Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights in Benin

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Promoting Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights in Benin - Overview
CA-3-D004785001
$8,250,000
Government of the Netherlands - Ministry of Foreign Affairs
2018-03-16 - 2020-12-31
Operational
Country / region • Benin (100.00%)
Sector • Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (50.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Family planning (13030) (20.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (10.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (20.00%)
Policy marker • Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (principal objective and in support of an action programme)
• Youth Issues (principal objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to reduce maternal mortality, gender-based violence and the incidence of HIV/AIDS in the Beninese population through the promotion of human rights in sexual and reproductive health. Canada is participating in the funding for this project through a delegated cooperation mechanism with the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Canada’s contribution supports a greater well-being in sexual and reproductive health of the population in the 12 sanitary zones targeted by this project, prioritizing adolescent girls. Project activities include: (1) providing comprehensive sexual education for girls and boys; (2) raising awareness among communities about socio-cultural barriers to sexual and reproductive health and related rights; and (3) strengthening basic services in the area of reproductive health services, including appropriate services for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex community, and improved availability of contraceptive products. The project is implemented by a consortium of three local organizations active in the field of sexual and reproductive health and rights: the Association béninoise pour le marketing social et la communication pour la santé, the Association béninoise pour la promotion de la famille and CARE Bénin.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) young girls and boys, as well as women and men in project intervention areas enjoy their right to reproductive health; (2) young girls and boys in project intervention areas enjoy their sexual rights; and (3) the multi-sectoral coordinating mechanism for reproductive health of adolescents and young people is more effective.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $750,000
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
13-11-2020 Disbursement $750,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Promoting Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights in Benin - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Promotion de la santé et des droits sexuels et reproductifs au Bénin

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Promotion de la santé et des droits sexuels et reproductifs au Bénin - Aperçu
CA-3-D004785001
9 000 000 $
Gouvernement des Pays-Bas - Ministère des Affaires étrangères
2018-03-16 - 2020-12-31
Actif
Pays / région • Bénin (100,00%)
Secteur • Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (50,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Planification familiale (13030) (20,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (10,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (20,00%)
Marqueur politique • Partenariat pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (PMNCH) (objectif principal soutenant un programme d'action)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif principal)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise la réduction de la mortalité maternelle, des violences basées sur le genre et de l’incidence du VIH/Sida dans la population béninoise à travers la promotion des droits en santé sexuelle et reproductive. Le Canada participe au financement de ce projet à travers un mécanisme de coopération déléguée avec le Royaume des Pays-Bas. La contribution du Canada permet de favoriser le mieux-être en santé sexuelle et reproductive de la population des 12 zones sanitaires visées par le projet, en priorisant les adolescentes. Parmi les activités du projet : 1) offrir de l’éducation sexuelle complète aux filles et aux garçons; 2) sensibiliser les communautés au sujet des barrières socio-culturelles en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductrice et des droits connexes; et 3) renforcer les services de base en matière de santé reproductive, incluant des services adaptés pour la communauté des lesbiennes, gais, bisexuels, transgenres et intersexués, et l’amélioration de la disponibilité de produits contraceptifs. Le projet est mis en œuvre par un consortium formé de trois organisations locales actives dans le domaine de la santé sexuelle et reproductive et des droits connexes: l’Association béninoise pour le marketing social et la communication pour la santé, l’Association béninoise pour la promotion de la famille et CARE Bénin.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) les jeunes filles et garçons, ainsi que les femmes et les hommes dans les zones d’intervention du projet jouissent de leur droit à la santé reproductive; 2) les jeunes filles et garçons dans les zones d’intervention du projet jouissent de leurs droits sexuels; et 3) le mécanisme multisectoriel de coordination de la santé de la reproduction des adolescents et des jeunes est plus efficace.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 1 500 000 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Promotion de la santé et des droits sexuels et reproductifs au Bénin - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: